We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, excellent beer and food, big garden”
Review of The Bird in Hand

The Bird in Hand
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Austrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: 15th Century traditional thatched British pub set in rural Warwickshire. 3 miles from junction 11 of the M42 and 1.5 miles from Twycross Zoo
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Had a meal last night for 8 people, and the food and beer were excellent. We took advantage of the ‘eat out to help out’ scheme and even though the pub was busy, it was running nicely with plenty of friendly staff keeping it all together. The safety measures in place were also well considered, with a one way system and tasteful bar screen in place. Loads of drinks to choose from and the beer was particularly well kept! We’ll definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank O2256EYadamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hello Adam

Thanks for the great review. Very pleased also that you had such a great time here. We were conscious with the bar screens that they were in-keeping with the decor of the pub. We were also wary of not diminishing the pub "experience" with regards to guidelines and yet still making it safe for everyone.

Hope to see you again soon
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

We visited this pub last night. The pub is trying really hard to comply with the covid guidelines and we felt totally safe. There is an amazing garden where it would be very easy to socially distance and relax. We chose to sit inside however and tables were well spaced and the bar area was covered by a screen. Bar staff were very welcoming and friendly. There was a good choice of real ales which is always a plus for my partner.
We both chose to have a steak. They were excellent, very high quality and cooked to perfection. There was a good choice of accompaniments.
Although it was busy our meals arrived quickly and everything was piping hot.

There was also a very good selection of other dishes on the menu.
It was the first time that we have eaten here as it is quite a way from home but we will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank LynnHatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi there. Thanks very much for the favourable review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future

Many thanks
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2020 via mobile

This is my local pub and it is fantastic. So friendly and welcoming. Lovely bar staff and the food is also amazing. Recommended, try it out.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Q1513UPandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Cheers for the review Andrew
Welcome to the village, hope to see plenty of you in the coming months and years

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020

Friday evening meal was a real treat after 14 weeks at home, really good system for social distancing, excellent choice of beer, great food and friendly service. Locally sourced steak, well cooked and presented, in a wonderful thatched pub, doesn't get any better. Thank you.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi there

We are very pleased that you both chose here as your first excursion after lockdown, and also that you enjoyed it so much.

Hope to see you again shortly

Cheers
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

I am in the process of moving to Austrey so have been checking out the local area and found this little gem ! Friendly staff, great food, lovely land lady Pam. Would really advise trying out the Sunday roast. I had the beef & ham combo was delicious and reasonably priced

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank 904callumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bird in Hand also viewed

Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.