We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Mt. Dora!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Cottage Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting Mt. Dora again this year. As luck would have it, we ended up on the lovely front porch of the very welcoming Coconut Cottage Inn! From the moment we entered, it was a treat to all the senses: tasteful and cozy interior, smell of fresh baked cookies in the air and music filled the room. All that just began what would be our Best Stay yet in Mt. Dora. Truthfully, the sumptuous king size bed is better than ours at home. However, the very best thing happening at the Coconut Cottage Inn are the hosts, Nancy and Gary! Thanks for our recent Best Stay. We'll be back soon. Trish & John

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the end of a two week visit to Florida. Nancy and Gary are the best hosts you could ask for. They provided us with important advice for some outdoor activities, cooked delicious breakfasts and evening goodies and shared wonderful stories about traveling. We stayed in the Asia room which was very comfortable with access to a nice screened porch and jacuzzi bath. The king bed seemed bigger than any king we'd been in before! I would encourage everyone who can to pop in for a getaway before they sell the business. They will be missed from the B&B circuit. Mount Dora is a fantastic little Florida village - well worth discovering.

Room Tip: The only frustration is the lack of a shower in the bathroom. There is a wonderful jacuzzi tub with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustmoon849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I deserved a much needed get-away, so to surprise him I chose an overnight stay at the Coconut Cottage Inn! Nancy and Gary, the Inn keepers, were great! We showed up a couple hours early but Nancy was very nice and accomodating. We got a map of Mt. Dora along with information about local sites to see!

We were welcomed with homemade cookies and milk! The house is beautiful! We stayed in the Africa room and it was great! The bed was so comfortable! Even though the Africa room sits on the bottom floor, we didn't hear the people above us until they were coming down the stairs the next morning.

I have several food allergies but Nancy and Gary were so accomodating! They bought gluten free bread and cereal just for me! Breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs/bacon, and freshly baked muffins!

We had a great time sharing stories with Nancy and Gary! What a great stay which was made even better by enjoying their company!

We can't wait to return in November when we celebrate our Anniversary! Can't wait to stay in the Asia room which has a jacuzzi tub!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g5club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Looking to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary in a quaint way, we found the Coconut Cottage Inn. Nancy is so very helpful. She pulled out local maps and showed us where to go and how to get there. She called the Goblin Market to make reservations for our anniversary dinner. Also warm cookies waiting everytime we returned to the Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I returned home this afternoon after a 2 night stay. It was an outstanding place to stay. Gary and Nancy are the best. The house is beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fabulous every day. Pumpkin bread/cookies for us each afternoon. Told us all we wanted to know about the town and all the restaurants and shops. I can't wait to go back. You will want to book another stay as soon as you leave. It's that awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B again for the second time in 2011. We visited in December for the town's Christmas Walk and Parade. It was wonderful! As always, Nancy and Gary proved to be the best of hosts and gave us many tips, including a wonderful visit to Bok Tower in Lake Wales. They made dinner reservations for us and filled us in on all the activities going on in that beautiful little town.

Chatting over breakfast is so wonderful and relaxing! Nancy and Gary are very knowledgeable and very interesting people - there's always a unique story or vignette to tell.

We are looking forward to another lovely visit with them very soon. Give the Coconut Cottage a try. You will love it!

Room Tip: The Asia Room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingcubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a getaway weekend and wanted to stay at a B&B. We chose the Coconut Cottage Inn because of the unique rooms they offered. We stayed in the India room which was beautifully decorated. It was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, it was cozy and romantic. Exactly what we were looking for. It was one-of-a-kind room that you would not get anywhere else. We were lucky enough to get a glimpse of the Asian room which is also a perfect room to stay in. That will be our next room for our next trip to Mt. Dora. The owners Gary and Nancy were extremely hospitable and offered lots of information about Mt. Dora. We were in walking distance to everything. The breakfast was amazing. We found ourselves looking forward to the next breakfast. You can see they put a lot of time and detail into everything they had to offer. I left feeling well rested and refreshed. I would highly recommend the Coconut Cottage Inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_M886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
995 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
591 reviews
5 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Inn

Address: 1027 McDonald St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-4210
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: £92 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mount Dora's Historic District is this 1917 Florida Vernacular home; remodeled by its travel writing owners as a British Colonial lodge with rooms reflecting Asia, India, Africa, the South Pacific, Egypt, and other exotic locales. With more than ten years in business and a string of excellent reviews to tell the story, consider this for your next excursion. Small and intimate, romantic and restful, the Coconut Cottage is perfect for couples, small groups, girlfriend getaways, and mother-daughter weekends... And it just may be the most exotic journey you can take without a passport! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Inn Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing