We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service...”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service...”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Kim and Soren are fabulous! They made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay. We stayed in the Carriage House which was very nice and private. The room was comfortably appointed. Unfortunately for us the bed was uncomfortable but we did not say anything since we really did not want to change rooms and would only be there a couple of nights. The bathroom was a bit small but more than serviceable. Each night we were provided a menu for the next morning's breakfast which ranged from juices, fresh fruit, breads, cereal, yogurt and a hot dish which changed from day to day. A very comfortable stay, close to the downtown Mount Dora area and conveniently located for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvchoctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
122
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SARASOTA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Last minute plans to Leesburg had us scrambling for a room. Called Farnsworth House and Kim made sure we were taken care of. This old charming spotlessly clean B&B was the perfect place for our weekend. The breakfast was delicious and more than we expected. Absolutely recommend staying there. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room had a kitchen with full size refrigerator. We really didn't need it but it was there. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Farnsworth House in Mount Dora with another couple. Kim and Soren are fantastic hosts and very warm and welcoming; we really felt at home here. The home and landscape are beautiful and relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Snacks are left in the rooms along with bottled water. Kim provides and cooks a delicious and filling breakfast. Downtown is only a 1 minute drive or 10 min walk away and there is plenty of things to do within walking distance of the house too. We will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Farnsworth House in Mount Dora.. What a treat! Kim and Soren were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, relaxing and refreshing. We loved filling out our requests the night before and seeing them perfectly executed the morning after. The snacks left in the rooms were a nice treat as well. The property was beautifully landscaped and downtown was only a 1 minute drive or 10 min walk away. Be sure to visit this inn the next time you are in town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeaKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I are celebrating our 50th anniversary this year and started it out by going to Mt. Dora. We stayed at the Farnsworth House one night in April. It was just the best get-away ever! The hosts, Soren and Kim were so gracious and made us feel at home the minute we drove in the driveway. Soren was right there to help take our belongings to our little "house" and the hospitality didn't stop there. Our room was immaculate and had everything to keep us comfortable including a basket of snacks, soda and water in the refrigerator. The beds were cozy and we were provided with robes and slippers to help make our stay comfy! We had a wonderful breakfast in the morning home cooked by Kim. We couldn't ask for anything better. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanover
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for one night in February. Farnsworth house is just a 10-minute stroll to the lake and downtown of lovely Mt. Dora. The home was spotless, and the hosts were amazing. No one could have tried harder to make our stay better. The room had a basket of snacks and water, a closet with robes and slippers, toiletries tied with ribbons. Our full breakfast was presented in a large, beautiful old room with fresh flowers on the table, soft music playing, homegrown oranges and grapefruits, and such personal attention. Kim and Soren shared their lives with us. We were quite touched and appreciative, and we wholeheartedly recommend Farnsworth House.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay in February. The accommodation is spotless, comfortable and quite charming. The owners, Kim and Soren, went out of their way to attend to all our needs - they were friendly, courteous and thoughtful. Excellent breakfasts, perfect location (Mount Dora is a little gem of a place) made it a thoroughly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
524 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Property: Farnsworth House
Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing