We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've been really good”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could've been really good”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Old quaint hotel in a great setting in the downtown historical section across from a pretty lake. The furnishing were a tad sparse in the room. The room was good sized with a large walk-in closet and large bathroom. That said, it needed another nightstand at least. The furnishings were "antiquey", but not necessarily antiques. The one nightstand and the one small wicker corner shelf in the bathroom needed some repair. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. If the room was better appointed it would have been a better than pleasant stay. It could been a "tell your friends and neighbors" stay.
We stayed during one of their busiest weekends of the year...the October Craft Show. Because of this, breakfast and lunch were buffets in their restaurants. This was too bad as I had been looking forward to their breakfast menu.
Their staff were all fantastic...in particular, the night maintenance man Tommy, and a very sweet UCF sophomore in the Beauclerc dining room (I'm sorry that I forgot her name, but she is a Hospitality major with fair skin and brown hair). Everyone greeted you and was friendly.
I give the room a three, but the staff deserve a five. But the room was too much to overcome to rate it an average of four...three it is

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fishfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    279
    139
    123
    147
See reviews for
180
446
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I had a three day stay at the Lakeside Inn. It was a quint hotel. Staff was very good in our eyes. The grounds and lake view was beautiful.
We had a great time at the Inn's lounge, especially on Irish night. The bartender, Janet was great and funny, as were the young men assisting the lounge area too. We would return to Lakeside in the future.
Only problems were the flying bugs as you enter your hallway to go to our rooms. Need to spray the area. The street contruction was also a pain but that of course was no fault of the Inn. What was great was there was no parking fees anywhere.
Our room had that historic feeling. It was clean and comfortable to sleep.
We recommend the Lakeside Inn to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently visited this hotel with another couple and stayed 3 nights. This is our second trip and their 8th. The resort is charming and beautiful. It is the most relaxing escape we have ever experienced. The renovations are coming along very well. We stayed in the Gables part of the hotel and our room was great! The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. The only issue we had was with the restaurant staff. The hotel was sold out and the restaurant was understaffed and they seemed to lack experience. I am in the travel industry and I understand that a sold out situation is difficult to handle, but the staff was overwhelmed. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to our next yearly visit. By the way, Sabrina...you were right about the room 7118...LOL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lakeside Inn is an ancient hotel, founded in the the 1880s. It is situated right on a lake and has amazing views. I love the history and the feel of the place. You can sit on the porch in one of the 15 rocking chairs with a drink from the bar watching the egrets on the lawn and enjoying the sunset over the lake. Our room was on the end of the building with huge bay windows with lake views. The relaxed ambience recalls earlier days when you spent time talking to people instead of texting them. You would not call this a 5 star chain hotel and don't go there if you want modern. Yes there are things that need seeing to, but so would you if you were over 120 years old! The hotel is in the process of extensive renovation and I was able to see the new rooms, which are splendid and beautifully kitted out. The new owners were on site the entire time during our 2 day stay and they and their work crews never stopped.
There are four major buildings, including the oldest section which has a restaurant, bar and large hall with a baby grand piano. There is also a large pool, which is not heated but very clean and inviting. (By the way, they also do weddings) Being in the middle of the town means you park your car and then walk to the charming little shops. It is very easy to spend 2 days, but three is better. The staff is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all a wonderful getaway for me and my sister visiting from California. She loved it, too.

Room Tip: Get a room at the lake end of the buildings or one with a balcony. It is fun to stay in Calvin Cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheleielliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Historic should not be an excuse for lack of cleanliness or maintenance. The room was run down, and the had a musty smell of dampness. There was a portable LG a/c unit in the room next to the bed connected to a silver exhaust duct that goes to the window, that is patched to keep it from falling out. Neither the room nor the hotel is really handicap accessible, We had to collapse the wheelchair to get it through the handicap door from the ramp that is built in the rear of the building because the second door was stuck closed. Most of the area requires lifting the wheelchair over the ramps that are no where flush with the pavement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkimbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Dora hotels

Morganton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is known as the oldest operational hotel in Florida. Calvin Coolidge stayed at this hotel in 1930. We stayed in the suite that he and his wife stayed in. The grounds are beautiful as well as the buildings and the view of the lake. Keep in mind that this is a really old hotel. The building that we stayed in had a strong "old" odor. It needs some updating and I understand that the new owners have been doing some updates. The carpet and tub needs replacing in the building and room we were in. The main house lobby is beautiful. The staff here were outstanding and went above and beyond to help us in any way they could. The breakfast in their restaurant was very good. The breakfast potatoes were outstanding. The hotel location is great for walking around town or just enjoying the lake and pool. There is a nice boat tour that boards in front of the hotel's pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracieballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I really did love this old quaint inn. Pictures framed throughout the buildings show what the inn looked like in the 1800's. The grounds are fabulous with the flowers and palms, green grass and Mount Dora. The main building, lobby and restaurant has a huge deck facing the lake. You can sit in the white rocking chairs and watch the gorgeous sunsets. A long dock with large deck leads out to the lake for sitting in the evenings and enjoying the evening dusk. Close your eyes and you can imagine yourself being there when it was built. Being there during the off season we did not spend time in the restaurant/lounge but the lobby was beautiful with the old piano, antique furniture and complete feeling of being there in another time.
When we went into our building and saw the long hallways and winding stairs we became very exited to see where we would be staying. We entered our room which was nicely painted and vey bright yet calm. We loved all the old fixtures in the bathroom and the old locks and knobs. The sick was a standard white basin with the old faucets. We had very nice linens...these were modern. Upon entering the building we definitely did notice immediately the smell of musty mildew. At first it just fit right in with the ambiance of it all. After unpacking and settling in I developed a terrible headache. We left the room to go out and explore some of the small town shops. As soon as we were back in the room the headache returned....I knew, it was the mildew.
We went down to the front desk and explained the problem. The girl was very understanding and showed us 4 other rooms. One had even a worse musty smell, the second had an older air conditioner and the room was very hat, the third room was very nice but was on the 2 nd floor of another building on the 2 nd floor and we were too tired to move that far. The room we settled on had less of a musty but we used some Febreze which really helped. We continued on with our two night stay despite my headache because the good did out weigh the bad.
I would tell anyone wanting to stay at the Lakeside Inn, to be prepared for the smell, especially if you are sensitive to smells or allergic to mold, as I am.
There is a huge refurbishing going on, hope this will help with the issues because this place is a wonderful off the beaten path place to stay.

I am only giving an average on cleanliness because there is dirt & cob webs especially between the double paned windows. There are also some areas of dried dust and dirt in corners. To some people this may be considered dirty and unacceptable but as the owner of an older home I understand that this just comes with the territory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaritaville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
530 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora
Lakeside Inn Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing