We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandview is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 May 2007

Grandview surpassed our expectations . We booked here because of the reviews and they are all spot on.It is difficult to add to them -just go and visit! Andy and Mel are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble to them. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareColwynBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Grandview Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2007

The Grandview is a beautifully appointed, impeccably clean, B & B, full of antiques, and is in walking distance of the quaint town of Mount Dora....but what really made our stay so nice was the hospitality of Andy and Mel. We had a 5 star welcome and treatment and the food was delicious. My brother in law joked that this should be called a "Bed and Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner"! Complete with a pool and a lovely cobblestone patio we enjoyed wine and cheese poolside in the afternoon sun, shaded by a vine covered arbor. Breakfast was delicious, my compliments to the 2 chefs.....the orange marnalade french toast was to die for! Thanks Andy and Mel.....we hope to see you next year!

Lynne Templeton
Indiana, PA

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank PATravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Stayed at the Grandview Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful experience. I look forward to doing it all over again with my husband or a group of gals.

The Grandview is tastefully decorated with antiques and has a nice ambiance. It's relaxing to have breakfast on the deck overlooking the garden and pool. Andy and Mel are gracious hosts!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank welig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We stayed at the Grandview for only one night on a Saturday and wish we could have stayed longer. Mel and Andy are the best hosts you can find by far. The place is impeccable - spotless and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in the cottage which is separate from the main house and has two floors, each with a bedroom and bathroom. In the evening an elegant plate of fruit and cheese with wine was served to us on the porch. We were also offered brownies and milk in the afternoon. For breakfast we had a wonderful fruit salad bowl, followed by apple pancakes, bacon and eggs. It was absolutely delicious! The other great thing about the place is the location. You can walk to any where in the downtown in minutes. We have stayed at several other places in Mt. Dora and this is the best. I can't say enough about the place and Mel and Andy. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it!

Anita & Bryan

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aibusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

While visiting the lovely town of Mt. Dora for a wedding, we had the pleasure of staying at the Grandview. Not only is it extremely clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable as home, hosts Mel and Andy make you feel like it IS your home. (Only better!) They prepare fabulous breakfasts, and do everything in their power, far above and beyond expectations to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They are just wonderful people. We stayed and extra day, and would have stayed longer if we could have. It is honestly the finest, most comfortable, welcoming B&B I have ever stayed in. I can't wait to return.
Everything was just perfect. Thanks Andy and Mel!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deltoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

After reading reviews about The Grandview B&B, my husband and I expected our visit to be pleasant and relaxing, but it turned out to be nothing more than FANTASTIC. Andy and Mel are southern gentlemen who definitely know how to pamper their guests. From the moment we arrived, we felt as if we were visiting dear friends. They have mastered the art of knowing when to be helpful while at the same time, respecting one's privacy.
The accommodations were excellent. Our room and large private bath were spotless. I made a game about trying to find one speck of dust during the time we were there, and didn't find a drop of dirt. The ambiance was lovely. They have furnished the entire house very tastefully with beautiful and some rare oriental pieces that they have collected over the years.
We were there for two breakfasts which were sumptuous and served ever so elegantly. I have special dietary needs and they went out of their way to accommodate me.
Wine and cheese were served every afternoon. It was so pleasant to enjoy wine and conversation in such a relaxed atmosphere.
We needed dinner reservations for a special anniversary celebration. Just by mentioning it when I was booking the room, it was taken care of for us.
I can't think of one negative thing, except I wish our visit had been for a longer period of time. We certainly plan to visit again in the near future. Andy and Mel deserve a 10+!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bev33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Seeking a get-away in South Florida, I "ran" to Mt. Dora - -antiques, shops, quaint shops and B & B's. Decided on Grandview B & B, and was not one bit disappointed !
The innkeepers were delightful - - the accomodations charming, comfortable, relaxing - -
cocktails each night lead to lively discussions, and then dinner at one of the town's delightful restaurants. The Grandview is close to town (3 blocks) and offers several choices of rooms - - one is handicap accessible and/or pet friendly ! and for the long, hot days of summer in Florida - -the pool is very relaxing.

Will definitely return to Grandview and look forward to my return trip.

6  Thank PCFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
958 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
550 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: £123 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Grandview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Grandview Bed And Breakfast Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing