We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The grounds and venues were very nice, but value for room was way below par.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The grounds and venues were very nice, but value for room was way below par.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The grounds and landscaping were amazing. The location was also amazing for access to many shops and restaurants. The only thing was the rooms need major updating. I felt as if I was staying at a motel 6 in 1970.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klawrence120697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    267
    134
    119
    142
See reviews for
172
426
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely view and landscaping. also the buildings are real pretty from the outside. Stayed there a few times years ago and was in better shape. Had drinks and appetizers on the porch and the tabelcloths were very old, worn and dirty. The porch need a good sweeping. The food in the dining
room was at best OK. This could be one of the nicest places to spend a relaxing time if it was cleaned up and updated. Love Mt Dora and will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you have not been to Mout Dora and live within a few hours drive you need to go. What a great quaint town. We stayed at Lakeside Inn and everything is within walking distance. We only stayed one night but plan on going back often now that we've been there. The room was spacious and we were in the Sunset building which has been renovated. Ask for a renovated room when you book - I hear that is best since they are still working on the renovation. But no noise, no issues with whatever renovations being done. Janet in the bar is fantastic as was the wait staff for our Sunday brunch! Take the food tour of Mt. Dora - the couple that runs that are adorable and a great way to see a lot of places. Dinner at Goblin Market was ok. My filet had too much going on but everything else was good. Don't forget to stop by Norm's for a glass of wine and a hug! So much to do there and can't wait to get back to the Inn!

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings so ask for a renovated room and if you can get it, a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st pete
Level Contributor
176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent Thanksgiving evening at the Inn. It's a beautiful old place. I can see how it would be nice there year-round. We were there on a rather cool night and there were folks sitting around a fire outside of the gift shop. There are a row of rocking chairs on the porch of the Inn that allows you to enjoy the view of the lake and the sunset. There were a couple of airplanes that landed on the lake that evening as well, and pulled up to the beach. The room in which we stayed was nice - but certainly not mind-blowing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, so what more can you really say, except..... the shower. That water shot out of that thing like the good old days before water conservation LOL..... Like a waterfall of warm, relaxing water. No dancing under the shower nozzle just trying to get wet like in most modern places. It was awesome.

Room Tip: The stairs are a little creaky to the second floor so you might want to stay away from those rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPeteRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I would rate the location a 5. Sitting on the porch looking at the water was fabulous. We loved the rocking chairs and porches on the front of the rooms. Free breakfast was included with our room and it was excellent, but my sister booked her room through Expedia instead of directly through the hotel and paid more but received no free breakfast coupons. She asked at the desk about this especially since we had paid less for our room, but they wouldn't budge.
The lobby is locked until about 6 a.m. so if you are an early riser, you have to hope someone is at the desk to open up for you. They were very accommodating.
The rooms were okay - I'd give them a 3, but our first room smelled so badly of mold or mustiness that I had a headache after 20 minutes in the room. You couldn't open the windows, so there was no way to eliminate the problem. They did move us to another building and even helped us move our luggage. The smell was fine, but it was a much smaller room. Every thing was clean except that we never got clean glasses in the room until the last day. We were pretty happy with it overall. It was cozy and we could walk into town since it was so close. They had a wheelchair at the desk, so we were able to wheel our mother downtown so she could enjoy the delightful city also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is our second time staying at Lakeside Inn and it won't be our last. The Inn is situated on beautiful Lake Dora and is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants located in lovely downtown Mount Dora. The staff at the Inn makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door. Sabrina, at the front desk/hospitality is awesome. She is friendly, kind and makes you feel like family. We are looking forward to returning to Lakeside Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room was very clean w/hardwood floors. The bed was comfortable. The shower/bath area was very spacious and a HUGE walk-in closet. there were a few things I missed that are usually provided for in a hotel room including: no clock radio, no table & chairs as show in the photos, no hair dryer, no micowave, no ice bucket? It was very convenient to the events (boat races) that were going on for the weekend as we just had to cross the street. We had a complimentary breakfast at Al's landing which was very good. The staff was very nice and helpful on helping us set the air conditioner. Will probably stay there again next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#3 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora
Lakeside Inn Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing