We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Eating in a Library”
Review of The Goblin Market

The Goblin Market
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like Eating in a Library”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were visiting for the Thanksgiving holiday and our family took us here to eat. It was awesome. The whole environment was charming and the food was delicious. I had the Crab Bisque soup and it was delicious. They served it with a little shot glass of Sherry you pour into the soup. I had the Quesadillas and my family had a pasta shrimp dish and a Mushroom Burger and Fried Artichoke Hearts you have to try!!! They had a classical guitar player who was great. We will definitely go there again when we return. Congratulations to them!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,074
    260
    74
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stopped by for a drink after exploring the town”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Went upstairs to the bar for a break after walking and Segwaying around the town. Great bar with excellent service. Perfect ending to the day.

Helpful?
Thank jwp-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere, food and service.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife Irenne and I had a wonderful meal this past Tusday evening. Soups were excellent as well as food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drawdenessov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Always Fun, Great Food And Atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We live in the area and return to The Goblin Market regularly - and have for years. Goblin Market is in a terrific spot in old Mt. Dora, down an alley way which immediately becomes part of the atmosphere. The small pathway up to the restaurant sets the mood and the decor inside is warm and friendly - a library atmosphere - makes you feel like you are in someone's home. The seating upstairs is just fine - a bit different though to me. The bar is ample and very fair about its portions, the wine list is a nice one. The menu offers a good variety but is not over done with choices. They are clearly focused in the kitchen on doing fewer things, better. The consistency of meals has been our only hesitation over the years. Nine out of ten times they hit a home run. And then sometimes? Well, it is average. Our recent visit netted a combination - outstanding pork special, but the salmon was only fair, a little dry. Service is always good, efficient. You never lack for attention as you need it. We will continue to go back particularly to support a local business. The value is pretty good with the prices being a shade high - but what restaurant isn't these days?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tmm32776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Awesome food, superbly presented and served by an extremely knowledgeable, friendly wait staff. Everyone working there is concerned about your enjoyment. Nothing too small for them to take care of. Tho you have one waiter, if another sees you are in need then they fill in. This is the first time here but it has been recommended by many of my friends and they were right. This is for the discriminating diner who enjoys excellent cuisine. We had the 3 starters ... Irish Whiskey Onion Soup, Crab Bisque and Tempura Dipped Artichoke Hearts as we didn't want a large meal. The Onion Soup was the best I've ever had. They are not open holidays. I intent to go back and would highly recommend the experience to everyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouB213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goblin Market also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to The Goblin Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing