We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in an unexpected place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1872 John Denham House
Ranked #2 of 4 Monticello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B in an unexpected place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

No point repeating what others have said about The John Denham House - it's a really nice place to stay with all the usual creature comforts. What makes it unusual is the location. Monticello is a charming little town not far from the Interstate, but far enough that you will feel as though you have stepped back in time. When the railway line came through, Monticello was a wealthy town with connections to the Jefferson family (hence the name) and it shows in the many charming houses. Although the railway is long gone, it's been replaced with a bike trail through the town. There is even an Opera House which has recently been restored and is used as a charming theatre for a local company. The town is rather lacking in restaurants but Tallahassee is close enough that you can always drive there in the evening and it's a really pretty, but quiet, country road. If you are planning to visit Tallahassee, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalesman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
You said it perfectly. Another visitor from across the pond.
Monticello has three homegrown restaurants that are great food with great prices. Most are open 5 to 6 nights a week and are not chain food. I have a list and a map to them to hand to guests. Thanks for the wonderful compliments. I am sure your review is large help to travelers on I 10 interstate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    18
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I booked this B&B because it looked great on the photos. When we arrived we were immediately impressed with the reception and welcome we received. We were greeted with fresh cookies and wine! What a treat after 7 hours of travelling. The hostess made us feel free to treat the house as our own and we really appreciated being able to look around the house. Our room was huge and there are lots of little treats and luxuries. The breakfast was also good. The town is very pretty and we were pleasantly surprised by Northern Florida and woul happliy return to the area and to the B&B. We all agreed this was the best B&B of our holiday. Thank you

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms were really big and ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We love having all our international guests stay. We love all our guests as well. Thanks for all the kind words.
The Wi-Fi is only weak I found out if the power goes out and then comes back on. Which rarely happens thank goodness. All I have to do is reset it and I am here to do that . Thanks again, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We arrived late in the evening, and XXX welcomed us in a perfect way.
The room was very nice and clean. The bed was simply huge! My boyfriend is 2 meters tall and he looked small in that bed.
Breakfast was abundant and excellent, expecially the cake with eggs and sausage and the fresh croissant.
The wi-fi is a little bit slow, but works fine in the common areas. In the rooms the signal is very weak.

Monticello is a very nice town, and quite lively for its size.
We will definitely come back if we pass by this area again!

Room Tip: We had the chance to visit all the rooms, and all looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We love our international visitors! It was so fun getting to know you both. Thanks for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely home, lovely host, lovely historic town. My daughter and I were on our way to visit FSU and I decided I'd rather stay in a lovely spot outside town, rather than stay in a mediocre hotel by the interstate. It turned out to be a wonderful decision. The home was beautiful, there was wine and cookies greeting us in the dining room on our arrival, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and the street quiet - assuring a good nights sleep. We woke up only to the sounds of the birds in the grand oak trees on the property. Breakfast was delicious, a fruit parfait, juice, coffee, french toast eggs and sausages. It was a great start to a wonderful trip. We had a very nice casual dinner at the Mexican restaurant in town too. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally nice. I chose the room based on my bathroom preferences and penchant for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGuerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
You were lovely, lovely, lovely guests! Thanks so much for your great comments and we love our job - creating a special stay for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmseminole
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I tried this B & B since all the decent hotels were booked in Tallahassee. What a great find it was and it is a quick drive from Tallahassee. The house is beautiful, spotless and very well maintained. The rooms are extremely quiet which is rare for an older B & B house. The mattress was a luxury pillow top and felt very comfortable. Pat made me feel like home with a great glass of wine and some incredible homemade cookies when I arrived. The breakfast was amazing with fresh local fruit and sausage, stuffed french toast, scrambled eggs and fresh juice. Downtown Monticello had some great local and very reasonable restaurants. Thanks again Pat for a wonderful stay and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmseminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review from a professional! Do so look forward to your return. It is our pleasure to make every guest visit very special. Thanks again. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ont., Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The state capital undoubtedly has many fine lodgings, but I doubt that any of them can match the charm, quiet, food, or value of this B&B a half-hour to the east. Innkeeper Patricia Inmon has restored the 1874 cotton merchant's mansion authentically and tastefully. This establishment is not stiff and elegant; it is grand and homey at once. Rooms are clean, spacious, well-appointed, furnished with antiques, but blessedly uncluttered, and not so girly a man feels out of place. Well-chosen Florida colors. Very Southern gardens; azaleas were blooming when we visited in early March. The breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, and mixed citrus straight from the grove) was world-class. Just a short walk from downtown Monticello, where there are two or three decent, if unpretentious restaurants, and numerous historic buildings, in particular a spectacular old operahouse where one can still see plays performed. This place is a few miles north of Interstate 10, well worth the drive.

Room Tip: User-friendly website, check it out to find which room you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallisbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Wow! Thank you for writing the wonderful review. We are thrilled and really look forward to making sure everyone has the same great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was the first time we'd travelled in this part of Florida and this lovely b&b did not disappoint. We had the ground floor four poster bedroom. The small touches that Pat the host adds just make the experience that much more lovely - bathrobes, wine and cake on arrival, hot cooked breakfast with fruit, an assortment of reading material, toiletries in the bathroom and those great seats on the porch to kick back and take in the evening. Everything was in walking distance. The only advice is if visiting this lovely town is to keep in mind that restaurants are limited within walking distance and not open all days of the week so plan ahead in case you need to drive. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you plan to travel with a mountain of luggage, ask about the ground floor room unless you are fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thanks, it was our highest pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
17.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
6.8 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
208 reviews
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Thomasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rose City Conference Center Inn
9.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monticello
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daffodale House
The Daffodale House
#1 of 4 in Monticello
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1872 John Denham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1872 John Denham House

Property: 1872 John Denham House
Address: 555 W Palmer Mill Rd, Monticello, FL 32344-1360
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1872 John Denham House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUST 5 MILES FROM INTERSTATE 10!! 17 MILES NORTHEAST OF TALLAHASSEE. CHILDREN AND PETS ARE WELCOME. FULL SERVED BREAKFAST.National Historic Register thirteen room mansion located 20 miles east of Tallahassee in a picturesque old southern town . Rated one of Florida's Fabulous B & B's, Florida Magazine, 2008; Listed "Best in the South" Inn Traveler magazine. Extra large antique filled rooms with candles in the fireplaces - all private baths, designer sheets, down comforters, robes and slippers. Mid-week traveler specials available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your 1872 John Denham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1872 John Denham House Monticello, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing