We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort was top notch, except for restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Resort was top notch, except for restaurant”
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Our arrival was excellent--valet and check in was a breeze. Room was clean and well appointed. We were travelling with a two year old and the staff did a great job of including him in our conversations. The pool was nice, not crowded and very clean. Toys were available for the kids and there was a large shallow entrance where children could play. Our only complaint was with the restaurant, Lemonia. We reviewed all the restaurants in both the golf resort and the beach resort. We intentionally skipped the restaurants in the beach resort that clearly indicated jacket required. There was no mention of a dress code at Lemonia so we decided to eat there. Upon arrival we were turned away for wearing shorts. I know that we could have asked but if all the other write ups(supplied by the ritz carlton) indicated a dress code, one would assume that there would have been a dress code mentioned for this restaurant. The next day at breakfast was another disaster. Upon entering the restaurant there was nobody to greet us. We walked into the dining area wondering if we should seat ourselves or if there was any staff working there at all. Somehow a host appeared behind us and began seating a couple that arrived after us. We were literally standing in the middle of the restaurant, in clear view, yet nobody made an attempt to seat us. We had to ask the host whether or not we could be seated for breakfast and what the process was for obtaining a table. Very uncomfortable. The food for the buffet was average, if available at all. We were there around 1030am and many of the selections were unavailable. Several other people were complaining to no avail. Bottom line---skip the restaurant. The hotel and its facilities are beautiful and the hotel staff, not the restaurant staff, were wonderful. We will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — ground floor rooms by the pool
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gchap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    177
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
246
374
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

There is only one word to describe this hotel:

WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL.

If you don't believe me, check out the pictures to see for yourselves.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — How can you not like something at the Ritz????
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a view on the golf course.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amfpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We had a wonderful time at the Ritz Golf Naples. It was much quieter than the Ritz Beach. We would stay at the Beach during the day and then come back and relax at the Golf pool. Much calmer and more relaxing. The bathrooms are nice and big and have a seperate shower. We did have a problem during our stay with the red tide. Please be careful. Our friends broke out in an itchy rash. The only thing we noticed is that my daughter had a cough which we found out was due to the red tide.
The gym was being remodeling when we were there so we used the gym at the beach resort and it was wonderful. The equipment was new and the plasma tvs were a nice touch. It was great to have two hotels to wonder around through. Everyone was very nice and the turndown service was great. They have free coffee in the lobby until 6:30 am. The coffee in the room was great too! We asked for a fridge to be brought into the room and there was no problem and it certainly came in handy. We would definetely come back for an enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mainebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York - San Francisco - Dallas - Chicago - Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

If you ever travel to Naples, stay here!!!! Service was first class, people were so kind and caring. The resort has plenty to do, and the atmostphere was terrific. Service is TEN TIMES better than the Ritz beach resort.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SaavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2006

I returned this week from staying at the RC Golf Resort in Naples and the whole experience was fantastic. The room was spacious, beautiful, fresh, bright, updated, impeccably clean in the bedroom and bathroom. The food was great, the staff were over the top friendly to us and our two small children, for which we were incredibly appreciative. We felt very welcome bringing our kids anywhere in that hotel. ALL the hotel staff from the valet, bellman, concierge, etc. were so genuine and kind. They seem to really enjoy their jobs and feel proud of the property. They went out of the way to help us, brought our kids treats, knew all of our names, didn't make us feel like a bother. It's just a classy place. The hotel is beautiful and in a stunning setting. We took the very convenient shuttle to their other property which is on a lovely, clean, welcoming beach. This property is also very beautiful but my husband and I both noticed that it was just the slightest bit less friendly. Still, I wouldn't complain a bit and would stay there next time. We got a ridiculously good rate at the golf resort so we felt we couldn't pass it up and I'm so glad we went with it. We never felt irritated at shelling out gratuity and tips to everyone because the rate was so reasonable for a RC. They have attention to detail down. Every time they brought the car, it was blasting the AC for which we were thankful. When we checked out, there was a thank you note in our car, which I felt was really nice. I never felt like they were just collecting our money and herding us like cattle through the process. I've had the fortune of staying at many nice places in this big world and the Ritz Golf Resort is really fantastic, rivaling other Leading Hotels of the World properties that set the bar high. GO, ENJOY!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lucy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2006

We just spent 5 days at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort and cannot fault it in anyway!

We arrived pretty late on the 1st night having mis-judged how long it would take us to get there from Miami (about 1hr 30mins!) and the receptionist was warm and friendly and said she had been waiting for us! It was a nice touch to receive a letter giving us complimentary valet parking and confirming our room rate on the first night.

The room was nice, perhaps not as plush as I was expecting but nonetheless it was a good size with a huge bed and a fantastic bathroom. The balcony was lovely with views over the entrance and gardens.

We used the shuttle to the Ritz Carlton beach resort a few times and found it to be a great service. There was never a shortage of spaces or changes to the timetables as I've experienced at other hotels. There is a charge for umbrellas on the beach of $25 for the day which you can charge to your room but the chairs and towels are free. They also provide free iced water to keep you hydrated!

We ate at Gumbo Limbo on the beach which we found to be great value. We ate lunch and dinner there and couldn't fault the food or the prices..around $30 for 2 for a meal and drinks for lunch. The view was superb and we even caught sight of a few dolphins in the evening sun!!

Overall, it was one of the best holidays we have ever had and we are already planning our return visit!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cupcakemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

I would give the resort 5 stars but since reading the reviews of the hotel, we are probably guilty of expecting the World since we were planning to visit the resort for over 2 years.
We kept postponing our visit due to travel and weather snags.
In any event, we spent three nights there in mid-May. Weather was spot-on perfect, 82-86, sunny, not a hint of rain, barely a cloud.
Room was nice. Had a good view of the "resort"(golf course, pool area) on one side, and a barren patch of land(preparing for development I assume) on the other. No big deal.
Pool was nice, service was excellent, particularly for approaching off-season.
Golf was good, but be sure to use one of the golf packages available form the website or hotel directly.
Do no, repeat do not, pay full freight for a round of golf. Very few resort courses(Pebble included) are worth $150-$200 per person. As I mentioned, the golf package was a pretty good deal.
Food, as usual, was quite good as was the food at their sister Beach resort, but prepare for major sticker shock.
This was my third trip to Ritz Naples(once at the Golf Resort and twice at The Beach Resort) and the prices continue to rise.
I understand the whole issue with cost: It's a resort, it's on the beach, most guests are on expense accounts, and mostly it's a Ritz-Carlton!
But $5.50 for a beer, $9 for a gin & tonic, $47 for lunch with no alcohol, $48 for a steak, $31(for two) to hit golf balls on the range, $175 for a (very good)massge etc..
I thoroughly enjoy the ambience and pampering a Ritz offers and these 2 venues did not disappoint.
However, it pains me to say that we will have to think long and hard about whether we will, or should I say 'can' return.
Bottom line: If money is easy, by all means go and don't look back. You will have a fantastic time.
If money is hard, don't even consider it(nor should you).
If you are like a lot of their patrons(and us) in the past, be careful, plan ahead, understand the prices, and it should be worth your while.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Geoff659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,362 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,439 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
Address: 2600 Tiburon Dr, Naples, FL 34109-3500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
#4 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the rolling green vistas of North America's premier golf setting. The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples boasts two Greg Norman-designed courses that will satisfy even the most discerning player’s expectations. Challenge yourself on the green, then retreat to unrivaled luxury of Florida’s top-rated golf resort hotel. The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is a AAA Five-Diamond, Mobil Four-Star Mediterranean-style sanctuary that offers 295 well-appointed guest rooms, including 31 club rooms, 40 suites and a Presidential Suite, as well as three exceptional dining establishments, 12 unique, spacious meeting rooms, the Tiburon Golf Course and a large pool area with poolside service. Guests at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples are also encouraged to enjoy access to the services and amenities at the neighboring Ritz-Carlton, Naples beach resort via a complimentary shuttle service between the resorts. Only three miles away, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples beach resort boast dazzling views of the Gulf of Mexico, warm golden sunsets, three miles of pristine beach, seven unique restaurants and a world-class spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Marriott, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples Hotel Naples
Ritz Carlton Hotel Naples
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples
Naples Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing