We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”
Review of The Escalante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Escalante
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 11 March 2008

As we were in Miami for a business trip we decided to tag a few days on to see the Gulf of Mexico. We saw the Escalante on an internet site & thought it looked fabulous but we were concerned about some of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We decided to take a chance & were so pleased that we did - when you drive into the entrance you are confronted by a beautiful, red-brick courtyard with a tree-lined "roundabout" which is lit up at night. It has a very Mediterranean feel to it. The pool area is also brick-paved, with sun-beds (complete with towels) & a great spa-pool. We had a closed-in patio, which was v. private & our room was large, with a fabulously powerful shower. The breakfasts were also fine. The Escalante is in a very quiet position, but conveniently placed for everything - it's 2 blocks from the beach (the hotel will lend you chairs to take) & easy walking distance to all of the shops & restaurants on 5th Avenue & 3rd Street. My only gripe was the noisy air-conditioning.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noisy air-conditioning
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    44
    12
    15
    22
See reviews for
13
141
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

I am very sorry to say that my daughter and her finacee were going to have their wedding at this hotel. Their website shows all kinds of pictures of wedding places but when asked about having the ceremony at them we were told "that place is only for the condominium owners". Well okay, that's all fine and wonderful but then why were these places on the website and not told they arent for the public? The owners wife was supposed to call us in August to make further plans as we were planning on buying the entire hotel out for the event, week before and days after, but we have never heard from her and its October. My daughter called and called and left messages and, nothing. She was very disappointed but we have recently put a deposit down on another place. I am glad becasue they wanted the ceremony site to be held in the driveway....that's right. I just want to get the word out that if you are looking at this hotel to hold a wedding, think again. Its a lot of headache and I guess their phones dont call out... Please understand I did not get a chance to stay at this hotel. I cannot post however without a date.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Momma-of-the-Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Well we heard thru the grapevine the Hotel Escalante was finished with their construct on property. My wife and I were
there in Aug. 06 and we to were disappointed because of construction but we were told about it when we made reservations, and truthfully it wasn't that bad. The GREAT news
is the Hotel Escalante is "Back, Better & Beautiful". My wife
and I had to return to Naples on business in May of 07 and really wanted to go to Escalante so she called and was told all
construct was completed. We are here to say the hotel is back and has been completely renovated, new everything and very clean, and my wife likes clean. There are only 10 rooms and all have patios that walk out to the pool a garden and a hot tub. The staff have always been great and keep getting better. What a lovely and romantic get -a- way. We celebrate our
10 yr wedding anniversary this year and already made reservation at the hotel Escalante. Thanks Escalante for being
back, better and beautiful. Will & Christina

  • Liked — The beauty and the location of hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Screen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

We live in New York, and recently stayed at this small hotel one block from the beach. It was small, quaint, perfect! The service was personal, and the grounds were immaculate. The staff went out of their way to make our experience superb. We can't wait to return next winter. We especially are grateful to the front desk that sent champagne to our restaurant where we took our grandmother for a surprise dinner. They did everything to let us know they wanted us to be happy. Thank you Escalante.

  • Liked — The rooms, grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in room 40. great room
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We found Hotel Escalante on the internet and it sounded great. We decided to book over the phone. They failed to tell us there was NO HOT WATER. Upon arrival we saw the carpets were dirty and there was a missing grate in the bathroom revealing a gaping hole. (nothing was done about it even after our mention) The owner, Mr. Zorbalas was not available at any time to speak with us and has continued to ignore us to date. He charged our credit card even though we spicifically stated, both by handwritten note and by several emails, that we wanted to speak with him first. (we even put a hold on our card that he got around) When we complained about the hot water on the second day (of our full week stay) they suggested we let it run for 15 minutes. this didn't help either. To sum up, extremely disappointed and highly recommended to stay away! did we mention there was no restaurant?

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ScamperF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2006

We recently returned from a stay at the Hotel Escalante. We have stayed their on many other occassions and it seems to get better with age, like a good bottle of wine. Although the hotel is now smaller, it has been made more personal. The service was great as always, and the new gardens, pool and spa were refreshing.

Since the hotel has become smaller, the service has become more initimate and personal. Everything was done for us. Paper at our front door, car waiting to take us to dinner, hot coffee served in bed, massages, facials, and more.

I would recommend this to everyone as a great get away. It is 1 block from the beautiful Naples beaches and right off the entertainment district. You can't go wrong. See you next year again Escalante. Thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

We just returned from our fourth and last visit to the Escalante. In Dec 05 we called to inquire about availability and the dates were open but we did not say to book the room. To our surpise our credit card was billed. We had stayed there before. Upon calling to ask why, we were told we booked the room and did not show up. After many phone calls and waiting to hear from manager who never did respond, I suggested that they give us a credit for future use. We received $200 credit for the $286 charge. Nonetheless we waited until season was over mostly for there benefit. First of all, no one told us about the construction of the Townhouses. So our first disappointment was that and the sound. Remember we had stayed in the Lanai suites before several times. There is no parking because of the construction. Only one person at the front desk, Judy, nice, but she had to do everything! Even offered to carry our luggage, since there was no one else. The carpets were dirty, the icemake broke and full of old ice. Nothing was in the minibar but mold. Could not use the front entrance, scan key system was not working. The Jacuzzi was cold. Office closed at 5:00 p.m. No service unless you called this poor woman. Breakfast which use to be a dream come true, was nothing but store bought supplies and not even enough coffee (there were only around 8 guests) The pool area which was the highlight of the hotel with piped in soft music playing 24 hours (no more music) Only the sound of construction. No more lush landscaping. All gone. We felt like we lost an old friend. We have lived in Florida 27 years and the wonderful places of yesteryear are all going away to Developers of concrete monsters. So very sad. I do not know why the Escalante is still open?

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
876 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,453 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
720 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,452 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escalante

Property: The Escalante
Address: 290 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6522
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Escalante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Escalante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Hotel Naples
The Escalante Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing