We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Dora's painted lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Donnelly House

Ventura, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mount Dora's painted lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely to behold outside, especially at Christmas. Drab inside. Open during the numerous festive street fairs in town, serving such fare as boiled hot dogs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank chemist-cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A fascinating Masonic Lodge. We had a look on the outside, and noticed a few elderly people on the porch. I asked when the house is open for tours, and was happy to know it was available right now. We had a very informative mini tour and admired the old architecture. Definitely an interesting spot in Mount Dora.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MaximRossOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful Victorian Home/Masonic Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I were taking photos of the front of the Donnelly House when a truck pulled up and the nicest gentleman got out and introduced himself. He is the Master Mason of this Masonic Lodge. The timing was perfect because not only did he answer all our questions about the home, he opened up the home for us to get a personal tour since he was there on masonic business. The house was beautiful. It even has a three sided fireplace that was quite interesting. Thanks to the Master Mason for the wonderful tour and history lesson. This experience made our mini vacation all the more special! He mentioned that they decorate for Christmas so we'll probably be making a trip to see the Donnelly House all lit up in it's Christmas glory.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mplanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“would love a tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

As often as we visit Mt. Dora, we have yet to find tours available! This former home has an historical marker, and would do visitors to Mt. Dora a great justice by sharing its history and offering tours. It was beautifully decorated this Christmas! Thank you!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank redbird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompano beach fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A historical Home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Looked beautiful on the outside, inside left me cold.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pompanojudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donnelly House also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Donnelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing