We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food.....Mt. Dora construction”
Review of One Flight Up

One Flight Up
Ranked #9 of 116 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food.....Mt. Dora construction”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

so we went here for lunch.....cute place, up the stairs, try to figure out where your going, once you do, sit down and take it in. This place is like someone's house with different rooms to sit in. Since downtown Mt. Dora is under hard core construction right now, it might not be a good idea to sit outside on the balcony. The view ( when no construction) is nice, cute and quaint but w construction it is dusty, noisy and Its better to eat inside. I had to laugh b/c as we at there was one couple on the balcony and then as they ate, right next to them, the excavator lifted up to dig, and it was eye level with them as they ate.....awkward! LOL.....anyway, back to the food....the strawberry lemonade is very good...all the sandwiches were great, the food was portioned nicely and the service was a little slow but good. The one guy who was taking care of us was doing multiple things. We were not in a rush so we could enjoy our conversation over dessert.

I would eat here again, even with the construction...we need to support our small, local businesses. The summer is normally a slow time but now, it is almost impossible with the roads blocked.

I hope this helps you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jullliette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    164
    36
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky and neat place for late night”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped in for late-night dessert. You do go up a flight of stairs, and it is a bit confusing when you get to the top. When you get to the top, you are on a very narrow landing with rooms off to each side of you. Was a little hard at first to figure out where to sit or go and there was no one there to guide you. We had wanted to sit outside on the balcony, and did finally ask someone who told us it was fine to seat ourselves. Black, wrought iron balcony with strings of lights around. Kinda reminds you of places in New Orleans. We had dessert and coffee which was great. Had the brownie sundae, which comes in a large bowl and is big enough for two to share. Also had the carrot cake which was great. Apparently some of the cakes are on display in the main room....wish the server had pointed this out to us because sometimes it is hard to decide based on a menu....wished he would have said they were available to preview. Service was fine..even though it was late when we arrived....waiter quiet but polite. Cost of dessert was $5.95 each. There was also live music by way of guitar singer/soloist. Since the balcony is up high over the street, it was nice view and location to side and unwind a bit. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pupspals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Place to End you Day in Mount Dora”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The balcony seating is a great place to watch the world go by below in Mount Dora. The service we had was excellent. We had wine and a couple of appetizers. The cheese and onion dip was very good. The servers were polite and helpful, they even brought us extra crackers and veggies for the cheese dip. The wine was good, although the wine list is not extensive.

One Flight Up is a great place to hang-out, have a couple of drinks and relax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breakpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rude owner and Mother of owner”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have been to One Flight Up today. Served by curly haired owner who was awful, she is rude and obviously hates her job with a vengeance, The drinks we had were banged down on the table and the Mother served our food with a very bad attitude, I had the cheek to ask for some salad dressing which was met with a roll of the eyes. No refills were offered, the food was good but not exceptional. The whole place could do with a clean up to be honest the lampshade had a fur coat of dust on it and the toilets were pretty grimy. Shall not be revisiting due to the bad customer service and attitude.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandofanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we had a place like this in my hometown”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great coffeehouse atmosphere, lots of different rooms to sit and chat, sip a beverage, enjoy the music. The upstairs patio overlooks historic Mount Dora. Yummy desserts and great coffee, friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Flight Up also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to One Flight Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing