We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still The Best Seafood In Mount Dora”

Whales Tale Fish House
Ranked #28 of 116 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: 352-385-1500
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Still The Best Seafood In Mount Dora”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I first reviewed Whale's Tale after moving to Mount Dora early in 2011. I still go there frequently, and it is just as good as ever. I am hooked on their fried seafood basket with two seafood selections. I usually have haddock and clam strips, with some hushpuppies and sides of carrots and slaw. Everything is great, and they have some good house wine. I highly recommend this family owned place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBackroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
300 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“If you like seafood check it out”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place has the feel of an old small town diner. It is set in a rundown strip mall off the beaten path. It is clean for a mom and pop kind of place. It is not that easy to find (when my GPS said I had reached my destination, we still did not see it) the signage is not that effective.

That said it is worth the effort to find it. Melissa greeted us as we entered – she was warm and friendly. We chose a seat (the seating is a mishmash of choices – quaint) and looked at the menu. The choices although not “New England”, they were generally great seafood choices. They lean more toward Maryland than New England – but this is still great sea food for Florida.

We both chose the belly clams, and the onion rings. My bride had coleslaw, and I had French fries. The clams were terrific, and the onion rings are as good as we have had. The coleslaw and fries were OK.

It is worth the effort to seek this place out, and you could do worse than have Melissa as your server.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VillagerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Don't even know where to begin. Took a relative for her birthday based on the reviews was expecting a good meal. The portion sizes were ridiculous for what we paid and wasn't even that great. Then 1 waitress for the entire place we had to ask 4 times for part of our orders she forgot and had to ask for drink refills. I do NOT or will recommend this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chickensforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious New England Style Seafood”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you're a transplant from 'up north' and are craving the seafood, this is the place to go. We had whole clams, with bellies, and fish and chips with sides of fries and onion rings. Everything was delicious and the prices were extremely reasonable. The only thing I would like to see would be a more crispy, beer-style batter on the fish. Other than that we left satisfied. The portions were good for the prices. It's a little hard to see from the road, though, so look carefully. The owner and servers were cordial and attentive. Again, a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whales Tale Fish House”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We very much enjoyed our dinner and the service was terrific and I was amazed at the view and the sunset. It was a very romantic dinner and we will definitely return and recommend to others who may be traveling there as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whales Tale Fish House also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Whales Tale Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing