We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Inn for History and Good Food”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Appreciation for old times is part of any meal at the Inn in Mt. Dora. Looking out at Lake Dora after dinner and sitting on he front porch are a perfect way to end any day. Room are comfortable and Quiet.

Room Tip: Go to one of the out buildings away from the main hall for a bed and breakfast feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Inn the week of the July 21st, 2014. This hotel cannot be beat for location and atmosphere. It is literally right in the middle of the heart of Mt. Dora, and its location is perfect for walking to all of the restaurants and shops in town.....could not be easier to walk out of your hotel and around the town. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and it is right on the lake, and there is a lovely, large wooden deck built out over the lake that you can walk to and sit in one of the chairs and enjoy the view. As others have mentioned, it is very old, and historic, and has a very large veranda outside the main front building with rocking chairs to enjoy the scene. My only actual complaint during my stay was the electrical outlet in the bathroom over the sink did not work. I reported it to the front desk, but no one ever came to repair it....and they seemd a bit lackadaisacal about it. There was another outlet by the bathtub, and while this worked for plugging in cell phones, etc, it certainly was not a convenient location for make-up application, shaving, etc where a mirror is needed.

This is not the place to stay if you are looking for ultra-modern, or contemporary accomodations. There are no gleaming dark-wood furniture, no refrigerators, microwaves or coffee makers in the room. No ultra-sleek flat screen TV's with high-def, no USB ports, etc. There is no wifi access in the rooms, however we were able to access the wifi in the main building and front porch. The king room we had was on the smaller size, but suited our needs, and it came with one wicker chair and one round table. An older wood armoire held the tv (with enough channel chocies), and it had two nightstands. There was a large closet with ironing board and iron, and luggage rack. There are exposed pipe fixtures in the ceiling of the room and bathroom. The bathroom was very large with pedestal sink, and a very old wooden cabinet with small mirror above the sink, and the bathroom had a window. The tub was very old and so was the floor, with the hexagon-shaped small floor tiles reminiscent of the past. As large as the bathroom was, it needed more counter space. There was plenty of room for them to have added some sort of small table in the bathroom to give you a place to lay things. Also, if you are freaked out by bugs, beware.... we did have a very, small salamander in the bathtub one night, and a spider on the wall of the room, so if those kinds of things bother you, this is not the place. Remember, the building is very old and this did not surprise me or bother me. The a/c in the room is fantastic--it will blow you out!, but the hallways are NOT air-conditioned, so beware. Also, there are no stairs, so if that is an issue make plans to stay on a ground floor. The rooms have the old-fashioned wooden panel doors that you see from the 1920's--no high-tech entry/security doors----and as such, noises from the hallwaycan be an issue. During our stay the building was quiet, except for the maids. When they come---you are up :). Also, if you like to sleep in or have a dark room in the morning, forget it. The room had blinds, no curtains, so when the sun comes up it floods the room with light--ok if you are a morning person, but not so great if you are a night-owl. The kind bed oddly enough had standard-size pillows, and I thought they could have used king-size, but again, a small issue unless that bothers you. Just keep in mind that the hotel is very old and is decorated accordingly.

We did eat lunch on the veranda, and as the front desk gave us a $10 dining credit to use, our lunch for two was only $18. The chicken pot-pie is wonderful! Waiter staff was poite, but not overly friendly initially, but did warm up as our meal went on. The inside check-in area in the main building was beautiful and warm with wood floors and antiques. Dogs are allowed and we saw a couple of dogs roaming around (which I loved as an animal lover :)).

We will definitely stay here again as we loved the pretty and relaxing atmosphere and location. I had read the previous reviews, so was aware of what to expect. Just know what's important to you and plan accordingly. I believe the owners are doing their best to keep the hotel in character of the area and the grounds are just lovely. Worth a walk around even if you don't stay there!

Room Tip: Next time I would choose a room that overlooks the lake, and choose the top-most floor as you will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank pupspals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As you enter the Lakeside Inn the scent and look of over a century ago are evident. Reminiscent of the Estes Park, Colorado hotel where the "Shining" was filmed, it's full of atmosphere, age and appeal. A beautiful bulding with flower gardens and Spanish moss dripping from the giant oak trees. On a hot day in July, the dim air conditioned Tremain's Tavern, right off the lobby, offered respite on more than one occasion. Have a drink and listen to the piano player inside or take your drink to the row of rockers overlooking a vast courtyard where a great band played throughout this Saturday evening and street vendors set up for a few hours then vanished. The rooms are definitely old, but the beds comfortable with good sheets and the air conditioner worked so well we had to turn it down in the middle of the night. The Inn is at the end of a busy touristy street, somewhat removed from the fray, but only a walk away from shops, other restaurants and a train ride. This is the oldest continuously-operated hotel in Florida. (And the pool is huge, just the right temp, and has a fabulous view of the lake!) The hotel is reputed to be haunted by Al Capone & others, and there is a "ghost tour" available.

Room Tip: If you're there on a Sat nite in the summer, the front upstairs rooms in the main building (as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really great place to stay. Yes the hallways are a little dated but the room we stayed in was clean, great view and had very charming decorations very in character with the hotel style. We had a lakeside view it was amazing. The shopping and parks are within walking distance, we never moved our car. We only ate there in the morning and had some appetizers with drinks at night but both were delicious. Too many great places around town to eat but I heard from others that the food was great. Sat. there was a small craft show and music on the lawn. A charming staff member was leading people on the ghost tour and they all looked like they were enjoying their time. I would go again for sure. Staff were wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZantiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The Lakeside Inn in Mount Dora is really a great place to stay. As other reviews indicate it is not a five-star resort. Still it is 131 years old and has character. The staff were very friendly. It is in a great location. Everything is within walking distance. If you would like a nice, relaxing place to stay in Mount Dora I highly recommend Lakeside Inn. If you are looking for a posh 5-star resort I would recommend Orlando.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamdawson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Absolutely loved the Lakeside Inn! It is like taking a step back in time! I stayed two nights with my sister for a get-away and couldn't be more pleased. Everyone that works there is so friendly and accommodating. Sabrina, at the desk, answered all of our questions about the history of the area. She really made us feel as if we were the only guests there, taking time with us and making us feel special. The room was freshly painted and very clean. The entire facility was very well kept, the grounds were lovely and well landscaped. I am already planning another trip to the Lakeside Inn and CAN NOT wait!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had often seen the historic 1883 Lakeside Inn from a distance when we visited Mt. Dora in the past, but it was only recently that we planned a weekend stay with friends who had been guests there before. Like a gracious old dowager who is showing her age, the guest room accommodations are less than ideal although the grounds are just beautiful. The lemon yellow and white buildings are set off like little gems amid the flowers and foliage. The bed in our room was comfortable but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The tub was so cracked and mildewed that we both skipped a morning shower. Our friends noticed several changes from the past and when they questioned the changes, were told that a new private owner had purchased the Inn four years ago and renovations, including central air conditioning and new bathrooms, were being done in stages. The rooms were freshly painted but, as our friends noted, the lovely curtains, bed treatments, wall decor, desk and easy chairs had been removed leaving the rooms with a bare-bones feeling. I do hope these much needed renovations take place as the rest of the Inn is quite lovely and it is a big plus to be within easy walking distance of the entire village without needing to use the car. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast in Tremain's Tavern located in the main building much enlivened by the good humour of our waiter, Floyd. We explored many of the hidden nooks and crannies of the extensive gardens and walked out on the private dock for a beautiful view of the lake. A short rest in the white rocking chairs overlooking Lake Dora on the porch of the main building and a trip to the well appointed gift shop filled with many items from local artisans completed our stay. I would look forward to returning again AFTER the bathroom renovations...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cyberyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
588 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range: £113 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora
Lakeside Inn Mount Dora, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing