We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family cottage and pet friendly too”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremain Street Cottages
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I had some family stay in town and didn't have enough room for them in my house. They stayed here in the first floor Garden Cottage and I stayed a night with them. This is a very roomy cottage with 2 bedrooms, kitchen and table large enough for the family to sit around.
There is also a washer and dryer available and a nice sitting area in the back yard.
This cottage is pet friendly and within walking distance to downtown shopping.
My favorite is the screened in front porch to sit and read or watch people passing by.
I will definitely book this cottage again in the future

Room Tip: No pets or children allowed on second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlefishworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at the Nantucket cottage for three nights in May. We saw all the great comments on TA and were excited to arrive. There were positives and negatives in our stay. First, the good:
The personnel we talked with on the phone during booking and at arrival were most courteous, helpful and friendly. The process was simple and easy and they explained all the items that would be available during our stay. The proximity to downtown Mount Dora is great. Literally a 5 minute walk to the center of town. Parking is off-street and an easy access to the cottage. The AC worked great.
Now, for the not so good: Almost all of the cups, plates and utensils nedded to be washed. The cups in the cupboard had dried coffee rings in the bottom. The sink spigot had a annoying little sideways spray that would spray your shirt or pants everytime the water was turned on. We learned to put our hand over the spout after awhile. The floor was swept, but dirty, especially in the corners. The toilet sits right next to a large drain pipe that makes it difficult to sit straight on the seat ( your left knee hits the pipe). As for the outside, there is an area among the grouping of cottages with some outdoor furniture. However, the cusions were stained and some areas had spider webs. There were cigarette butts about and no grass, but rather stepping stones in the sandy soil.
All these things are trivial and while not enjoyable, wouldn't ruin our stay. The most disturbing find was mouse droppings in the bowls and pans in the cupboard. We wondered if we weren't the only occupants of the cottage.
Maybe because this is the off-season, we just didn't see the best side of the cottages. I would try it once again, but I would stay in a different cottage. Just wanted to pass on our observance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineGuyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tremainstcottages, Owner at Tremain Street Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

At the Tremain Street Cottages we take our customer,s comments very seriously. We appreciate that you would share your valuable time away from home with us and we pride ourselves on our ability to accommodate our guests as our reviews clearly demonstrate. As this reviewer suggests, he would return to stay with us so we are going to facilitate that by offering a gift certificate so that we may have the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to customer satisfaction.

Yours truly,
Tremain Street Cottages management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We booked the Hideaway for an overnight while visiting the quaint town of Mt. Dora and saved $10 just for booking online which was a plus. Mike gave us all the information to get inside our suite earlier than check in time with no problem. The cottages are in the historic district, an easy walk from the main part of town. I am an antique dealer and this place was like going back in time with bead board paneling, extra large kitchen sink with vintage lighting - you get the picture - charming and the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. While the square footage is small, we had all we needed - kitchen table and chairs, full kitchen, loveseat and a chair, TV - even a desk in a nook for your computer. They even provided coffee, cream, sugar, tea, etc. which the month-long condo we had come from did not even include. A plus were floor lamps for reading - most places think all guests do is watch TV. In the back yard, there is a very nice brick patio with wicker seating and a grill which we would have used if we were staying longer. We totally enjoyed our little hideaway.

Room Tip: This is an upstairs unit so not conducive to those who cannot navigate steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VirginiaPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in the Oasis cottage and were so pleased by the decor, location, privacy and ease of check-in with the incredibly helpful innkeepers. I will definitely stay with them again on my next trip to Mount Dora!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our cottage was located an easy walk from the center of Mt. Dora, which was very convenient. When we arrived we called the 800 number and Ana told us how to get into the cottage. Unlike a B&B, the cottages are all separate self-contained units so there are no strangers or hosts to mingle with (thankfully). It had a king-size bed and, since we like to sleep separately, I was happy to note in the website description that the bed could be separated into its two halves. When we arrived we did this ourselves but wondered why there weren't extra sheets. After a call to our host Ana, we learned that, if they know about it ahead of time, they will have the king separated and both halves made up as separate beds. We will know better next time. The cottage had a warmth lacking in hotel rooms. It also had a full kitchen (4-burner range, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and toaster). Going to the local Publix supermarket (a few miles out on US 441) and picking up a few supplies would save lots of money on meals that could easily be prepared in the kitchen. There was also a nice private rear deck with a small table and chairs where one could sit in ones pajamas or even underwear and drink morning coffee while watching the birds and squirrels up in the trees. Mt. Dora is a great little town and we expect to return soon for another Segway tour and boat tour of the lake (Premier tours) and we hope to stay again in the cottage.

One last note -- some of the cottages, including this one, allow pets with an additional fee. I try not to stay in hotels that allow pets because I don't believe they can get them truly clean, but the cottage website claimed that their cleaning process removes "virtually all pet dander" and I decided to believe that. It turned out to be true. There was utterly no odor of animals and no sign of debris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GainesvilleLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had such a nice time! We come to Mount Dora every year and this will not be our last year at the cottages. It felt like home, so inviting, cozy, warm and quiet.
We traveled from Maine and we arrived a day earlier than expected and Hannah was so nice and it was no problem arriving a day early.
While there everything was perfect. I cannot recommend this place enough. We do plan on coming back and plan on staying at the cottages again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was so adorable! Our room was quaint and had an old french decor, very classy and very elegant. The room was super clean and the atmosphere was so cozy! Loved it and would recommend it to anyone visiting Mount Dora!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
964 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison en Ville
Maison en Ville
#7 of 11 in Mount Dora
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremain Street Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremain Street Cottages

Address: 615 N Tremain St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5652
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Dora
Price Range: £98 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in privacy and comfort one block from all of the action in downtown Mount Dora. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremain Street Cottages Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing