We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey...and a service charge in the bar!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Queens at Selborne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selborne
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey...and a service charge in the bar!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a difficult one for me as the service and food was good but the prices were not.

We have eaten here many times in the distant past and thought we'd return. We walk in this area often and we'd used the alternative most times recently.

We ordered two burger and chips, one ham, egg and chips, two large cokes, a pint of bitter and a half of cider. The total bill came just shy of £50! This included a "mandatory" service charge of 10% which we hadn't noticed on the menu and wasn't made clear by the staff. We ate in the "public bar" area of the pub so there was no restaurant frills which there may have been in the lounge or restaurant area. Please note, we ordered our drinks at the bar but were still charged the service charge!

We occasionally eat at similar pubs/hotels and have their set carvery...The Queens Hotel wanted £15 for this PLUS the 10% service charge....in the public bar!

Finally, the food was nice and my usual maxim is "you get what you pay for" but other similar establishments are much more reasonable.

I didn't want to make a fuss over the service charge but, we'll vote with our feet and will be unlikely to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BoilermakersHump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We live locally and during the past month have dropped in for a drink at The Queens and sat in the attractive garden. Today we took some friends for dinner -and it was excellent. Attentive service, quite delicious 3 course meal and a lovely atmosphere. Very well done - thank you- we will be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped for lunch for the second time this year. Again excellent service by very friendly staff.
Food was A+. Had a very enjoyable lunch. No hassle to move off the table when finished. Would be happy to go back or recommend.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel part, but if it is as good as the restaurant I would be happy to stay ther...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Chanced upon this lovely pub on our way back home from Portsmouth. Received a rare and very warm welcome and although it was late there was no mention of the kitchen being closed! Sat in the bar area as we had our dog with us - tables were set simply but very effectively - the fact that they were set was something quite rare in a bar area. The food was delicious - freshly cooked, presentation first class and the service throughout our short but very pleasant stop was exceptional. Will definitely be going back. Others could learn from The Queens at Selbourne!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friends and their son joined us for a lunch at this pub/restaurant in Selborne. It was a beautiful day and so we sat out in the lovely garden. The bar menu was good, the service excellent, table service even outside. Then it rained! The staff told us we could go in and eat our meals in the restaurant and so we went in. A French member of staff, possibly the manager then began to make us feel really uncomfortable; he wanted to change the cutlery, remove the tablecloth(!) and generally didn't make us feel like paying customers. OK, we were eating from the bar menu and we happened to be sat in the restaurant, but why make such a fuss about it? We didn't ask it to rain. His actions have made us not want to go back, shame.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From the reviews we were expecting something a little better. Beautiful setting but average accommodation in my opinion. We stayed in Queen Victoria which is badged as a luxury room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable, with a large bathroom. However, it was a rather stuffy room with a small window with a view of the roof and the kitchen vent pipe. As it was very hot and there was no ventilation in the room we had to have the window open which meant the room filled with food smells (to be fair, the food smelled very good). Breakfast was OK, but nothing special - for the prices we were paying I was surprised by the packet slices of cheese and reformed ham. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed with my Wife for one night on the way to Heathrow, I rang ahead of our arrival as requested to confirm approximate arrival time, and received a friendly reception.
I know the area, so had asked for a quiet room, and we were not disappointed, we had the Queen Victoria room, OK there is no view from the window, but it is at the back, and away from road noise.
The room itself was spacious and clean, with tea and coffee facilities. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was the only place there was a minor complaint, the toilet seat was loose, and was obviously known to be, because the toilet itself was spotless, only a small niggle, but one never the less.
We were blessed with lovely weather so sat out in the rear garden for an evening drink, lovely surroundings, well tended.
In the morning we were due to have Continental Breakfast, but whether it was because we were last down, we didn't have that option, we were given a cooked breakfast with toast and coffee, I wasn't complaining, but someone might.
Overall a very pleasant but short stay, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selborne
4.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
6.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens at Selborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens at Selborne

Property: The Queens at Selborne
Address: High Street, Selborne GU34 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Selborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Queens At Selborne Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing