We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowdermilk Beach

Lowdermilk Beach
Ranked #6 of 121 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

All of the Gulf beaches in southwest Florida are beautiful. However, if you want the absolutely best one, go to Lowdermilk. Reasons: ample parking at $1.50 per hour (free for handicapped); parking 50' from beach; great pavilion with decent beach food, Rita's ices, even coffee; clean bathrooms; shower & changing facility; great music piped into the pavilion; THE BEST BEACH, fine white sand, clear water, nothing on the bottom here, no sand sharks, no starfish, no broken shells, rental kayaks & paddle boards. This is the best beach without question in this part of Florida.

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    491
    57
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Clean beach, easy access and plenty of parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Naples beaches are clean, soft sand and great for shelling and walks. Clean park area, safe at all times of the day and 5 minutes from Old Naples....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I have gone several times here. The most memorable so far was on July 5th because it involves a dolphin. We went at 8:30 am and to our surprise the beach was pretty empty. I'll start with the parking. The parking lot for Lowdermilk is a decent size. You have to pay for parking ($0.25/10 min or $1.50/hr and the machine accepts on Visa or Mastercard) or it's free if you have the Collier county beach pass. They have 2 beach volleyball courts on one side of the parking lot, picnic tables, a little beach hut restaurant (fast food) with tables and benches to sit on, and 2 wooden bridge pathways to get to the beach and a gazebo that is for rent. Near the huge tree on the left side near the wooden bridge pathway, there is a small foot shower fountain to wash your feet after you leave the beach (I did not see any full showers at this beach entrance but there may be one hidden).
As you walk to the beach, you will notice a white sandy beach that is a sight to behold. the sand is soft with hardly and shells to step on. The beach is clean and well kept. There is also ample space because the grass line is about 30 yards from the water line. The further left or right you go (away from the entrance), the less people there are since they tend to stay near the entrance. The water was warm and very pleasant to swim in. The beach does have small waves that are good enough for little children to enjoy. As you get closer to the water, you will see some seashells, but nothing to fancy or to brag about. However, if you were to stick your hand in the sand where the water reaches and pull up the sand, you will see miniature clams and hermit crabs that burrow quickly to get back into the sand. It is very interesting. The wet sand is hard compared to the wet sand in Miami Beach and Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Lowdermilk beach looks like it might be about 2-3 miles from the Naples Pier if you walk along the beach.
Now the good part.As my wife and I were swimming, I noticed a dorsal fin pop out of the water. I was frightened thinking it was a shark. I quickly swam to shore until I saw water shoot out in front of the dorsal fin. I figured it was a dolphin. It was the first time I had seen a dolphin in the wild. I saw its dorsal fin a few more times before it disappeared. After talking about this with some friends, it turns out that they visit often and they may come up to you and play with you. They say you shouldn't play with them because they can be rough, but they don't know any better. This sightening was confirmed a few days later when we were at the pier and saw another dolphin there also. This beach is amazing. The beach hours are from dawn until dusk. the earlier you go, the better. In the summertime it tends to rain in the afternoons and evenings and in the mornings the sun is not as intense as in the afternoons

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome beach!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a few hours there. It was amazing!!!! The fine powdery sand and the turquoise warm waters made our day. This beautiful beach was very, very clean. Not even one of those bothersome seaweeds floating in the water. Kids had a blast swimming and building sandcastles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“So nice, we went every day we could. Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved this beach! It was so very nice. If you go early, there are places you can find with shade. We were blessed to swim with dolphins. We watched pelicans swooping, frigate birds sailing. A beautiful, sunny delight. The beach is powder white, cool to the feet. Very clean! We heard that there are turtles there but did not see any. The one day there was an overload of sea stars and sand dollars – all still alive, so we viewed and left them in their underwater home. There were well behaved families all enjoying this beautiful place. The changing rooms were very clean and the restrooms cleaned regularly. There was a park like setting on one side. A good deal of parking with a parking box nearby. A debit card is helpful for the parking box. There is a snack bar there but we did not partake.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NMStoryteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowdermilk Beach also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lowdermilk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing