We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Photo Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great Photo Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ben Smith in the photo dept made this trip 100x better now that i have my excellent photos of me and my family having fun. He was very helpful and deserves a raise! This kind of hard work is uncommon in the world today but he sure has it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I took my son and his friends zip lining for his birthday . The people at Adventures Unlimited were very friendly and helpful with are group of 11 year olds. The guides Shannon and Dave were the best . So if you go out ask for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It was a blast!!! Our guides Shannon and zack were great!!! They were very friendly and knew a lot about the area!! We also got to take tons of pictures. I would definitely do it again! :)
-ashley, bailey and mat

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a weekend getaway after the bad winter we've had so far. We picked the perfect time and the best place to go! We stayed at Schoolhouse Inn Room 2 and we loved it. Comfy beds, nice front porch, and beautiful view. The rooms are surprisingly sound-proof. There was another group staying in the Inn too and they were worried that they kept us up with music and staying up late but we didn't hear a thing!The first day we went zip lining. One of the best experiences I've ever had. Our guides, Zac & Brooke, were amazing. I can't imagine having more fun. They were cool, funny, and experts at what they do! So glad they were my guides. The second day we went kayaking and it was so peaceful and the river was clear, even after a rainy week. John, our driver to the river, was nice as could be. He had our kayaks hooked up before we even got to the van and then he carried our kayaks and canoes all the way to the river for us so we didn't have to. Our last night, we used the barbecue shack. It's a man's paradise and free to use too! We grilled out steaks, chicken, corn, veggies and it was delicious. Then we sat around a campfire at the fire pit and made s'mores! What a fantastic weekend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little quiet space in the woods by the river. Perfect to escape and get some time away cooking out under the trees and stars. Plan to disconnect - cell and wifi won't work out here. But that's almost an added benefit. Loved the high-end touches in the Lorax Loft- claw foot tub and chic linens. Living tree growing through the cabin. Make sure you like your company - cabin is pretty cozy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in the Laurel cabin in late Dec for 3 nts. They were offering a special on their facebook page for Jan/Feb – stay 2 nts and get 1 free. I called and asked since we were staying the last wk of Dec which is just days away from Jan would they offer us this special and they did. With taxes our 3 nights came to I believe $265. This is cheaper than a hotel room and by far much more enjoyable and spacious. They have previously offered excellent Groupon and Living Social deals for 3 nt stays in the Schoolhouse Inn which also included kayaking and zip lining so check these sites before booking. If we hadn’t had the dogs we would have perhaps opted for this.

We chose the Laurel cabin for several reasons:

• 1 of 4 pet friendly units
• On the creek
• Gas fireplace (Magnolia next door is also pet friendly, but was wood fireplace. They
are soon converting this to gas I believe)
• Screened in porch for our dogs to enjoy

The cabin was PERFECT for us! It consisted of a bedroom w/ queen size bed, good size living room with pull out futon for 2, fireplace in between living room and dining room/kitchenette and bathroom with tub/shower. They provide all linens, cooking supplies and basic toiletries found in a hotel. Cabin would easily accommodate a family of 4 with the pull out futon if the children are younger. If older/taller children than perhaps only 1 would be comfortable on the futon?
Gas fireplace was a bit of a challenge to get started each evening. Had to request assistance the first night, but then had the hang of it.

The cabin next door (Magnolia?) is also pet friendly. I peeked in the windows and it appeared to be exactly like the Laurel only with a square dining table instead of round. Either cabin would have fit our needs. The other two pet friendly cabins are not on the water and are more like a duplex (connected) vs separate cabin units.

Nature trail was right outside the back door. The dogs enjoyed the screened in porch despite the cooler weather. Did not have the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor fire pit b/c of the cold temps. They do allow for you to collect firewood on the property to be used in the fire pits.

There are no tv’s in the cabins. I know you are “camping”, but if it’s raining and/or cold in the evenings (we experienced both) a tv would have been nice. We drove approx 20 min in to town and rented dvds from Redbox at Walmart to play on our laptop. There were a few redboxs at slightly closer gas stations, but we were already at Walmart for groceries. Would have liked if Adventures Unlimited either rented movies or had a small library of movies which could have been checked out. Board games/card games to check out would have also been nice on rainy/cold days.

There is no internet access or wireless phone access. I have Verizon and my husband has T-Mobile. Neither of us were able to get a signal. Adv Unlimited provides you a number to call for 24 hr assistance in the event of issues, but we couldn't get a phone to work. Keep the no phone coverage in mind if this is something you may need in order to call home, work, etc during your stay. Was not an issue for us, but fyi…. Would have really liked wireless access for the evenings especially since no tv, though. Was told they had internet access, but could never get a signal. I was able to sporadically receive emails IF my blackberry was sitting on the window sill of the bedroom window. Not sure why there, but nowhere else. ????

We loved the nature trails with our dogs. I am a long distance runner and w/ the nature trails, the roads on the property and the long main road leading in to the camp I was able to log 1+ hr run each day with no problem and longer.

The entire property was very quiet this time of year. I think there was only 2-3 other families and we only saw someone else once. Very quiet and private, but yet cooler temps this time of year. The entire property (exterior and our cabin) was well maintained. Equipment was in good condition, etc....

We loved how we could easily spend 3-4 days at Adventures Unlimited w/o ever leaving IF we had adequate food, etc....One day spent zip lining, one day kayaking, another hiking. If the weather had been warm we also would have spent a day paddle boarding or tubing.

You are approx 20 minutes from town. There is NOTHING else out this way except a small “country store” with limited hours and limited supplies. Get your groceries, etc before coming to the camp. We didn’t realize this and after checking in had to go back in to town for dinner the first night as we didn’t have much with us. Poor planning on our part.

We did the ultimate zip lining tour and kayaking during our stay. On their web site they offer a special if you book a room in the school house and zip or kayak. We were staying in the cabins and asked if they had any type of combo special w/ the cabin rental. They offered us $30 off the ultimate zip tour ($99 – reg $129) or ½ off the taste of zip tour ($49 – reg $89). We have zipped in 5 other countries so wanted the ultimate tour which is 12 zips instead of 7. The extra 5 zips are longer, higher and several over the water. If you have never zipped and/or have small children who you are unsure of how they will like this, the Taste of Zip tour would be an excellent way to get started.

Zip tour was very well run. They take only 8 people at a time. The zip platforms get a bit cozy, but this is the case w/ all zip tours. The last 5 zips as part of the Ultimate Tour was just me and my spouse. Guides were informative and safety was first at all times. You are able to bring your own camera, but be sure to have some way to secure it safely such as a zipped pocket, handle around your neck, etc…. We appreciated that we were allowed to bring our own cameras for pictures AND there were no high pressure sales at the end to sell you their photos.

The zip platforms are built in to the soft pine trees. Soft pines sway in the wind. We’ve never experienced this so when you are up on these platforms and it’s swaying it’s a bit uneasy feeling at first, but 110% safe! Was just not anything we have experienced before when zipping among different types of trees.

If you are looking for something else fun to do try flytheboat.com! We drove in to Navarre, FL one afternoon (approx 40 min from Adv Un). Purchased this via groupon for $112/person. Normally I believe is $239. AWESOME!!

Room Tip: Do you want a pet friendly cabin? Only a few choices to choose from in this category. Do you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Awsome!!! Have a stressful job & busy family life. A friend recommended AU. Not really an outdoor person but 3 days here felt like weeks. Cottage was beautiful, on the river, great view. It was like living in a treehouse. No phone, TV or anything else from the do it outside world.

Long walks, amazing wildlife, river trip, zip line
(a little scared but staff was great), both indoor & outside fire.

Just bring clothes & food.

Unwind & relax.

Worth the trip. Will do it again for sure.
Get out of your comfort zone & enjoy nature.

Worth every dollar spent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyoncoldwatercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton hotels
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
17.5 mi away
Red Roof Inns & Suites Pensacola East - Milton
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Milton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort

Property: Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort
Address: 8974 Tomahawk Landing Rd, Milton, FL 32570-9726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Milton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and resort has furnished creek side cottages, camping style cabins, and an eight room inn. There is also a canopy zip line on property with 700' and 900' zip lines over Coldwater Creek. River trips (canoe, kayak, tube and paddle board) are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventures Unlimited`s Schoolhouse Hotel Milton
Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center And Resort Milton, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing