We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lucky find-a real Gem!”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #5 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“What a lucky find-a real Gem!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A late change of plans for New Years Eve: We just decided to join friends to ring in the New Year and not have to drive! We booked as late as December 28th.
On arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Kim and Soren and their genuine warmth remained throughout our short stay.
Our room was as lovely as it looked on their website. They were very considerate of the kinds of breakfast foods we we would or would not eat and the excellent breakfast was congenial and relaxed. We highly recommend this lovingly-cared-for old Florida Inn.

Room Tip: WE preferred rooms in the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
117
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A last minute decision to get away in the middle of December for my birthday was much more pleasant and enjoyable than expected, most certainly due to the warmth and kindness shown by hosts Kim and Soren! Their eagerness to please in all aspects of our stay - from the delightful rooms, restaurant recommendations/reservations and activities to the lovely and generously portioned breakfasts - made our visit (and my birthday) to Mt. Dora a very special one! Thanks Kim & Soren!!!

Room Tip: If available, the suites would be a good first choice. Both have balconies w/tables & chairs, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Kim and Soren are very lovely and gracious hosts, warm and welcoming, effortlessly accommodating! Reasonable rates, great breakfast, beautiful house and grounds, perfect location and a quick walk to town. I rate Farnsworth House a Top Pick!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

the two of us travel often. our weekend stay was one of the best ever. our hosts, kim & soren, made us feel like true guests in their home. the accommodations were wonderful, quaint, exceptionally clean & breakfast was even customized to meet certain dietary restrictions.
can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agarf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Although I think you'd be hardpressed to find a bad place in Mt Dora, especially around Christmas - I'd highly recommend this B&B. New owners are ridiculously eager to please. They are so helpful in every possible way. They've renovated & continue to improve. It's clean, neat, reasonably priced and worth a repeat visit. If I had to say one negative it would be that there isn't much of a choice for breakfast. What they served was beyond plentiful and tasted great. I, personally, tend to look for a little something extra/different at a B&B - rather than the usual scrambled eggs, etc. It seemed everyone that was there was very pleased. I would stay there again & again.

Room Tip: It seems that staying in the big house rather than the back rooms was the way to go, but I'd sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautiful grounds, pretty and quiet rooms, great people who run this place. Great breakfast choices with the freshest fruits, etc. Located just off the main street area enough to be quiet but within a walk of downtown. Highly recommend. Reasonable rates as well.

Room Tip: Prefer the bigger rooms in the main house with outside terrace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at the Farnsworth House last night. The price was reasonable. The room was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable. They served a late breakfast for me and the other runners who ran in the half marathon, along with the family members. The breakfast was delicious and they allowed us to check out late which was very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedrunner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.5 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Property: Farnsworth House
Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing