We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inexpensive place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Clean, comfortable and conveniently located off of I-75. Lady at check in was very pleasant and professional.

Only complaints:
1. The "continental" breakfast wasn't Vegan friendly but not a lot of places cater to my lifestyle. I was able to grab a banana and an apple, so I was happy in the end. It was great they offered fresh fruit!!!!
2. Also there was a knocking noise coming from the bathroom area. I think it might of been the pipes. It was hard to fall asleep for a while because of the noise but I eventually did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing vegan needs. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback for breakfast you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    44
    24
    4
    15
See reviews for
51
36
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had made a reservation on choicehotels.com for Friday - Sunday, November 01 - 03, 2013 for the weekend of the Miami - Florida State game. Bear in mind, the nearest hotel with available rooms for the weekend was in Lake City 90 miles to the east. We reserved 4 rooms at a rate of $79/night. Two rooms were confirmed with two people in them, two were reserved as singles. This obviously equals 6 people, which is the exact number of people in our party. On Monday October 28, 2013 we faxed the reservation information to the hotel to confirm the reservations. When we arrived on Friday November 01, 2013, the lady who works the desk said she didn't have the fax but she did confirm receiving it. She said the reservation only had one person in each room totaling four people. She said it would change the rate significantly and on top of that we would have to pay an additional $30 per person per night for the extra people. Why would she try to do that when on every door in your hotel it says an extra person it $10 per person per night? We showed her the hotel reservation that was stored on my friend's smart phone that showed the correct amount of people that we had reserved for which was six. We felt like the hotel was trying to rip us off because it was a game weekend and not another hotel was available for 90 miles.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
The reservation was made and can be honored to the guest listed on the reservation, and the room could only be given to the guest after the verification with picture Id is shown.
The reservation and the rooms cannot be given to any other person except the person listed on the reservation. The appropriate number of people has to be claimed because of security purposes. The rate structure has an algorithmic, which depends and varies on calendar events. I want to apologize for any convenience that we caused you, however we have policies with in the network.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My family stopped here on the way to our Disney World vacation, and were so happy with the room and the service that we made sure to stay here again on our way back home. The management was friendly and professional, and went out of their way to be welcoming. The rooms were fresh, clean, and well-appointed, the beds were large and comfortable... I only wished that the accommodations at the mid-range Disney Resort we stayed at were a fraction as nice as this little gem. Oh, and they gave us a breakfast voucher for the little hole in the wall diner across the parking lot - let me tell you, the biscuits they served were the tastiest, most delicious griddle-fried biscuits I have ever eaten in my life, and I'm a "big-boned" lady from the Deep South, so I know a thing or two about biscuits.

Room Tip: The Interstate side was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amzetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We cannot express how grateful we are to hear kind words. We do treasure hidden gem as a secret hotel of Jefferson County of Florida. Come and explore our hotel (7 miles from Tallahassee, Florida) and visit this unique county and enjoy historic opera house and ethnic food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

after two exhaustive trips to Jacksonville in two weeks,, we stopped in Monticello, fla to sleep. we came in rather late and was met with courteous people that made us feel that they knew what had been through the last two weeks. during this time we had stayed in places that were more expensive and less expensive. here the room was cool, clean, comfortable , and quiet. we had the best rest that night during the two weeks. the entire room was spotless and the motel employees were fantastic ! thanks econo lodge Monticello, will stay again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We all work hard to keep up with the greenery and natural beautiful surrounding. We were honored to have you in our beautiful hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Friendly service throughout, clean rooms with everything we needed. Location was great having the car we were exploring the forests and coast nearby it suited us fine. Breakfast was basic but enough, some nice muffins and yogurts. For the budget price we thought it was very good value, and compared to other motels and econolodges we'be stayed at since its way better. Highly recommended to those looking for good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We do appreciate choosing us allowing us to serve you.
we do provide quality service for economical price.
Come on again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlehurst, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

At first I was hesitant about booking because the rate was unbelievably low. The room was clean, no odd smells. The bed was very comfortable & the A/C worked very well. Check in was quick & easy & we got exactly what we requested. Non-smoking king on 1st floor. Only a couple minor details keeps me from giving it an excellent rating. The bath towels & mat were pretty threadbare & should have been replaces long ago. I tossed both packs of coffee because they had been opened. Other than those couple of items, the room was a really more than I expected for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJDTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for feedback and suggestions. We will take care of suggestions.
Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

In September of 2012 I reserved a room at this hotel for my daughter's college graduation in May of 2013 through the Choice Hotels website. The hotel contacted me directly in April to make sure I wanted the room and I confirmed over the phone that I did. On the day I was to arrive, my daughter called to make sure my room would be ready. We were told they had no record of our reservation. The person on the phone was rude and eventually hung up on my daughter. I called Choice Hotels and they were very nice, but they never followed up on my complaint. Bottom line - if you really need a room in the area for an important event at FSU, do not use this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We were completely sold out and there was no reservation in the system. If we had even one room to sell we would have offered you. We could not find any rooms from any hotel partner in 100 miles radius. We were sold out with FSU and FAMU visitors. We are definitely desired hotel for Football games and all the other corporate meetings/activites in Tallahassee, FL due to our easy location and no traffic to get in and out from hotel.
We apologize for inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
8.1 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#19 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
14.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2616 Gamble Rd, Monticello, FL 32344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monticello
Monticello Quality Inn
Econo Lodge Monticello, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing