We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular tour - worth every penny!”

Double R's Fishing and Tour Co
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.98*
and up
Manatee Ecotour and Shelling Adventure
More Info
US$475.00*
and up
Naples Eco Tour and Backwater Fishing
Ranked #5 of 135 Tours in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 2.5 hour manatee viewing eco tour is the only local eco tour that starts in the heart of the Everglades, and takes only minutes to get to the 10,000 Islands and the Gulf of Mexico. The tour is located at the home of South Florida's largest herd of manatees. Viewing the eco system of the Everglades in the comfort of a covered boat is a true Everglades experience. You are likely to see manatees, alligators, dolphins, and turtles, as well as many species of rare and endangered tropical birds. Some of the tropical birds species are the Ibis, Egret, Great Blue Heron, Osprey, Pelican, and the American Bald Eagle. The tour is fully narrated by knowledgeable local Captains and their boats are stable, comfortable and USCG approved. You'll learn interesting facts on the manatee, alligator, dolphin, and tropical bird species, along with information on the Everglades.Our 3 hour Manatee Ecotour/Shelling Adventure is rapidly becoming Double R's most popular tour. This excursion has all of the elements of the shorter tour but includes a 30 minute stop at a deserted island called Whitehorse Key where our guests depart the boat for 30 minutes of shelling and exploring.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We took an eco tour with Double R's last week and it was the highlight of our trip for sure. The captain could be a marine biologist. He was so knowledgeable and informative and pleasant to be with. We saw two pods of manatees, learned all about the Everglades and that ecosystem, we stopped on an island for some shelling and even heard a few pirates tales. He really knew about the history of the area and you could tell he loved what he did. We would do this again in a heart beat. I can tell you that we went kayaking the next days, also in the Everglades and a) saw nothing and b) hated all of the noise pollution that came from the airboats. After doing this lovely tour, I would NEVER do an airboat tour. There is nothing "eco" about an airboat tour.

We cannot recommend the Double R tour enough - it gets an 11 out of 10! Manatees, dolphins and a gator - oh my!

2  Thank TrendyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeteichler, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Double R's Fishing & Tour Co. takes great pride in having Captains who are not only very friendly but well versed in the history and wildlife of the Ten Thousand Islands. As you observed, they do truly love what they do Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Double R's Fishing and Tour Co
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The experience I had was life changing. Captain Jim was extremely knowledgeable and fun. I have never caught so many fish in my life. Caught a Goliath Grouper, 2 Lemon sharks, Snappers and pompanos. LOVE LOVE AND CANT WAIT TO COME BACK!!! Highly recommend Double R's Fishing & Tour Co.

Thank FINAO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeteichler, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Wow. It makes us feel truly honored to have made such an impact on you. Creating life long memories is something we strive to do with each and every fishing trip or ecotour. The action was certainly over the top during your trip. We feel really blessed to have Capt Jim as part of our team here at Double R's Fishing & Tour Co. Thanks for sharing your experience and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are visiting from DC and have always heard about Manatee's but never seen one. Well what a thrill we had on the Double R's Eco Tour. From the moment the owner personally escorted our group to the awaiting boat and captain we knew we were in for a first class experience. Not ten minutes from the dock we came upon our first alligator and several manatees we would see throughout the tour They truly are magnificant and you get so close you can even see the barnicals on their back. Then our Captain took us to where he thought we would see Dolphins...he was right. A mother Dolphin and her baby swam right next to our boat and there were a bunch of other chasing fish. We all cheered. What a great day in the Everglades!!

4  Thank SDP516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeteichler, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We are absolutely delighted that the wildlife really presented itself during your 2-1/2 hour tour through the spectacular Ten Thousand Islands. Thanks for noticing the personal attention I give to all of our guests in escorting and greeting upon return. Quality customer service is something that we are very proud of. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Captain Mike was knowledgeable, personable, and fun! My husband and I took our three young boys (ages 6, 4 and 2) and we all had a blast. We saw manatee, dolphin, alligator and birds. I realize it all depends on the day but Captain had an excellent "eye". Plus we shopped around and this was the best price! Can't go wrong with choosing this excercusion company!

4  Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeteichler, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your family experience with Double R's Fishing & Tour Co. We are so delighted that the wildlife was active during your 2-1/2 hour tour and especially happy that the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Thank you for acknowledging the value for your hard earned dollar as well. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were lucky enough to get out for some fabulous offshore fishing with Capt. Jim. My wife and I and another couple made the trip. Excellent time from the moment we got to the dock and saw a large Manatee swimming right in the marina, until the last fish was cleaned. Capt. Jim knows were the fish are, and we found them in a hurry! Over the course of the trip we caught and released 4 larger Snook, we hooked up with 4 Tarpon and although we never got one to the boat they were big fun while they were on. We had an epic battle with a Permit and it took us approximately 1 hour to get him in the boat and we chased him nearly 3/4 of a mile. This is the stuff fish stories are made of, catching big fish on light tackle! I was lucky enough to battle a Goliath Grouper on one of the large poles , bringing him up to the boat where he nearly drowned 2 of us with a massive tail slap. We also got into a nice school of Whiting and boated quite a few. We landed a nice Black Tip Shark as well. Thanks Capt. Jim and the folks at Double R for another great fishing adventure. You know we will be back, so save some fish for us!

There are lots of Charter companies in the Marco Island/Naples area, but when I'm in town I choose Double R and Capt. Jim

Big Ange

3  Thank Big A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeteichler, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It is an added bonus that you get to view the fantastic wildlife within the 10,000 Islands as you venture out to the fishing grounds. You folks sure had some exciting non stop action during your trip and actually boated the largest Permit we've ever seen. I know that had to make for a great fish fry. Hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double R's Fishing and Tour Co also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Double R's Fishing and Tour Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing