We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damn Good BBQ!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Creek BBQ - CLOSED

Black Creek BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Damn Good BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks TRIP ADVISOR friends. I drove from Tallahassee and wanted some BBQ. Something local and your #1 ranking was right on. This place is on my places to revisit list. Turkey! Try the corn nuggets OMG!

Helpful?
Thank TallyhoMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great comfort food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

While visiting the area, we were looking for a place to get southern food and some vegetables. Black Creek did not disappoint! We ate there for lunch and enjoyed the appetizer combo of Fried Pickles, Onion Rings, Corn nuggets. Varied lunch specials that we enjoyed were the BBQ chicken, Pork Chop and Shrimp. The smoked cabbage and collard greens were excellent. The smoked sweet potatoes were yummy and the cole slaw was great. The lunch specials come with complimentary banana or chocolate pudding. The restaurant is very clean and pleasant. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Yummy on Your Tummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Wednesday special was Dinner for 2 for $19.99. Came with choice of 4 meats and 4 sides. We ordered Ribs, Turkey, Pork and Beef. My friend thought all the meat was good, beef being the favorite. Turkey was my fav. Real, no pressed roll mystery meat here.

They have 4 sauces. Old Cotton, a Carolina-type vinegar base, was the only standout. Since the restaurant interior is small and basic, we think we will get it to go next time and eat with our favorite sauce at home. Nice outdoor seating area is available outside. I would recommend it if not too cold because inside is quite small.

Sides were slaw, beans, corn and Brunswick stew. Our favorite sides were beans and slaw. Corn was bland, not smoked. Wouldn't order it again.

Free chocolate pudding was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank flamingoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome BBQ, kid friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is awesome, they are kid friendly, the service is always wonderful. I have NEVER had a bad experience here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tillmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Taste, Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Mojo's used to be our favorite bbq restaurant in the Fleming Island area, but Black Creek has surpassed it in terms of good tasting food, generous portions and quick service. The only drawback is that Black Creek is not as convenient, but it's worth the extra drive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reallaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Creek BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing