We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Experience at the Grandview!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A plaque over a fireplace at Grandview captures our experience: "Enter as strangers, leave as friends." Gordy and Patti are lovely people who were born to run a bed and breakfast. They made us feel welcome from the moment we parked our car. After giving us a tour of the inn and showing us to our room, they made sure to invite us to their nightly wine and cheese hour which was a wonderful opportunity to get to know them and our fellow guests. Breakfast each morning was a culinary delight created by Gordy and beautifully presented in the dining room overlooking the pool. With chocolates, fruit, cookies and muffins available any time of the day or night, we were never far from a tasty snack! Each of the guest rooms has its own personality . We stayed in the French Provincial and Charleston rooms and both are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Patti and Gordy made great recommendations for things to do and the best restaurants. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance to town. When Gordy heard that we had to leave before breakfast to catch a plane, he got up early and went to the trouble to make us a delicious egg and sausage croissant to take along with us. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scupper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Grandview Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I just went to Mt. Dora for our anniversary, and chose to stay here because of the great reviews. As always, Trip Advisor steered us to a lovely place.
Patti and Gordy understand the first principal B&B of hospitality: treat your guests like family! They run a beautiful home within comfortable walking distance, the rooms were clean and lovely, the food delicious. All that you would expect from a good B&B. What made this stay different was that they were such hospitable and friendly hosts. They sat and had a glass of wine with us in the social hour, and really got to know us, and vice versa, and kept the conversation flowing. For breakfast they served us a beautiful and delicious breakfast, then sat and chatted more. Other guests didn't seem to want to chat, and they respected that, so they obviously know when that is appropriate. I would highly recommend the Grandview for the comfort and aesthetics of the home combined with the charming and personable hosts!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganburburan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After reading all of the glowing reviews, our expectations were high, and this B&B more that met them. From arrival to departure, we were welcomed, all questions answered, and made most comfortable without being intrusive. The property is lovely, beautifully maintained and the rooms are well designed. My husband particularly enjoyed the porch swing. As noted, the location within walking distance of downtown is a plus. Breakfast (cooked by Gordie was ample and delicious.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a delightful experience! Patti and Gordy were wonderful - such warm, caring and gracious hosts. They just about thought of everything to make our stay really special. I wish we could have stayed with them longer. The Bed & Breakfast itself is charming, charming, charming and clean. I just loved it. And, I can't say enough about Gordy's chocolate chip cookies on arrival - they were such a welcome treat. After a lovely day in Mt. Dora, they started our evening with a relaxing poolside happy hour - music, wine and goodies. Great breakfast. We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at this Tripadvisor #1 rated B&B and wish our stay could have been longer. This conveniently located, well appointed, and spotlessly clean inn is easily the best at which we've ever stayed, and the 2nd "B", the breakfast, was unbelievable. Poolside wine and hors 'd oeuvres at happy hour and fresh baked cookies at bed time put Grandview over the top, and our hosts Patti and Gordy couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. It doesn't get any better than this. Steve and Jill

Room Tip: Can't go wrong but we picked and loved the Charleston room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunstate941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Outstanding host and hostess, Gordie and Patti, do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The inn is decorated very tastefully and is kept immaculately clean. Gordie cooks, and they offer a full, delicious breakfast. They also provide a lovely happy hour. Very comfortable and affordable. I had a great time.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I made this reservation by going on trip advisor and I must comment, it was the best B&B we ever stayed at. Gordy and Patti couldn't have done more us, cocktail hour around the pool was something we never experience before it felt like I was home. Must go

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank country888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
958 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
550 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: £123 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Grandview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Grandview Bed And Breakfast Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing