We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micanopy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micanopy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We wanted to treat ourselves to Micanopy's unique and wonderful 4th of July parade and to make the weekend even better decided to stay at the Herlong Mansion.

From the start the visit to this inn was just right. We were greeted by Carrie who showed us to our rooms and was ready to answer any questions we had about the property or history of the inn or the town. Each staff member we encountered was equally helpful. Our room was beautiful and the beds were great!

Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. The biscuits were especially good, and fresh out of the oven. The breakfast room was one of the most beautiful of all the rooms here. The well-kept garden and beautiful gazebo are also a feast for the eyes.

Thanks to everyone at the Herlong who made our stay so enjoyable. We will be back.

  • Liked — Quiet location, beautiful grounds and building, great staff
  • Disliked — That I don't live there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    39
    16
    19
    22
See reviews for
48
119
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast
I was very disappointed in the management when after booking a graduation celebration in Jan. 08 and paying for 50% of the charges quoted by the management that 2 days before the May 3, 2008 graduation we were asked to pay an additional $ 59.00 per night per room ( 5 rooms reserved) due to a computer glitch. We were also asked to pay for a dining room rental fee of $ 350.00 when we were previously told we could use the room after hiring a caterer suggested by the management. We felt that this reflects poor business practices and is a form or extortion, since we were soo close to the graduation day with no other local facilities available for our large party of 14. Our request to reconsider this unbelievable last minute charge that was not in the original contract was dismissed and we were informed that the cancellation period of 60 days was already over and we owed them the full amount including the additional charges. We promptly cancelled our VISA, but we are out the 993.00 deposit. We are reporting this to the B & B assn. and Better Business Bureau. Consumers beware. Very unscrupulous owners.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — unscupulous business practices
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank fairshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caywest, owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2008
I, too, was disappointed when this guest felt she could no longer afford to honor the room rates quoted to her at time of booking and cancelled all her rooms. We were able to re-book the rooms and therefore issued a FULL CREDIT- however, she has also cancelled her credit card and refuses to provide us with a new valid one on which to process the refund. We are sorry she has chosen this unharmonious venue as we are a peaceful establishment and prefer a more gentle approach in our business practices. We intend to honor the FULL REFUND proffered and will issue it as soon as we receive a method by which to process it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

I spent two nights at the Herlong on business. It's a good looking property in a great little Florida town...spanish moss hanging from the live oaks and all that. I stayed in the Dogwood Room which has access to the front porch. Shower in that room is a re-done closet which I kind of dug. Another closet is re-done as the water closet and there was a sink in the room. Those sort of bathroom arrangements might not suit everyone but were fine for me. I peeked into other rooms (which were, of course, unoccupied). One had a Jacuzzi. Others were larger with more typical bath setups.

I found the innkeepers to be friendly and accommodating.

The price was reasonable. Breakfast was good, not great.

I'd go there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Great looking property
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

in response to not up to par.
i have stayed at herlong fo 17 years and have enjoyed 4 different owners all were passionate about innkeeping. when a guest makes a demand that is unusual and is not permitted , it is up to the guest to under stand that certain rules apply . these rules protect all guest . as for the state of the mansion, its an old home and in my professional opinion as a woodworker and old home owner i think it maintained beautifully . the current owners are always doing some kind of maintenance. it is a labor of love . lorimayhem

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mayhemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

Unfortunately, as it is now operated, this a very bad example of a bed and breakfast. We made plans to go here for 2 nights for a birthday after staying here several times (very happily) over the last 8 years, although not recently. The current innkeeper is not suited to this business - there is no attempt made to make one feel warm, welcome or 'at home'. Maintenance is almost non-existent on the house and grounds. The TV remote was held together with electrical tape, 3 cheap plastic hangers were provided in the closet, 1 very small bottle of cheap bath gel and 1 shampoo (for a separate tub and shower) and 1 very small soap, no lotion, TV was barely operable, TV table was missing a chunk of trim right in front, drawers in only chest were almost inoperable, no current info in room - magazines from 2004, robes were cheap Sam's Club Member's Mark, wall unit air/heat was damaged to the point the flow could not be directed (it blew on us all night), plastic spoons for coffee, shutters on windows were all damaged in one way or another, decor was almost non-existent. The same cheese and crackers put our for afternoon snacks were still out at 8:00 a.m. the following morning. We left that morning and were not offered a credit for the second night's charge or for the breakfast we did not eat. We will not return as long as this innkeeper is managing this property.

  • Liked — The original architecture of the house.
  • Disliked — Just about everything else - mainly the attitude of the innkeeper.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank bandbfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicanopyNaturelover, owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2008
This mendacious review was written strictly for retaliatory purposes. This couple arrived for a 2 night stay a day earlier than their reservation and with their large dog. We graciously welcomed them as if nothing were awry and they spent a lovely evening enjoying all that the Herlong has to offer, including a bottle of Champagne set up for them in their room. The following morning they came to Breakfast and insisted on bringing their dog into the dining room. I explained that this would be in violation of all Health Codes but they were adamant and when their unreasonable demand could not be accommodated they left. I was truly sorry I couldn't satisfy this guest but I Did issue a partial refund for the dinner they cancelled.
The Herlong Mansion has received many awards including most recently the 2007 Beautification Award of Excellence and Best Bed and Breakfast in Alachua County, Gainesville- reflecting the great joy we find in continuosly decorating the rooms and planting the Gardens. In our ongoing effort to be GREEN friendly we use the upscale "SPA" line of room amenities- Although we are in the peaceful quiet country we are able to provide Cable TV and Free Wireless Internet connection - (and that thin black strip insures the batteries from falling out of the remote). Refreshments and Home Baked goodies and crackers are ALWAYS available and never put away. We use only China and Silverware ( plastic spoons are provided for those on the go). Guests need only to ask for something and we will bring it for them be it additional hangers or extra soaps. We have a huge lending Library with Current Best Sellers, Novels and Magazines for our guests to peruse. All our rooms are furnished with Antiques and we are always disappointed when one is damaged but we do not discard them as we do not feel this detracts from their beauty or historic relevance. The Herlong is a peaceful oasis where we are always striving to please our guests with our Famous Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

For our first bed and breakfast we are very thankful we stayed at the Herlong Mansion. What a beautiful place!!! It was so great to just relax and forget about our worries. We stayed in Brother's Room which was very nice. I picked that room because of the screened-in porch. (The porch, however, is not as private as I thought. Wooden stairs lead down to the back entrance of the mansion which would allow anyone to peek up at you.)
My favorite part was sitting or laying on the swings on the second floor verandah towards the front. You can read magazines or books, play a little Scrabble, or just lay there watching the beautiful Oak and Magnolia trees sway in the wind.
The owner and staff were quite pleasant and resourceful of where to eat and sight-see.
Be sure you bring your own food for a late dinner because everything seems to close around 5:00 PM.
Breakfast was great too.
If you are just looking for a place to get away and relax, then the Herlong Mansion is for you. If you are a bit ancy and want to do active things, don't even try it.

  • Liked — Nice rooms for such an old place.
  • Disliked — It was a little warm in the mansion during the day.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

What a quaint little town and friendly people. We really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the Carriage House but we were able to roam the house as the other rooms hadn't been occupied yet.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank USTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
9.4 mi away
No photo provided
8.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#23 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
8.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
8.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micanopy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy
Herlong Mansion Bed And Breakfast Inn Micanopy, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing