We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay with warm innkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful stay with warm innkeepers”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Gordie and Pattie have really made the Grandview into a place that feels like home. It's both relaxing and plush, historic and modern.
It was within easy walking distance to the lake and shopping and very much a part of the neighborhood.
Breakfast was delicious.
We will be back!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gumby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
238
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had chosen this bed and breakfast based upon the reviews. It holds the prestigious rank of #1 Bed & Breakfast in Mount Dora; which says a lot, given that this is a town where staying at a B&B is part of the whole experience of visiting Mount Dora! I especially love that this property offers two additional buildings that allow you to experience a B&B without occupying a bedroom in the main house. This aspect offers an extra element of privacy; plus, their Windmill Cottage is an accommodation that offers two stories of privacy along with the ability to house extra guests! The addition of a swimming pool is a wonderful added amenity. The location of this B&B allows you, as a guest, to park your car for your stay and walk most anywhere, if you choose. The town of Mount Dora is friendly, quaint and dotted with great restaurants and boutiques to shop and browse. The architecture of the homes, the inclines and the landscaping all lean towards a town anywhere north of Florida. Our typical palm tree lined vistas are not here and replaced by Spanish moss, beautiful lakes and nostalgia charm. I now understand how Mount Dora has won many a heart. In a relative short drive from most places in Florida, one can experience a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life and the typical visual palette of what most of us Floridians have grown accustomed to. With all the pluses I mentioned of the Grandview B&B property, I would be remiss not to mention the Heart and Soul of this place - Patti & Gordie! These two truly enjoy hosting you! The breakfasts are served on their beautiful china and are a great way to start the day. The wine and cheese hour is the time when laughter fills the parlor and when the weather is right overflows onto the pool deck. As other reviewers posted, Patti & Gordie willingly offer great insight into the area restaurants and truly care about you having the best experience. The Grandview B&B is a place where you can plug in and be social or unplug and unwind. Either way, its a Grand Experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is definitely the best B&B my husband, Bill, and I have ever stayed in. It is incredible. Patti and Gordie do not meet a stranger and you are welcomed like you are old friends coming for a visit. We loved that they joined us for 5:00 wine and cheese each day. The restaurants and local things they recommended were great. It is a nice walk from the B&B to downtown. The bike ride from Mt. Dora to Taraves was a beautiful ride. I don't think there are words to describe how absolutely delicious the breakfasts were. You can't go wrong with Grandview. We will definitely visit again soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wsr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our one night stay in Mt. Dora was perfect at the Grandview B&B. I stayed in the French Country room which was perfect. Patti and Gordie made the stay feel like home, from the wine and cheese hour to the fantastic and hearty breakfast. I still dream about the cranberry and nut muffins. Patti and Gordie were also very informed of the happenings and eateries in Mt. Dora. I will recommend the Grandview to any of my friends and family visiting the area.

Room Tip: You wont go wrong with any of the rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrrkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife Irenne and I have stayed at many B & B's over the past years and the Grandview rates a 5 star rating including the best that we ever stayed at. Gordie and Patti were gracious hosts. Breakfasts were outstanding, reservations at the fine restaurants they recommended were changed by them for us. These two outstanding innkeepers couldn't do enough for us.

This was a three day getaway this week of Thanksgiving 2013 and it was the most relaxing vacation we have had in years.

We are ready to make reservations for this coming October for the 3 day Cycling Weekend in early October. If you are a cyclist, the area abounds with rolling hills and offers excellent routes.

Room Tip: You can stay in the main house or there are two out buildings to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drawdenessov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our 2-day stay at the Grandview was awesome! The property is conveniently located to downtown and the walk is lovely. Our room was so cozy and comfortable, sheets pressed and the extra touches in the bathroom (Tommy Bahama) bath gels; phenomenal describes it best!
Gordy and Patti are wonderful hosts; we felt more like family than guests and the wine and cheese social hour is a really cool way to meet the other guests and get to know the hosts too – don’t miss this chance.

I don’t drink wine so Patti prepared a special version of iced tea for me – unbelievable hospitality. The breakfast is to die for especially the “orange zest” French toast and the eggs poached to perfection. What more can I say; the Grandview is #1 for a reason.

Thanks Gordy and Patti, we look forward to seeing you again soon........

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dqm320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I traveled here for a belated wedding anniversary. We had never been to Mount Dora so were followed the reviews of trip adviser and ended up at the Grandview. We had a lovely time. Our room, The Garden Room, was beautiful, emmaculate and stocked with everything one would need, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, blow drier, and a mini fridge with free bottled water. The bed and pillows were very comfortable with crisp white sheets. The grounds are beautiful and the feeling of this place is relaxed and peaceful. Patti and Gordy are the hosts and our wine and cheese at 5 pm with them and all guests was a relaxed and friendly time that we looked forward to. There is nothing inauthentic about this wonderful couple and we felt that we arrived as guests and left as friends just as the sign posted in the main house states! Ever bite of food that we ate at the breakfast table and at the wine and cheese gathering was delicious and from the hands of chef Gordy. They worked around my gluten intolerance with out batting an eye which was very much appreciated. This is a wonderful place and it is very clear that Patti and Gordy love what they do and they do it so very well. We will be back! Thanks for an awesome time!

Room Tip: Garden room was great and we looked at the Charleston and is was great also. Garden room is very pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalovian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grandview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Grandview Bed And Breakfast Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing