We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home!!!”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton Manors, Florida
1 review
“Our Second Home!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Farnsworth "Home" House in Mt. Dora!
The reason I added "Home" is because it was just like being at home!
The innkeepers, Kim and Soren, made us feel like one of their family. They have a book with the history of the home, built Circa 1873 and they really want you to know and love their "home" as much as they do!
The Farnsworth House was extremely clean, and the property was well manicured...over all...only kudos to such a beautiful home.
Feeling that we "owned" the home, we poured a glass of wine and sat in the screened in porch upon returning from dinner and just relaxed!
Both days our breakfast was excellent and we felt like "Kings and Queens" while Kim and Soren made sure that our every "want" was fulfilled! We can NOT say enough about The Farnsworth House and are already planning our next trip!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
122
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I recently stayed at Farnsworth House and really liked the accomodations. I moved from another B & B due to a very bad experience and the Farnsworth innkeepers took me in with no reservation or advance notice. They immediately made me feel welcome and comfortable. The home is clean and updated. The innkeepers, Kim and Soren were so pleasant, perfectly attentive while at the same time allowing for our privacy. Would highly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we had a terrible experience at unnamed bed and breakfast. I was desperate to find another place. Farnsworth House was recommend to us and was the best thing to happen on our trip. Kim and Soren were great. It was decorated very nicely, clean, and we had robes and slippers in the closet for us.They even had snacks in the room! I brought bottle of wine; they let us use their wine opener and wine glasses. Breakfast was great. I guess the best way to sum it all up, is you felt like you were a special guest in someones house. I have to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wonderful, Attentive Service at this Charming B&B - Kim & Soren paid attention to all the details. Every room, from the parlor, to dining room, our bedroom & even the bit of the kitchen we peeked into are immaculate! Stayed in the Bamboo room on the first floor. It was perfect for a mother & daughter exploring Mt. Dora.
The location is perfect: close enough to walk to dinner & poke around town and just far enough away to provide a restful retreat to start or end your day.
We highly recommend staying at Farnsworth House with Kim & Soren. You'll have a wonderful & generous breakfast and you'll begin looking forward to your next stay before you even leave.

Room Tip: My mom & I traveled together & stayed in the Bamboo Room. It was perfect. We each had our o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I recently stayed at Farnsworth House for 4 days and very much enjoyed my stay. Owners delightful and very accommodating. The inn is very clean and comfortable located in a residential setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping and restaurants. Kim suggested I visit the Palm Island Park in town and it was amazing. Be sure to visit. I would definitely return and stay there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in the carriage house for 3 nights and enjoyed 3 wonderful breakfasts! There was a menu provided each evening so that you could choose from a variety of breakfast items for the next morning. The kitchenette was an added bonus with complimentary snacks. There were plush white bath robes and new white slippers provided. Each day we would arrive to a freshly made bed, replenished snacks, a clean kitchen and fresh towels. The bathroom was on the smaller side, but the gracious hosts, cozy quarters, beautiful landscaping and the quaint feel of the home made it a wonderful stay. Thank you Soren and Kim ~ you were most gracious! Jesse & Heather

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

wonderful place to stay. owner were on site every day making sure we had everything we needed. we stayed in the azeala suite and it was beautiful, nice porch outside very roomy. bed was little on the stiff side

Room Tip: azeala or canary are both great.. however on our stay there was no tv in the azeala,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
524 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Property: Farnsworth House
Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing