We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay in February. The accommodation is spotless, comfortable and quite charming. The owners, Kim and Soren, went out of their way to attend to all our needs - they were friendly, courteous and thoughtful. Excellent breakfasts, perfect location (Mount Dora is a little gem of a place) made it a thoroughly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

After a week at Farnsworth House, we were sad to return to the midwest. (Of course, FL weather compared to the midwest winter of 2014 was part of our reluctance to leave.) But beyond that, the hospitality, the comfortable accommodations, and custom breakfasts made us feel very special. We loved our second floor suite with the screened in porch off the sitting room which made for easy entertaining of friends who were also visiting Mt Dora. The accommodations were very clean, the bed comfortable, lighting good for reading, the kitchenette well-stocked with complimentary snacks and beverages, the ample breakfasts custom made for each guest, taking into account not only likes and dislikes but allergies as well. But the greatest perk of the Farnsworth House are the owners, Kim and Soren, who are such an endearing and helpful couple. We knew nothing about Mt Dora before our visit but their willingness to share information, offer suggestions about what to see and do, where to dine, made everyday an adventure. We came as strangers, left as friends, and have no hesitations about recommending the Farnsworth House to any and all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiGi1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just spent a night at the Farnsworth House in Mt. Dora, FL. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious thanks to the very friendly and helpful innkeepers, Kim and Soren.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room which provided two beds which accommodated our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I called 3 B & Bs in Mt. Dora. Kim was the only one that answered the phone and was very helpful. I had looked at the rooms on line and decided on the carriage house. Kim was very accommodating and I looked forward to meeting her.

Very easy to find, right turn off the main road into Mt. Dora. Plenty of parking. Soren, man of the house, was soo helpful. He got my bags out of the car and showed me to my room.
This one had a little kitchenette with a refrid. micro sink and coffee maker.

My friend arrived shortly after and we walked to Mt. Dora .. only 5 blocks.
Kim had given us some suggestion on where to eat and we enjoyed one of them

It is a quiet neighborhood and we had a restful sleep.
Breakfast was great. She does make the best pancakes ever. Fresh Fruit, Juice, Coffee
It was delightful. We also got a quick history on the Farnsworth House and enjoyed the entire experience so much we booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Main house has lovely rooms. if you just want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our visit to Mt. Dora for the art festival and a sailing regatta in Eustis this past weekend couldn't have been better. It turned out that the highlight of our trip was staying at the Farnsworth House. Our large suite on the second floor was a complete surprise with it's open, airy, clean and bright rooms. Kim and Sarin, the innkeeps were the best. He is from Sweden and she from Jamaica, apparently the perfect combination for the job. We have already booked a return visit in March.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask if you have a special request. My husband needed to be at the sailing club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I, along with another couple, decided to spend the weekend in Mt. Dora. The couple that traveled with us had been in Mt. Dora to ring in the New Year and wanted to go right back. I suggested staying in a B&B instead of the Lakeside Inn, which they stayed at for New Year's. I found Farnsworth House via TripAdvisor and decided to give it a shot. What a great decision that was.

Once we arrived, and knocked on the front door, we were warmly greeted by Kim. Now, this was before our check-in time and Kim said our rooms weren't ready yet. She did spend several minutes telling us lots of useful information about which places to visit and which places to eat at.

Later on in the afternoon we returned and were shown our rooms, which were located in the Carriage House to the rear of the property. Soren gave us a very thorough walk-through during which I noticed how clean everything was. We were staying in the Golf room while our friends were staying in the Grapefruit Room. Soren pointed out how the noisy "window shaker" a/c units had been replaced with much quieter, wall mounted, remote controlled split system air conditioners. Being able to control the temperature right from bed was very convenient.

As night fell we decided to light up the outdoor fireplace located just outside our rooms. I noticed there wasn't a lot of fire wood to burn. It was more like scraps of wood baseboards. My only wish is that there was a stack of real fire wood. Luckily we were only sitting there for about 30 minutes. Any longer and we would have run out of wood pieces. Hopefully Kim and Soren will find a local supplier to buy a good amount of fire wood to have on hand for guests.

In the morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast, cooked up and served by Kim and Soren. Coffee, tea, orange juice, strawberry yogurt, fruit cocktail, spinach quiche, and many more tasty items made for a wonderful start to the day. I even had a piece of rib eye steak left over from the previous night which Kim so graciously warmed up in the oven and brought to the table for me.

After breakfast, Kim and Soren gave us a tour of the main house while telling us some history of the place. They were very patient and courteous the entire time. Truly spectacular hosts.

We then went back to our rooms in the carriage house, packed up and loaded the car. We made one final stop in the main house to turn in our keys. Saying goodbye to Kim and Soren felt like we were saying goodbye to family.

This was our first time to Mt. Dora, and the Farnsworth House, but it definitely won't be our last. We're very much looking forward to returning to both.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Carriage House were very quiet, but had some light coming in from an exterior light sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A late change of plans for New Years Eve: We just decided to join friends to ring in the New Year and not have to drive! We booked as late as December 28th.
On arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Kim and Soren and their genuine warmth remained throughout our short stay.
Our room was as lovely as it looked on their website. They were very considerate of the kinds of breakfast foods we we would or would not eat and the excellent breakfast was congenial and relaxed. We highly recommend this lovingly-cared-for old Florida Inn.

Room Tip: WE preferred rooms in the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
566 reviews
5.7 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Maison en Ville
Maison en Ville
#7 of 11 in Mount Dora
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: £104 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing