We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel

Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Umhlali B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Lovely boutique hotel situated in Ballito. Lovely Rooms. There is a Mangwanani Spa onsite which makes it perfect if you want to escape for some R&R. Fine dining available at the restaurant. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I would choose another hotel, period.

You know the kind of place where overall it looks good and the service at the door is way too overly friendly to the point of weirdness and everything is over exaggerated to be "very exclusive" and then when issues start happening, the service is no longer so good and actually down right avoidant, well this is the place....

Read on, if you still need to be convinced to book elsewhere...

It all started out fine until 10 minutes in when we are asked to pay in full for our 4 nights and the discount rate that we were e-quoted with is "no where to be found in any records." So we showed the email and sure enough they couldn't deny that we were indeed entitled to the quoted price by their own hotel on their own letterhead. ???

However, they couldn't "reverse" the charges so they said maybe over the course of your stay you could "use up" the amount owed in services. So ok, fine, it was now only 20 minutes in and we needed a drink, so we agreed.

The day continues. The hotel looks great, but on close examination the perks are not all that perky. And the service again is down right strange. A manager kept watching us throughout our stay and frankly, his over curiosity into whether we were having a good was not sincere and again a little weird.

Examples continue:
1. The "exclusive" breakfast (not joking we heard that word from the manager at least 10 times) had watered down everything and very little selection.

2. Our power outlets were not working in the room so after 1 day of asking why we couldn't charge our cell phones, they gave us the room key for the room next to ours to charge our phones. At one point a day later not realizing someone had checked in (not being notified), we walked into an occupied room, luckily we don't steal and luckily we weren't attacked by an unassuming couple getting barged in on. Plus the person assigned to the case smoked heavily. We know this because he would be in the room "trying to fix the outlet" and we would later smell him and again were not notified that he would be making on-going visits to our room.

3. We provided some laundry to be done by their in-house service and the next day we received almost a suitcase full of clean but "NOT" our clothing nicely hanging in the room. Again luckily we don't steal and were honest that in fact we had someone's full wardrobe in our room. If you run a hotel - we understand that mistakes are made - but this many!!

4. There was a wedding (we were not informed) that went on and on until the wee hours of the morning without any regard for others. The hotel is small. We figured we were asked to pay in full on check-in so we couldn't run away after a night of no sleep.

5. The hotel manager seemed to be in some "exclusive" side business with a particular taxi cab who charged us (stupid us) way too much for a ride. We figured this out pretty fast and rented a car for a fraction of the price to drive around "exclusive" Ballito.

6. Massages on sight were great. Beaches not so much.

7. Our poolside drink bill made no sense and was all over the place. Luckily the amount worked out in our favour and so we decided we stay quiet. But what if it hadn't!!

Finally, we leave. :)

We head to reception and say, we only spent 1/4 of what was owed to us, we need a refund. Staff: "Of course, next week Monday, when our finance person gets in."

Well that was 4 months ago and literally just last week we finally got our money back.

It took 4 months, long distance phone calls (we live in Botswana) and numerous emails to get our money back. Again, if you run a hotel - you have to pay bills, etc, if you owe a customer, I don't care what you have to do, return the money! I have a family full of retail experts and I have worked in retail. We can't say, oh sorry we can't refund you. That doesn't make sense and in fact they could refund us because they did, in the end. They just wanted to see how long we would hang in for our R500!

Well we hung on and got our money (which had to be transferred through a SA friend, another ploy to get us to go away) and now I can happily write this review cause I don't care anymore about keeping up appearances.

Again, just book elsewhere.

While you may have no issues and I hope you don't, but if you do, you are in for a surprise and a big annoyance. Don't take the risk. Ballito offers other places that probably have solid ratings of 5 on Trip Advisor and are much more "exclusive."

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinLynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe,Kwazulu Natal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Guys & girls,if you need quiet time alone then it's the Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel.Quiet,peaceful & relaxing.You can spend the day @ the pool or induldge in the Mangwanani Spa.No worry if you want to spend all your time in your room.Room service & housekeeping is great.I'm back home rejuvenated.The staff are welcoming,warm,friendly and always smiling.Boulervard 44 ,i'll be back whenever i need another get away from the stressfull life.
** A micro wave & bar fridge in the room will be great !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I really enjoyed my 1st experience here, it was so perfect, i will be going there today for the Valentine's Dinner & Dance, so excited!! watch this space for my review of tonight.. And the food was divine! My fiance & I were not feeling too well so they had a waiter sent to our room to take our Dinner order & serve us in our room, truly accommodating.

Room Tip: Every room is perfecty situated - you wont have a problem with anything, truly a romantic place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yugi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The wife and I slipped away for a quite weekend and discovered this gem just a 30 minute drive out of Durban. Each room is a bungalow/villa style nestled in manicured gardens. The service is 5* and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and well equipped with flat screens, dual rain showers, and your own private patio area. It also featured a lovely heated pool with a full body spa that my wife absolutely loved. Great place with great specials so check it out if you plan on visiting the area soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashvir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I was amazed at how lovely this place is the rooms were spacious, comfy and really stunning, the bathroom was amazing made me and my man feel like we were in heaven. What an amazing place from the Staff at helpdesk to the waitors and the room service was efficient and amazing.
This place is like heaven on earth a place of relaxation and peace
Will def be going there for our anniversary next year

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We loved our stay at the caledon. The service was amazing, the food was fantastic, the decor of the rooms is new, fresh and gorgeous. the rooms are spacious and each room has a little patio and garden. Our stay was easy, without any hassle and the staff there were so so so helpful and went out of their way for us. The pool area is beautiful and the setting makes for a really relaxing break. the rates are so reasonable and you really get your monies worth. Thanks to all at the caledon that went out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeesieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlali
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel

Property: Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel
Address: Lee Barns Boulevard, Umhlali 4000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlali
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Boulevard 44 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing