We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    89
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
114
59
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Saint Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We opted to hit town the night before and enjoy some of Tallahassee while in town. We had a King room with Jacuzzi. Check in was a breeze. The room was much better than expected (from previous reviews). It was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was everything the website says. Very convenient location to visit everything in the area. I will stay here again and would recommend them to friends. For a Friday night at a motel, it was very quiet and no rude housekeeping in the a.m. to wake you up. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Jacuzzi room. It will help melt away all those miles on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685elizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Most of my reviews are Hotels (not motels), but I can easily reside in a Motel without any concerns (but prefer Hotel). Needed a quick stay to support a early (early) morning appointment up US90 from the Motel.

HOUSEKEEPING: Non existent! Room was filthy (RM 212). Hairs in the shower, in the sink, and the telephone was filthy dirty with long hairs all over it.

BED: The most uncomfortable bed I have slept on in a long while (and I have slept on mattresses onboard Naval ships....those were better). Pillows are small squares and are just as uncomfortable.

BREAKFAST: Bare minimum.

Yes, the $60 price was very resonable - and I did not expect 5-star for $60 bucks....but, for any amount of money paid, you expect the room to be clean and a comfortable bed. I have many many return trips to the US90 area upcoming - and I will definately give the Comfort Inn and BW a try, before even considering returning to this HJ property.

Room Tip: Trucks are on both sides of the property - but the side facing away from the freeway is quieter (of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoinnMidwayFL, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms, and I’m very sorry we were unable to satisfy you. If you had brought any specific issues to the attention of our courteous front desk staff, I’m sure we could have moved you to a different room or offered you another solution. In any case, I sincerely apologize that we fell short of the mark in your case. Your complete satisfaction is always my goal.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monett, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My mother-in-law booked two rooms on Priceline Express. My father-in-law called ahead a week in advance to request two NON-SMOKING rooms. My wife and mother-in-law checked us in and we pulled around to our rooms. The rooms we were given were two handicap accessible rooms that were in fact SMOKING rooms. In our room the comforter was so nice it even contained complimentary cigarette burns to go with the lovely fragrance of stale cigarettes. After our noisy neighbors showed up my wife and I finally decided we'd kindly ask for a new room. When we asked the girl that checked us in that we wanted a non-smoking room that was quiet she did some typing then said "since we booked the rooms from Priceline Express she couldn't change us because we requested those types of rooms". My wife said "My dad called ahead to get two NON-Smoking rooms but ended up with two SMOKING, handicap accessible rooms instead and the hotel must have made a mistake'. She said "Well we can't change it because it's thru Priceline". We were confused that they wouldn't accommodate us in pretty much vacant hotel (I'd guess occupancy to be about 5-10% the night of our stay) and we walked back to our disappointing room.

My mother-in-law was also upset about their room and she went up to complain as well. She was giving the same sad excuse which my mother-in-law explained to the girl that with Priceline Express you can NOT book a specific room (i.e. Smoking, Non-smoking, Handicap, ect) and you have to call ahead to the hotel to do such. The horrible desk clerk continued to argue with my mother-in-law at which time my mother-in-law asked to talk to a manager. The desk clerk said Gary the manager wasn't there and wouldn't be in until tomorrow. My mother-in-law said that wouldn't work and asked if there was a manager on call. The desk clerk said that was Gary as well but he wasn't working right now. Which makes no sense since Gary was "on call". Finally the girl did give my mother-in-law a new room but still did nothing for us.

If the room wasn't already paid for I would have asked for a refund and went somewhere else. I don't understand how hard it can be to change a room for someone in an empty hotel that doesn't want loud neighbors and a smelly room. I'm guessing that "SuperDork" experienced the same female employee as we did since she was rude and provided the worst customer service possible to my mother-in-law, my wife, and I. As my wife said "That was probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in". If I could give less than a one on the rating for service I would because it was that bad.

Room Tip: There is a Comfort Inn next door. Looks real nice and the rude female desk clerk probably doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipMcSmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoinnMidwayFL, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is 100 percent customer satisfaction without exception. If you were dissatisfied with the room, the property or the service, I take full responsibility. Unfortunately, Priceline’s reservation system has limitations, and we always encourage you to book directly with us for the most flexibility and for our expert customer service.

Thanks, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked the King Size room with a hot tub to surprise by boyfriend for Valentine's Day. The room was in great condition and I was amazed at the amenitites for the price. I booked with Lana who was very polite and very helpful. When I asked if the room had a table and chairs, she went to look for me and actually sent me pictures of the room before hand so I could prepare better. I had no issues with checking in or checking out. Upon checking in I went ahead and requested extra towels as I knew I would need them. A front desk staff member called my room to check on me a little after I checked in and had the extra towels at my door in no time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will probably book their again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suprfrek96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had to stop here one night on a long trip. It's cheap and the rooms are below average. I wasn't looking for anything too nice, just a place to sleep. The reason I am writing this review is the customer service was terrible. I came down in the morning for breakfast and the deskclerk had all the doors locked and sat there watching TV. I can understand security but all she said was "No, we aint open!" and sat back down to her TV. No explaination. I waited to the exact time and still she sat there until about 5 minutes after the time for breakfast. She came back to the door and just turned the lock and walked to the backroom, no Hi, no good morning, just unlocked the door and walked away. So I get my breakfast and then proceed back to my room to gather my things for checkout. I come back down to checkout and the same clerk said something and I asked, "What was that?" because I didn't hear her. She said, "No, I was asking my boyfriend something on the webcam." I told her I needed to checkout and she didn't say anything just started doing paperwork. I asked again and she said "What room?" I told her and she checked me out and didn't say anything at all. Just handed me my paperwork and proceed to carry on her conversation with her boyfriend on the webcam. Very poor customer service on her part. The night previous I when I checked in had a clerk with outstanding customer service so I'm guessing it was isolated to just this employee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoinnMidwayFL, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m very sorry to hear that you experienced inconsistent customer service. Our goal is to provide the best possible service to every guest, every time. We will work with each staff member individually and observe them doing their jobs to make sure they give appropriate service. You can be certain we will take all appropriate actions. We appreciate your comments, and I’m happy to address any other specific concerns directly if you contact me.

Thanks,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
0.9 mi away
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Midway Florida
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway
Address: 81 Commerce Blvd, I-10 and Hwy 90 W, exit 192, Midway, FL 32343-6601 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Midway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Midway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Tallahassee/Midway is located right off of I-10 & Hwy 90 W at exit 192. The Howard Johnson Tallahassee/Midway is located less than 10 miles (on Hwy 90W) from FSU, FAMU, T.C.C., Tallahassee Regional Airport and Downtown (Capital Building). Close to Florida Public Safety Institute / Joe Byrd Hunting Club Lake Talquin .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Tallahassee/Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing