We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake Like your Grandma Made”
Review of Cody's on 4th

Cody's on 4th
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newport News, Va
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cake Like your Grandma Made”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Downtown Mt. Dora abounds in sites, shops, and places to eat. I have family in town and on a recent visit I asked for a recommendation for lunch. Who knew that this cozy welcoming eatery would also offer a choice of wonderful made-on-site cakes. I had a hard time choosing. The coconut cake was moist and delish; the only improvement would be to make it two layers. When next in Mt. Dora Cody's will be my number-one go-to place..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank No-Central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    58
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Experience -Do Yourself a Favor!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were greeted warmly and invited to sit wherever we liked. This was hard to choose because the whole place is adorable and smartly decorated. We chose the bench-booth in the back room with the plump pillow for getting comfy while enjoying the surroundings and people watching.

The coffee was served immediately in generous mugs, hot and robust. The menu was enticing and we both ( husband and I) chose the egg sandwich with variations in the bread and cheeses. My asiago bagel was to die for, there was abundant delicious meat and cheese. We had bet on the type and amount of fruit to expect in the fruit cup and were we surprised! A HUGE polka-dot
ramekin with blackberries, strawberries, blueberries, green grapes and apples--not a cantaloupe in sight, which was great!

One of the locals kept our coffee filled because the sweetheart waiting tables was pretty busy, but she made a point to check with us often so it was very comfortable and we never went long without having our needs met and feeling like they were happy we were there.

To end the experience, I wanted to mention that the breakfast sandwich was twice the size of my appetite, so I asked for a carryout. Again, performance was over and above expectations. She boxed it, of course, then a sturdy plastic bag which kept my sandwich dry in the cooler we were toting. And then, when I pulled out aluminum foils to rewarm that evening, I found it was wrapped a third time in foil. Wow!

This was truly a stellar experience when compared to the fiasco we encountered the day before.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel33881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast or quick lunch.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ask for the triple cheese, grilled cheese, my husband is addicted to them! Cody and her staff always have a smile on and really brighten your day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NIce place to visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Cody's on 4th was a quaint little sandwich shop. A good place to grab a quick bite to eat. Very friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanam2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friday night Trivia”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This breakfast and lunch place is open for dinner on Fridays and there is a free game of trivia there with prizes to be won! Fun night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank triviaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cody's on 4th also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Cody's on 4th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing