We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tour was scarier than the stories”

Mount Dora Ghost Walk
Ranked #9 of 14 Tours in Mount Dora
Attraction details
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The tour was scarier than the stories”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

They made us laugh a couple of times so we scored them average. If they didn't, it would have been lower. The guide was hard to understand because he was trying to do some sort of accent. The stories were so far fetch it was dumb. They did interact with the guest alot. For the price it was ok. $10 for Lakeview Hotel guest. You know it must be bad when the guide at the end says, at least nobody walked off tonight. If you have nothing else to do, then it's worth doing. If you have to drive to it or make a speical trip for it....NO.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDoraGhostWalk, Dieter and Esmeralda, tour guides at Mount Dora Ghost Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
You so clever in you negativity, you live longer without it...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love the ghost walk, what a hoot”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The funniest time Ive had in a while, very entertaining, Dieter our tour guide was the too funny and his big words the best. not to be missed

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank granville b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDoraGhostWalk, Tour Guide, Esmeralda and Dieter at Mount Dora Ghost Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
you have a good eye for entertainment, thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blank
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Hokey. Don't waste your hard-earned money.”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

It sounds like the last review was written by the staff or something. This attraction was not as it was presented over the phone. My husband and I were under the impression that it would be similiar to the ghost tours in st augustine, but this was more like a last-minute production where they spent as little money and time as possible to prefer the scenes and props. It seemes as if our guide made up the tour as he went along because he would look around the room and just say the most random things - such as, "this clown was turned into toliet parts." It was ridiculous. We went on the 30th, and none of the stuff described in the last review took place. We were hoping to learn cool little spooky facts about Mt Dora, but we are pretty sure that they took stories from other towns and applied them to Mt Dora.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank blank19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDoraGhostWalk, Dieter, tour guide at Mount Dora Ghost Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
If you want to come one the tour again, I will comp you but remind me who you are so I can speak slower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Funny: The Munsters meet Gilligan's Island”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Mount Dora Ghost Walk/Lakeside Inn - I know our show was their Halloween's Special Edition Tour, but judging for what we heard, they have done this for several years more as a weird comic horror walking theater show, than the usual tours you see everywhere. They had several tours running at the same time, and the hotel was jamming with Jazz music. It was like a crazy mad house party. On one side the dark but lively tavern was crowded with weird looking tour goers waiting for their respective tour to start, and on the other side the lobby was having its own thing by having a wake with full open casket and all. It was a real casket filled with all kinds of horrible props and body parts. They even had a voodoo priestess reading tarot cards while a crazier dude dressed like voodoo spirit guarded her- well, guarded him as she really was a drag queen!!!! The Inn is not that big, but all the staff were either really strange or just pretending. They took us into a different section of the Inn each time, where a room was prepared with a different theme inspired in local legend, or local drunkenness, but really funny. There was a room where some redneck doctor performed experiments, a room with a family of 4 dressed as they did a hundred years ago telling the story about how they drowned, one room where some circus people stayed and were victimized by some evil ring master, a moonshiner team waiting to be dropped into the bottom of the lake, a biker's party that went wrong with body parts all over the place even sticking out of the toilet, a pet cemetery, and a swamp witch in a shack telling the future. It was funny! My daughter had her 20'th year class reunion the same night and some of her friends took a longer tour that led them into town. That tour was only story telling without special effects but the tour guide was really entertaining and they said it was worthy! I do not know why the other reviewers here did not like their regular tour. But based in our experience, and perhaps that of some of the people we spoke to, I thought fair to leave a positive mark for such excellent and very professional presentation. Oh, I almost forgot: they even had a real antique black hearse parked on front, a two real sea planes next to the moonshiners... Crazy!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Awilda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDoraGhostWalk, tour guide at Mount Dora Ghost Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
The Munsters referernce is priceless, thx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Dora
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This ghost walk was mildly amusing but not worth $15 / pp.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDoraGhostWalk, Dieter tour guide at Mount Dora Ghost Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Gary, come back to us, it will be only $5 for you, and we can have a collection for you with the other attendee's if needed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Dora Ghost Walk also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Mount Dora Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing