We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blowfish with Gold Chain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pisces Rising

Pisces Rising
Reserve with OpenTable
Pisces Rising is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
388 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Blowfish with Gold Chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Well, I Kept My Word ! It's been 4 years since I returned to Pisces Rising for dinner, having previously been treated like a Blow Fish at a Fancy Seafood Convention (see review 2008). Reading the reviews posted here, it seems the rigid Hostess (owner) still needs a lesson in 'how to treat folks on arrival' but, on this occasion we were greeted by our Server and she was gracious and attentive. I brought my wife, a customer, and his girlfriend, who in a last minute decision, asked for "seafood and someplace with a great view".... that would narrow the choice in Mount Dora to ONE. Perhaps distracted by the view or, the "house specials" my client & I instead ordered the Pork Tenderloin dish, my wife the Chicken and his girlfriend the Gumbo ( what happened to the 'seafood' request?). Seated outside, you are surrounded by everything from Bikers, to overweight women in short shorts, to aristocrats in sport jackets. It's definitely a mixed bag there. The tables & chairs look filthy but, I determined it was the dark colored paint wearing off from years of hard use. The 'misters' keep you cool in the humid Summer weather and the music will have you shouting at your partners but, all-in-all this place still deserves 'kudos' for great food and the landmark view. It's not like dining out overlooking the Ocean in Carmel, CA. but, for Central FL. this place offers a great Sunset View of LAKE Dora. Despite all the +/- verbiage contained here on this website: 'you gotta be good to have lasted 4 years in this economy in this town'. Bite your lip, suck in your horny blowfish sides and check it out. Bring your dive bag stuffed w/ cash: it was $145 for 4 including 1 drink each and tip for the gracious service. So, Blowfish with Gold Chain.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    275
    139
    66
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Aatronomical Expense”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Food was not cooked to order and when it was, it had no taste. Prime Rib for $29 should be something to enjoy. This had not taste and was a poor cut of meat. They claim it is slow cooked, but it appears there was no chef involved. Burger was the same. Will not return.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiscesManager, General Manager at Pisces Rising, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to critique your experience at Pisces Rising. However, I would say my real disappointment comes from not being able to provide a solution for you at the time you were dining. Our managers are constantly moving about the dining room, and are always ready to act in a proactive manner to assure Guest Satisfaction. I can tell you that I have shared your observations with our Chef and his Culinary Team. We only use top Choice Angus for our Prime Rib, and we roast it at a low temperature for 4-6 hours. Then, we carve per order. However, if something is not up to standard, we like to know. That way we can take steps to provide a solution such as finding something else on the menu for you, and taking it up with our Vendor about the quality of a product that very day. I do sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to impress. Our Culinary Team has taken your critiques very seriously, and you will find your next experience to be nothing short of top notch. That I can guarantee. If there is anything I can do, please just drop by and say hello.

Thank you,
Joshua Jungferman
General Manager
Pisces Rising
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location for dinner and drinks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Enjoy sunsets from the patio. The sit up bar is fun and complete with misters or heat depending on the season. Music is lively and always a good crowd. Lunch is good, but a little disappointed with dinner in the dining room. It was just average and the service was slow and not very attentive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The dinner place in Mt. Dora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Don't miss this one. Beautiful restaurant and wonderful service (Michael was the best), It is fine dining in an elegant casual atmospher. Starting with perfect cocktails and 3 from the Sea appitisers with calamari, conch friters and crab cakes. Our table enjoyed Jambalaya, Seafood Paella and fish of the day. The corn chowder soup was warm and wonderful. We all sharred a Mouthfull - a - Sunshine Orange cake and it was the perfect ending of a beautiful meal. Porch or dining room there is a view of the lake. After dinner plan on a stroll around town to work off the last bit of dinner. We will be back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank patron175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best spot in Mt Dora!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Excellent deck bar with great sunset view. Live music and pitchers of mojitos!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HDBIKERGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisces Rising also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Pisces Rising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing