We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun, fun....”

Taste of Our Town Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A Guided Tasting Tour of Local Foods and Wines...Join us as we explore our historic town of Mount Dora. We will drop into 8 or 9 charming restaurants, quaint food shops, and local wine bistros. As we stroll through tree-lined streets, we will also savor a "taste" of Mount Dora's rich culture and lakeside beauty. We are confident you will have a fun filled time and a satisfied tummy.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My daughters and I took the tour yesterday with Paula and John. I think they had as much fun as we did, as they told us stories and led us to places where we enjoyed a variety of tastes, including a mini Cuban meal and just the right amount of wine, considering how we sampled wines at several places. It was also fun to meet the local shop keepers and to play guessing games, such as which famous people stayed at the old hotel and what happened at points along the tour (eg, where John proposed to Paula....). You won't regret taking the tour! IHO

Thank IHO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula NeJame T, Manager at Taste of Our Town Mount Dora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Yes...we have to admit...we have as much fun as our guests. We love our beautiful town of Mount Dora and find such pleasure in sharing it with all who join us. Thanks for sharing the day with us and we hope you come again soon for another "Taste of Our Town".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really fun sampler tour of unique locally owned restaurants, and original gift shops. Paula and John give you an insider's view of their charming town, interspersed with fun filled history and Mount Dora Facts, with lots of samples of wine, appetizers, and personal introductions to the owners and chefs! The whole tour was a special treat! Two thumbs up!

1  Thank Wendi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula NeJame T, Manager at Taste of Our Town Mount Dora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed a "Taste" of our beautiful town of Mount Dora. We are always proud to share our little piece of heaven with all who join us. We hope you come again to enjoy more of Mount Dora's wonderful establishments and hidden treasures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed The Taste of Our Town Mount Dora Tour Saturday, June 28. The weather was sweltering hot but once our extremely knowledgeable and personable tour guides, Paula and John, began their tour all the uncomfortableness of the weather was forgotten. Paula and John have put together a tour of Mount Dora unlike any other "city/town tour". They share historical information about Mount Dora, a bit of their personal history in Mount Dora and tastes from numerous of the unique proprietor owned restaurants of Mount Dora. I have visited Mount Dora before. This was my husbands first visit. After completion of The Taste of Our Town Mount Dora Tour with our welcoming and warm guides, Paula and John, I can guarantee you we will return to Mount Dora to enjoy the establishments which were introduced to us on this tour as well as others that were mentioned during the walks between establishments. I cannot say enough positive about this tour with Paula and John. Learning about Mount Dora with them was like spending a day with family showing one around their hometown...only better.

Thank nwaoffspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula NeJame T, Manager at Taste of Our Town Mount Dora, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Our heart is full whenever we read a review like this. We feel like we have successfully shared a "Taste of Our Town" with such wonderful people as yourselves. Thanks for sharing the afternoon with us and we would love for you to join us again. Kind regards and gratitude...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely day on this tour. Great food and drinks. Will return to dine and shop. The people were friendly. Cannot wait to return.

Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula NeJame T, Manager at Taste of Our Town Mount Dora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks for joining us for Taste if Out Town Tours in beautiful Mount Dora's. We are glad y'all enjoyed your time with us as we discovered some of our towns hidden treasures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My aunt and I did this tour over Memorial Day weekend (Sat.). We had a great time learning about Mount Dora's history, sampling various food/wine/beer at our restaurant stops and walk around downtown. I would recommend doing this tour your first day if possible...will help you get familiar with all the offerings downtown. We stopped at more places than was expected during the tour. Paula and John are very nice and answer any questions you may have. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Thank FloridaHappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula NeJame T, Manager at Taste of Our Town Mount Dora, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are proud to offer a fun and exciting overall experience to everyone who visits Mount Dora. One of the repeated compliments we receive is how you are able to get an overall feel of the towns eateries, history and culture. This allows guests to determine their favorite spots they want to revisit. Thanks for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Our Town Mount Dora also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Taste of Our Town Mount Dora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing