We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micanopy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micanopy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, Florida
13
Reviewed 4 June 2004

I must say that staying at the Herlong Mansion was one of the best retreats I've been to. I had made all arangements by phone and was to arrive by 6pm. I made several antique stops on my way to Micanopy and was running really late. I called the manager at the mansion and he said he would leave the key for me. Everything was in place when I arrived. My room and bath were welcoming. I really savor the memories of my short stay there. I am going back same time this year and can't wait.I found the management to be extremely helpful and organized.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 255 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed 29 December 2003

Just wanted to let readers know that this wonderful bed and breakfast is under new ownership. It is a wonderful place to stay and the breakfast is superb. A lot of love goes into making sure your stay is a plesent one. I also got married at the Herlong back in the late 1980's and have seen many changes, but the latest are the best. You will not be disappointed.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2003

Well, my experience with the Herlong Mansion started with a pleasant
phone conversation with one of the owners, Lon Boggs in July 2003. He
was very friendly and helpful on the phone. I called to reserve a room
for a party of three, myself, my husband, and my 9 year old son. He
began by telling me about Brother's room, which included a daybed. I
was curious about a room I read about in a haunted inns book. But that
room was booked. He them offered to let us stay in Amber's Suite at a
discount because it was right before the holiday weekend and he had
rooms available. I agreed.
When we arrived at the inn no one was there. They had left a key under the mat for us. We found our room and were extremely disappointed to find only a double bed. My son had to sleep on the floor, since there was no one to speak with to rectify the situation. But we made the best of it.
The next morning when we went to the dining room for breakfast we were horrified with the way we were treated. Both of the owners humiliated us in front of all the guests. They kept saying we did not tell them we had 3 people in our party and just had a fit. He brought us a copy of our confirmation that they had emailed us, which did not say anywhere on there how many people they had on the reservation. So, they did not have breakfast for 3 only for 2. I proceeded out into the office area to speak with Mr. Boggs and to express my disgust with they way they were treating us. He did not show any concern for our dissatisfaction with our stay or the accomodations. He had me in tears. I have never been treated so terribly by a business in my whole life. I have stayed at many hotels and many bed and breakfasts.
But, that is not the end of my story. A week or so after I returned I was shocked to find all these extra charges on my credit card bill for my stay at the Herlong Mansion. I immediately went to my bank and was told to fill out a dispute affidavit. I did and the charges were reversed. On Oct. 9, 2003 I received a call from Mr. Boggs threatening to have me arrested for "defrauding an innkeeper". This situation is still unresolved, but I want to warn anyone that is thinking about staying at this bed and breakfast, you may want to reconsider. Or at least, make sure you know what you're getting and that you do not give them your credit card number.

20  Thank B6096GJgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Lon and Julie Boggs departed Micanopy and are no longer affiliated with The Herlong Mansion as of December 2003.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
10.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
10.7 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
182 reviews
9.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
9.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micanopy
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn
Herlong Mansion Bed And Breakfast Inn Micanopy, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing