We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Escalante”
Review of The Escalante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Escalante
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Pines, Maryland
1 review
“The Escalante”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We returned late last night from a quick 3 day stay at The Escalante. We were there to celebrate our anniversary. Everyone could not have been any more accommodating. They went out of there way to make sure we had a lovely visit. The hotel itself is very charming. The rooms, though small, were very clean and the ambiance cozy. Our kids had called ahead to make arrangements for a cheese plate, a bottle of wine and 2 bottles of my husband's favorite beer. They went out to get his favorite beer because they didn't have it in the restaurant. We had dinner in Veranda E on our anniversary. The service was great and the food very, very good. What a wonderful little place for a getaway. We will treat ourselves and go back next time we are in Naples. And, by the way, this is my first review on TripAdvisor...that's how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated our Executive Chef Michael Kang delightful dishes and the professionalism of our associates.

It is always gratifying for us to receive such positive feedback as this gives us the opportunity to show our team that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests.

We are much looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    44
    12
    15
    22
See reviews for
13
141
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Hotel Escalante is beautiful, in a perfect location and certainly a hidden gem. Despite this, I was a bit put off by a few things. First, I made sure it was noted that a pull out bed would be used during our stay. After arriving at our room the first evening (having already checked in earlier in the day) I noticed that there were no extra pillows or blankets in the room. As a result, I had to call the front desk to request that extra's be bought to our room. At check in, I was told that breakfast would start at 8:00 a.m. After arriving at breakfast just after 8:00 a.m., the room was locked with no staff in sight. I eventually found someone an hour later who told me that breakfast started at 8:30 a.m. (we were still 20 minutes past 8:30 a.m., but what more was there to say?). While breakfast was enjoyable, there was a rushed feeling as the staff cooked with the kitchen door open where we could view the preparation from our table.
Overall, these are all minor occurrences. Normally, while I would still notice these things, I would not reflect much, but when you are shelling out over $550.00 for one room, there is a level of service that is not only expected, but which should be delivered. The service combined with the erie feeling of being one of two guests (family's) being on property with no staff present over night left me displeased regarding the value for my money. If you have a question over night about anything, you need to either deal with it or hope Siri has the answer. I am happy I was able to stay but will unfortunately not recommend the hotel as the service does not reelect the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank web2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

It was truly disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations in certain areas.

Please allow me to assure you that your remarks with regards to the service delays and inconsistencies have been taken on-board and will be addressed with the concerned departments to prevent this from reoccurring in the future.

Your observation towards the overnight service has also been noted and I would like to highlight that our 24/7 call center provides assistance overnight. Our associate who neglected to communicate this information at check in will be retrained.

At your convenience I would like to invite you to contact me directly at aflorescu@hotelescalante.com for an in-depth discussion towards suggestions of enhancing this services, to make your future stays more enjoyable.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The setting is so charming, the location is great and the service could not be better! The ambiance at the Escalante is terrific - so much so that we found it difficult to leave our morning breakfast table even though the beach is a short walk away. (And now the hotel offers a golf cart ride to the beach - with return pick up service too!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 450Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

It is truly pleasing to know how much you enjoyed your experience with us and particularly the location, a warm ambiance, our impeccable services and our new accessory the golf cart.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our fifth visit to Naples during Christmas/New Year's and our first stay at the Escalante. It was the perfect hotel for what we like to do - eat, shop, gallery-hop, walk on the beach, play golf, jog, and bike -- all, except the golf, without driving! The only time we used our car was to drive a mile or two to the Naples Beach Resort golf course. Both the Fifth Ave. (about a 1 minute walk) and Third St (10-12 minute walk) shopping/entertainment areas were easy walks. The hotel itself is quiet and beautifully landscaped, with plenty of lounge chairs/sitting areas around the pool.

For us, the breakfast was on the light side - it's a granola/yogurt/fruit deluxe continental -- since we usually like a bigger breakfast and then no lunch when we're on vacation. We wanted to try the Veranda restaurant for dinner, which has a very interesting menu -- but we had an over-the-top dinner the night before and weren't ready for another big meal. We had a minor problem with a noisy air conditioner in our room, but the front desk got us a fan so the A/C hardly cut in -- worked out well. (We found out later that the HVAC's will get replaced next year.)

Finally, the front desk staff in particular makes this a first class hotel. They're more like good concierges. They all went out of their way to make our stay the best - even getting us reservations at a "booked-up" restaurant.

So if you like peace & quiet, personal service, and no driving - my wife and I would highly recommend Escalante!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior-Top-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you had chosen to stay with us on your New Year’s trip and that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us.

It is a pleasure to note that you were extremely pleased with the professionalism and the friendliness of our front desk staff.

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the air conditioning noise level. Your feedback has been shared with the concerned manager and assure you that the immediate necessary actions are carried out.

Thank you once again for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Escalante multiple times prior to the building of the residential condos. We thought the hotel villas were gone until recently and are delighted that this piece of paradise was spared during the naples building boom. The food, service, and staff are great ! I fear writing a great review in that too many people will find this gem !!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

I was delighted to read how much you and your family enjoyed your experience at The Escalante, the professionalism of our associates, the food and services we provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staying at the Escalante is exactly the right balance between having exactly what you need/want but not having so much that it becomes excessive. There is a small staff and they are all kind, dedicated , and great at their jobs. The boutique hotel has the feel of being old Europe, when in fact it is less than 15 years old (according to one staff member we spoke to). The hotel location is absolutely perfect: you are three blocks from the beach and right in the heart of the Fifth Avenue restaurants and shops. All this yet the hotel is secluded and quiet. The pool area is serene and beautiful, the rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds. The restaurant Veranda E was fantastic, a must for dinner one night. The pool/terrace area as a backdrop is a gorgeous setting and the food was 5 star.
We hope to come back and stay here again soon. It was a great romantic stay, but would also be wonderful with kids, or as a girls weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a great feedback.

It is truly pleasing to know how much you enjoyed your experience with us and particularly the central location, our comfortable rooms, food, atmosphere and the professionalism and the friendliness of our associates.

It is always gratifying for us to receive such positive feedback as this gives us the opportunity to show our team that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests.

We are much looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We just completed our 3rd stay at the Hotel Escalante and loved it as much as the first 2 times. Last January (2013) we stayed here for 14 nights. This time it was just 4, which is not long enough for a trip to Naples.

First of all, the Hotel Escalante has the BEST LOCATION in Old Naples, at the corner of 5th Ave & 3rd Streets. Seriously, everything is walking distance, including the beautiful beach. Restaurants, shopping, everything. No other hotel in Naples comes even close as far as location goes.

New for this visit, was the re-decorated pool area with upgraded seating, patio umbrellas and landscaping. The room is beautifully appointed and clean and we appreciated the new vanity in the "water closet".

The continental breakfast was great each morning and the bottomless cup of coffee was delicious.

The staff, including the front desk, the breakfast waitress, and the housekeepers can't do enough for you. Seriously, they are incredibly hospitable ... more like owners than employees.

We can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QV-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana F, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us excellent feedback on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to create a delightful experience for you. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your newly decorated bathroom and our fabulous lush grounds.

We very much appreciate your excellent feedback concerning the exceptional service that our team members delivered to you. Our team and I are truly focused on creating the best experience possible for our guests and we really appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us the benefit of their thoughts

I, along with the entire Escalante hotel team, look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best regards,

Ana M. Florescu
Public Relations Manager at The Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
874 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,449 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
720 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,451 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escalante

Property: The Escalante
Address: 290 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6522
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Escalante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Escalante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Hotel Naples
The Escalante Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing