We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, shabby hotel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Villelongue d'Aude
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, shabby hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in October 2013. When we arrived there was a festival of sorts happening in the grounds so we had to park some way away. This meant hauling our luggage over gravel which is not easy. Our room was large and overlooked the lake which is very beautiful. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I know that, for Americans, anything oldish is quaint or antique, but my house in the UK is far older than this and in much better condition. The hotel smelt damp, paint peeling and in the closet the plaster was falling off the wall. The windows are metal framed and furnished with unattractive venetian blinds. AND there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Mount Dora itself is very, very lovely. Lots of restaurants and nice shops. We had a wonderful evening at Pisces Rising with great food and a fabulous band. Nearby is Renninger's antique fair which is fantastic and was our main reason for visiting the area. Whilst my husband checked out of the hotel, I once again hauled the luggage to the car park ( my husband had hurt his back by the way, which was why I did all the carrying). Not an offer of help by anyone. I will definitely visit Mount Dora again but I will stay in another hotel. I did not go into the main part of the hotel so perhaps it's nicer in there. But I would recommend they provide tea and coffee for the money charged.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    263
    130
    117
    142
See reviews for
171
418
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was my third year staying at the Lakeside Inn in Mt Dora for the fall Craft Fest the end of October. The hotel staff (especially Sabrina Law) were exceptional and make our stays wonderful. So very knowledgeable and helpfull and make us feel like family the entire time that your there. The Inn is located in the perfect spot for walking throughout the town to all the shops, restaurants and wine shops. What a wonderful and relaxing view of the lake on the Inns grounds. Thank you again for the funny times that you wonderfull memories that you have made for us. Char Kimpel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Old quaint hotel in a great setting in the downtown historical section across from a pretty lake. The furnishing were a tad sparse in the room. The room was good sized with a large walk-in closet and large bathroom. That said, it needed another nightstand at least. The furnishings were "antiquey", but not necessarily antiques. The one nightstand and the one small wicker corner shelf in the bathroom needed some repair. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. If the room was better appointed it would have been a better than pleasant stay. It could been a "tell your friends and neighbors" stay.
We stayed during one of their busiest weekends of the year...the October Craft Show. Because of this, breakfast and lunch were buffets in their restaurants. This was too bad as I had been looking forward to their breakfast menu.
Their staff were all fantastic...in particular, the night maintenance man Tommy, and a very sweet UCF sophomore in the Beauclerc dining room (I'm sorry that I forgot her name, but she is a Hospitality major with fair skin and brown hair). Everyone greeted you and was friendly.
I give the room a three, but the staff deserve a five. But the room was too much to overcome to rate it an average of four...three it is

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fishfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I had a three day stay at the Lakeside Inn. It was a quint hotel. Staff was very good in our eyes. The grounds and lake view was beautiful.
We had a great time at the Inn's lounge, especially on Irish night. The bartender, Janet was great and funny, as were the young men assisting the lounge area too. We would return to Lakeside in the future.
Only problems were the flying bugs as you enter your hallway to go to our rooms. Need to spray the area. The street contruction was also a pain but that of course was no fault of the Inn. What was great was there was no parking fees anywhere.
Our room had that historic feeling. It was clean and comfortable to sleep.
We recommend the Lakeside Inn to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently visited this hotel with another couple and stayed 3 nights. This is our second trip and their 8th. The resort is charming and beautiful. It is the most relaxing escape we have ever experienced. The renovations are coming along very well. We stayed in the Gables part of the hotel and our room was great! The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. The only issue we had was with the restaurant staff. The hotel was sold out and the restaurant was understaffed and they seemed to lack experience. I am in the travel industry and I understand that a sold out situation is difficult to handle, but the staff was overwhelmed. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to our next yearly visit. By the way, Sabrina...you were right about the room 7118...LOL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lakeside Inn is an ancient hotel, founded in the the 1880s. It is situated right on a lake and has amazing views. I love the history and the feel of the place. You can sit on the porch in one of the 15 rocking chairs with a drink from the bar watching the egrets on the lawn and enjoying the sunset over the lake. Our room was on the end of the building with huge bay windows with lake views. The relaxed ambience recalls earlier days when you spent time talking to people instead of texting them. You would not call this a 5 star chain hotel and don't go there if you want modern. Yes there are things that need seeing to, but so would you if you were over 120 years old! The hotel is in the process of extensive renovation and I was able to see the new rooms, which are splendid and beautifully kitted out. The new owners were on site the entire time during our 2 day stay and they and their work crews never stopped.
There are four major buildings, including the oldest section which has a restaurant, bar and large hall with a baby grand piano. There is also a large pool, which is not heated but very clean and inviting. (By the way, they also do weddings) Being in the middle of the town means you park your car and then walk to the charming little shops. It is very easy to spend 2 days, but three is better. The staff is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all a wonderful getaway for me and my sister visiting from California. She loved it, too.

Room Tip: Get a room at the lake end of the buildings or one with a balcony. It is fun to stay in Calvin Cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micheleielliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Historic should not be an excuse for lack of cleanliness or maintenance. The room was run down, and the had a musty smell of dampness. There was a portable LG a/c unit in the room next to the bed connected to a silver exhaust duct that goes to the window, that is patched to keep it from falling out. Neither the room nor the hotel is really handicap accessible, We had to collapse the wheelchair to get it through the handicap door from the ramp that is built in the rear of the building because the second door was stuck closed. Most of the area requires lifting the wheelchair over the ramps that are no where flush with the pavement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkimbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Dora hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
9.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora
Lakeside Inn Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing