We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by chips cooked in STALE oil!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens at Selborne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Queens at Selborne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selborne
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Let down by chips cooked in STALE oil!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visited this establishment for lunch on a Thursday in July. As the weather was good we were able to use the rather pleasant garden. We both had the club sandwich which came with a salad and coleslaw garnish and a portion of chips. The sandwiches were perfectly fine, although a bit pricey, but were badly let down by the chips, which had been cooked in stale oil. The lingering impression was the taste of the oil rather than the potatoes. Totally unnecessary, so please change the oil a bit more frequently!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have been visiting regularly the Queens at Selborne since we first had our anniversary at the hotel. What a jewel to be found in the heart of Hampshire and the village that was the home of Gilbert White the naturalist.
Nothing is too much for the owner and staff who go out of their way to ensure that whether you are enjoying a superb meal or just a drink in the comfortable bar, the experience is warm and welcoming. The food is varied and delicious and I am hooked on their salmon fishcakes.
For those who have never been to the Queens, I believe it is a treat worth the effort to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named with a "Queen" theme e.g. African Queen, Queen of Hearts etc. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This superb hotel is fantastic. The quality of service is superb. Everyone treats you with a relaxed and friendly way. The food is the best I have had and so many tastes come through fabulous food.
the Garden has plenty of places to sit in and out of the sun. We have such a great time. If you can visit this haven.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Queens at Selborne was a lovely weekend retreat from the city of London. the town is ever so charming with typical countryside houses and some thatched roofs. The hotel itself was excellentwith friendly, attentive service. It was clean all round and my room was large and comfortablewith asmany pillows as icould have wanted without having to ask for more. The resteraunt was classy with the same charm as the rest of thetown. The food was also excellent. There wasan option for all whims and each as deliscious as the last. While i was there i ate french onion soup, duck confit with a suited bed of stir fry noodles, a deliscious swordfish nicoise, and a beautiful ribeye with peppercorn sauce. There is a natural history museum just accross the road with a stunning garden to take a stroll in and/or read your book. The hotel itself has a large garden perfect for eating in or just lazing in the sun on a hot day. There is also a park right next to the hotel great for hikes or just strolls in the nature. You can encounter horses and there is a duck pond. I actually encountered some baby deer when i went off trail. So yes all in all if a countryside getaway is what you are looking for the Queens at Selborne is brilliant. The bar is also ideal for meeting people from the town who are very welcoming, friendly and fun. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at The Queen’s for a week - and what a treat! We received such an unexpected level of warmth and genuine welcome - I had to share!

We were given a tour of the main areas on arrival, theses include a nice country pub complemented by a fireplace, with a spacious back garden where food and drinks are served all day – nice collection of chill out lounge tune included in the background too - then there is a cozy lounge and finally a fine restaurant too!

Our two rooms were superbly appointed, with different themes both around “The Queen” – We had “Queen of club” and “God save the Queen”. The décor is full of character, quirky and very tasteful – quiet grand for a Inn, I would personally refer to a country-Boutique Hotel. It is obvious the owner has personally decorated individual rooms with much care, and originality. The beds are also extremely confortable, rooms are immaculate each day.

A day at The Queens Selborne starts with a freshly prepared breakfast served in the pub or sunny garden by Erick’s (owner) mum, then perhaps a walk in the charming Selborne surroundings (they even prepared a picnic basket for us one sunny day) or chill out in the garden, followed by a great pub lunch, later guests and many local home-owners seem to gather regularly and mingle in the pub and lounge, for friendly aperitif served by happy bartender! Finally - a succulent dinner at the restaurant, each night.

Amazing décor and ambience aside, the team is without fault extremely friendly and welcoming. The Owner and leadership are internationally trained and they know how to receive – it really feels like being welcomed in someone’s beautiful family home. Then the food… you are in for a treat from a well traveled, experienced chef too! Everything is fresh and succulent, perfectly prepared fresh tuna Nicoise, melt-in-the-mouth Duck Confit, lovely salmon cakes, amazing grills, chunky seafood soup, melted brie, Eton mess… simply great.

This little break was such a lovely treat. We also met lovely people all-round and I cannot wait to return. I highly recommend for single, couples or bunch of friends looking for a great value country break. Thanks to The Queen’s team!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found this place by happenstance late one evening and as I live in Brighton and work two days a week in Hampshire it has now become my second home. The welcome is better than I have received at so called 5 star establishments, the bar is welcoming from staff and locals alike. Rooms are as good as I've seen in some 'boutique' hotels, water is always hot and the pressure results in a shower that is hard to leave.
If I started properly about the food I could go on all night but just take it from someone that loves their food and has eaten in 3 star Michelin restaurants its a delight. The menu is local, seasonal and as I come every week I can honestly say it changes frequently ( although if you're a meat eater and the steak is on special, have it, it's sublime!)
I'm loathed to leave this review as I love the quiet nature of this place but I'm not mean and really... Everyone should stay at The Queens at least once. It's AMAZING and the best bit... The staff xx

Room Tip: GSTQ for a romantic night ( God Save The Queen), I always stay in Queen of Clubs, at the back and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Friendly country pub set in a pretty village with lovely rooms and delicious breakfast with papers to read. Rooms have a spacious ensuite and comfy bed and it was quiet so we had a very good nights sleep. We had drinks in the bar which were good and would love to try the pub food next time. Wifi available. While you are here a must see is to visit Gilbert White's House and garden which is just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selborne
4.0 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.0 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
4.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
7.0 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens at Selborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens at Selborne

Property: The Queens at Selborne
Address: High Street, Selborne GU34 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Selborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Queens At Selborne Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing