We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch spot in Mt Dora”
Review of The Garden Gate Tea Room - CLOSED

The Garden Gate Tea Room
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Mt Dora, FL
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot in Mt Dora”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Considering I'm in the local area, I have plenty of opportunity to visit this restaurant often. I do this because it is consistently excellent. It has a charming Victorian feel, which lends itself to feel very feminine. But, smart men know not to let it deter them from dining. It's tucked away behind a bougainvillea archway, so don't try to find a building or huge sign. Well worth the find!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flockof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    22
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful place for a girls day out”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very charming place for a lunch with friends. A little on the pricey side but for a special occasion it is worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
1 review
“An amazing memorable experience! A must visit place!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I recently hosted my sisters Bridal Shower at The Garden Gate Tea Room. I cannot believe how absolutely gorgeous this place was. So much detail went into this quaint little restaurant. Everyone loved the ambiance! And did I mention the fantastic food??!! Goodness! The salmon was to die for!
The ladies were just wonderful! They were very attentive to our needs; always checking on us. I couldn't have asked for a better gift for my sister. I would always recommend this place to any ladies having a Bridal Shower. This is a must see place! STUNNING!
I can honestly say I didn't have to do much of anything for this shower BUT I naturally got all the credit from my family and sisters friends. Thanks Garden Gate Tea Room!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must go for Lunch!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went to Garden Gate for lunch with a friend and the food, atmosphere, and tea was fantastic. The iced tea comes in a sugar rimmed glass with free refills. The day I went they had Peach Black Tea & Pomegranate Tea which were both great. For lunch I ordered the Salmon Souffle and it was full of flavor and moist. Even the salad on the side with orange vinaigrette was good. My friend ordered the artichoke kale crust-less quiche and it was the best I've ever tasted. I would definitely recommend this spot to anyone not only for the food but the atmosphere is so quaint and relaxing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie8317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pumpkin cobbler - YUMMY!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My sister and I both ordered the asparagus sandwich with pumpernickel bread which was delicious. Everything in it was fresh. I had the homemade lemon juice and my sister had the cranberry hibiscus iced tea. The glasses had brown sugar encrusted around the edge so it added a little sweetness and crunch. For desert my sister ordered the mint chocolate chip ice cream with chocolate bourbon sauce (Mint Julep). There were no complaints there. I had a pumpkin cobbler, which was not regularly offered, which was absolutely scrumptious! I was so full I could barely get up. I will definitely come back to this restaurant over and over again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Gate Tea Room also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing