We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in Room 10!! Unclean and Disappointing.”
Review of Seashell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seashell Motel
Ranked #48 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay in Room 10!! Unclean and Disappointing.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am not one to right poor reviews on any business. Being part of a family who owns a small business, I understand that people have different experiences, and that it's impossible to please everyone. That being said, I couldn't sit back on this one. My fiancé and I chose the seashell motel based on the great reviews we read here on tripadvisor, but we had a very different experience. We stayed in room 10 and it was simply unclean. As soon as we walked in, we were hit with a powerful odor of bleach, and had to air out the room for an hour for it to dissipate a little. The room was very small, and that would have been fine if it was clean. The bathroom was crawling with small ants which were in the shower, on the walls and all over the sink. There was fuzzy green mold growing on the sink faucet, the toilet was sized for a toddler and the bathroom ceiling fan was falling out of the ceiling. There were no curtains in the room, just old broken blinds, so the lights from the street penetrated the room all night, and we were woken by extreme brightness. The air conditioner was old and very loud, and the bedding just looked and felt old and not the cleanest. I have never written a poor review on a business in my life, but after paying $119 for this experience, I want to urge others to keep looking, or take a look at a room before booking. We were thinking that we may have ended up with a lower valued room...there were rooms up on a balcony that may have been nicer. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amc05015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
23
67
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Can't beat the location - five blocks to the beach, two blocks to downtown Fifth Avenue - this is a very good choice for a few days in Naples. The rooms are large and clean and are equipped with refrigerators and basic cooking gear. The bathrooms could use an upgrade, but the price at $95/night was a deal. Did not use the pool since there was a cool spell, but walked to the pier and watched dolphins frolic. Another night watched intense thunderstorm from balcony. Loved the Thai restaurant across the street - Siam something. Would stay again for a few days when passing through Naples.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a totally no-frills retro motel, with patios, a 'lanai' (which is the only place for wi-fi, so you have to go outside), and tile floors (typical of beach motels). There is no coffee in the rooms (there is a Starbucks right across the street so the motel sort of leans on its presence). There is a cute little pool and courtyard area. So basically a clean and not-uncomfortable place to flop, as long as you don't expect to be catered to! The price is under $100 which is great for Naples, but the best recommendation for the Seashell is its location. It is *right on* the Tamiami Trail, Rte 41, sort of right above the elbow before the Trail shoots out of town and heads down towards the Everglades. You don't have to struggle to find it at all. Also, it is an 8-block, easy walk to the beach for exercise after you have been driving or before you drive back out, and you can gather with the locals to play in the waves and watch a fabulous sunset!

(Miscellaneous unsolicited tip for those travelling Southeast on the Trail: fuel up before you leave Naples because even though the gas is higher here than it was just north, it is a *lot* more expensive as soon as you get out of town!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluecowboyyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

In previous trips to Naples years ago we used to routinely stay at the Sea Shell because it was a great value. This time however we found the place to be tired and worn and in need of TLC. It appeared they were renovating some rooms but we had one of the older yet to be renovated rooms. Much of the things in the room were tired and worn. There was no clock, no phone, no hair dyer, not much at all. The blinds were falling out of the window. The mattress was saggy. Oddly there were two televisions - a new small flat screen right next to the old heavy tube type. The towel racks were falling off the wall in the bath. One completely fell off the wall while there. The baseboards had not been dusted in a long long time. The water pressure was good. The AC worked well. And its in a great location but we still chose to not stay a second night and moved to a different hotel. Hopefully they will put some time and money into renovations since it used to be and could be a reach beach gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Booked this based on others reviews. My father was ill and I didn't want to lose my $ if I booked a fancy hotel and had to cancel. We paid upon arrival. Place was clean and comfortable for the money and being an older motel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location! Great value for those on a budget and if you don't expect Hilton luxury!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KrissyKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Seashell Motel in August, following a good review in Rough Guide and we weren't disappointed. Reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, and gave some good recommendations about what to do in the Everglades. The rooms are located around a central garden with a well maintained pool in the centre which was a pleasant area to have breakfast. The room was spacious and clean, with no noise from outside which was surprising as the motel was close to the main road. WiFi reception wasn't great in the room, but you could get a good signal on the porch so not a major problem. The Seashell is really located, within walking distance of the beach and the pier, and less than 5 minutes from the restaurants of 5th Street. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank liz112l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This magnificant motel is super clean, staff are very friendly and helful...My friends and i had a really good time staying here. This motel is located within walking distance to Naples beach,and dowtown naples. I personally loved it,i definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Old Naples
The Escalante
The Escalante
#29 of 59 in Naples
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
759 reviews
Ramada Naples
#25 of 59 in Naples
1,440 reviews
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
#31 of 59 in Naples
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Motel

Property: Seashell Motel
Address: 82 9th St S, Naples, FL 34102-6262
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seashell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Motel Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing