We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and hospitality”
Review of The Bird in Hand

The Bird in Hand
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Austrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: 15th Century traditional thatched British pub set in rural Warwickshire. 3 miles from junction 11 of the M42 and 1.5 miles from Twycross Zoo
Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

Fantastic, warm friendly pub who provide extremely good quality and value for money food with fantastic service and lovely friendly locals. Highly recommended after many visits throughout the year.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank windsors2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Visited here on a Saturday evening after reading other reviews. Sat in the garden. Process for going inside is really clear and bar has screens. Staff were great, and wore masks when bringing food out. Food was good. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank 7Steve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

We haven't eaten at this pub for over 10 years. We went for lunch last week and the food was great. I had cod & chips and batter on the fish was delicious. The staff were friendly, service was prompt and food tasty. They were well organised with regard to adhering to Covid rules. Planning to return again in a couple of weeks with some friends. We will be frequenting this pub regularly to eat should we continue to be impressed. The pub offers outdoor seating for those wanting to sit in the lovely beer garden.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Stanleysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Thanks very much for the review. Always nice to welcome back customers we have not had for a long time. Our batter is made fresh daily with beer directly from the cellar and I am delighted you enjoyed that and the visit as a whole.

Maybe next time we could stretch you to a 5 star ;-)

Thanks again
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Had a meal last night for 8 people, and the food and beer were excellent. We took advantage of the ‘eat out to help out’ scheme and even though the pub was busy, it was running nicely with plenty of friendly staff keeping it all together. The safety measures in place were also well considered, with a one way system and tasteful bar screen in place. Loads of drinks to choose from and the beer was particularly well kept! We’ll definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank O2256EYadamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hello Adam

Thanks for the great review. Very pleased also that you had such a great time here. We were conscious with the bar screens that they were in-keeping with the decor of the pub. We were also wary of not diminishing the pub "experience" with regards to guidelines and yet still making it safe for everyone.

Hope to see you again soon
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

We visited this pub last night. The pub is trying really hard to comply with the covid guidelines and we felt totally safe. There is an amazing garden where it would be very easy to socially distance and relax. We chose to sit inside however and tables were well spaced and the bar area was covered by a screen. Bar staff were very welcoming and friendly. There was a good choice of real ales which is always a plus for my partner.
We both chose to have a steak. They were excellent, very high quality and cooked to perfection. There was a good choice of accompaniments.
Although it was busy our meals arrived quickly and everything was piping hot.

There was also a very good selection of other dishes on the menu.
It was the first time that we have eaten here as it is quite a way from home but we will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank LynnHatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
127garethg, Owner at The Bird in Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi there. Thanks very much for the favourable review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future

Many thanks
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bird in Hand also viewed

Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.