We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 years running”
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Tennessee
1 review
“6 years running”
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Me and my family love surfside! This past june was the sixth year in a row we have stayed there and already have reservations for 08' as well.
Great location and excellent facilities. We won't even think of staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank v0lfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    35
    14
    10
    11
See reviews for
61
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Ala.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

great time. Room exceeded our expectations. Large, clean, modern, with great view of Gulf. Liked the pathway to beach. Very good pool area although we didn't use it, went to beach. Visited Sunset Charlies one time, for Sunday brunch buffet and enjoyed. Very good selection of food and all very edible. Fair price. Surfside was clean and freshly painted inside. Nice. Have already rebooked for summer, so I guess that says enough.

  • Liked — luxury room, view, location for good price
  • Disliked — beach pavillion not fully open, operational
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We made a reservation with an individual that owned in the resort. The condo was in perfect condition and tastefully decorated. The location was very convenient and the ocean view was very nice.

We had a fabulous meal at the restaurant, Sunset Charlie's. We were sat right against the window with a beautiful view of the ocean. We ordered crab cakes, I had an amazing grouper dish with an amaretto sauce and almonds and my fiance had the award winning fajitas. Everything was absolutely wonderful. We splurged and got dessert. I had the most mouth watering chocolate bread pudding with macadamia nuts and my fiance got the flan. We took half our dessert back to my in-laws who live locally in the area. They enjoyed them so much they decided to have dinner there a week later and also had a wonderful meal! We will definitely dine here again next time we are in town.

Stay away from the Whale's Tail (I think that was the name) at the next boardwalk down from Surfside - horrible food and service. Drive a little further down to Pompano Joe's for much better beachside dining. Excellent grouper sandwich and other seafood. Perfect lunch spot where you can enjoy the ocean breeze.

  • Liked — Location, price, views
  • Disliked — one of the two elevators was broken so we had to use the service elevator a few times
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kpcloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

The hotel was nice and in such a gorgeous area for beautiful white sugar sand beaches. The concierge was incredibly sweet and such a wonderful guy. The main problem was the hotel's restaurant called Sunset Charlies. The "Ultimate Seafood Buffet" (more like supreme false advertising) for $40.00 had only dried up fried grouper and unimpressive crab cakes inside chafing dishes as the seafood. There were no shellfish of any kind, no breads, no cheeses, no salads, reused pasta and vegetables from the morning's buffet and mashed potatoes. Wine was also served in plastic cups...real classy. It was an absolute waste of money and the "waitstaff" was also rude. A hotel like this should make an effort to offer decent food in its restaurant. During the Sunday breakfast buffet, they didn't offer OJ or any other juice in the buffet or any butter/margarine to go with the waffles. There are many wonderful local seafood places where you can find true seafood options or a proper breakfast. Make the effort and go somewhere else to dine and save yourself the disappointment.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank D678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gypsy2go, General Manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2008
As I am reading all of the positive and complimentary reviews of our restaurant, I am compelled to contact you and apologize for the shortcomings that you experienced last September. I have recently rejoined this company and truly am proud of the service, food quality and atmosphere that we provide to our guests. It is our goal to exceed every guests expectation and we regret that we dissapointed you. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I may correct your poor experience. Although I am a bit confused - we do not host a " seafood buffet" I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments any time at your convenience. Furthermore, if you plan to be in our area at any time in the future, I would be grateful if you would accept our invitation to welcome you back to Sunset Charlie's as our guests.

Graciously,

B. Goodwin
General Manager
850-837-9834
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Pluses: Great location with a private beach. Decent restaurant. Good price.

Minuses: lobby and hallways have a stale smell. Older buidling. Needs upgrading. Room was nice but the shower needs updating. Very crowded. Parking is a cluster.

Overall, would stay again if I had to, since the price and location were right.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CD_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We stayed at the Surfside in Aug. 2006. This resort is kept spotlessly clean. The wrap around balconys are so nice, when we weren't on the beach, we were on the balcony.They opened up a restaurant on the bottom floor, so it was very convient to just take the elevator down to eat when we didn't feel like leaving the building. We had a great time.
The Foxes, Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Liked — very clean, close to beach
  • Disliked — the no smoking
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fdfdfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

This was our third stay at Surfside. Wonderful as always. Clean, quiet , with the most beautiful view of the beach and Gulf you could ever want. We have stayed on the east and the west sides of the building both were excellent. This is not a new building, however it is well maintained. The staff was very friendly and we had a quick check in and check out.

Our condo was beautifuly decorated. Great appliances and cookware in the kitchen. 3 tv's and DVD players and free DVD's if you are crazy enough to watch tv when the view from the balconie is so beautiful. Our unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths, no waiting. A washer and dryer, no wet swimsuits!!!

The beach has soft white sand and warm (86) clear water. My children are grown but it would be a great beach for small children. Great sandcastle sand. There are lifeguards at the beach now. Thank your local safety team. We will be back next summer for sure.

  • Liked — Beautiful units, location to the beach, shopping, eating, and fun activities.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get to the beach early and reserve umbrella and chairs. Have fun.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MomLovesTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
479.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550-4028
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Miramar
Surfside Resort Condo Destin Fl
Surfside Resort Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing