We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Occasion Restaurant of Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goblin Market

The Goblin Market
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Restaurant of Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

There is a difference between fine dining and everything else. If you forget, the Goblin Market will remind you. Look at their website to preview the menu - I got so hungry just reading the many, many delicious descriptions that I could barely wait for my birthday. You might have guessed that the Goblin is a little pricey, but it is worth every penny. And for this level of dining it is actually very reasonable. I has the scallops and shrimp, the wife went with a beautiful stuffed chicken breast. Everything was delicious. And the service is first rate, top notch and every other superlative you can think of.
The décor is beautiful, reminiscent of a French library... and the multi-floor layout adds to the sense of privacy and makes you feel like it is all about you. Which brings me back to the beginning: there is a difference. The Goblin Market scores the trifecta of 1. great food, 2. marvelous service and 3. luscious atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tider777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    249
    71
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of Mt. Dora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Tucked away on a side street in the village of Mt. Dora, the Goblin Market Restaurant is a hidden gem well worth seeking out. From the moment you enter through the secret garden door and emerge into the intimate book-lined rooms, you will feel like the treasured guest of friends who just happen to be four star chefs. Although our group had no reservations, we had arrived early enough that this did not represent a problem. Seeing how filled the restaurant quickly became during our meal, however, I would recommend making reservations next time. Our excellent server, Justin, was attentive, professional and friendly. Two of our group were vegetarians and Justin worked with the kitchen to produce superb meals that were not on the menu but accommodated each of their separate dietary requirements. The salads were fresh and all the dressings were homemade as are the soups and desserts. The lightly panko-breaded fresh snapper in a tangerine butter sauce was particularly good. A delicious warm bread also accompanied our meals. The Goblin Market is a bit pricey for Florida, particularly for dinner, but we all felt it was well worth it. I look forward to dining there again on our next visit to Mt. Dora.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyberyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ALMOST missed it; found out about it from the piano player at the Lakeside Inn. OMG! I had flounder baked with a panko coating. My husband had a shrimp & scallop & capers over angel hair with prosciutto and artichoke hearts. Access is in an alley. ASK for directions!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DianaP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“welcome home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

this restaurant another Mount Dora gem,is located in a restored home with a patio in the back. High recommended,indeed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VICTOR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Came here for dinner while shopping in Mt. Dora, I strongly suggest you call at least one day ahead for reservations. The entire experience was wonderful, meal was fabulous, wish we lived closer so I could come back more often. We stopped by for lunch the next day on our way out of town and WOW did not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goblin Market also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to The Goblin Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing