We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Having read the rave reviews on TripAdvisor perhaps we were expecting too much.
The hotel is situated a short distance from the Interstate highway on a very (very!) busy road. Its very near neighbours are a Perkins restaurant, a Hooters bar(!) and a Harley Davidson Motorcycle centre.
Nowhwere to walk to.
The Hotel is primarily a business hotel and I am sure would be an excellent choice for those on business, I do not feel that it is a holiday destination. It is some way out of Naples and it is not an easy journey due to the traffic and numerous sets of junctions which you have to pass through. The nearest beach is at the end of the forementioned road and costs $8 to park there.
Back to the hotel, reception was somewhat laid back with no help offered with luggage (although after the very casual first impression they were friendly enough). Our suite was fine, it overlooked the swimming pool and outdoor area (I guess 50% of rooms do so). The pool area was occasionally noisy at night. The bedroom had a king sized bed and an area containing the wash basin etc. off it, leading to the bathroom. The wash basin was cracked.. The toilet seat was of the 'rest room variety' -horseshoe shaped, no lid.
The kitchen area was reasonably equipped but lacked items such as a bottle opener and the quality of the cutlery left much to be desired.. The electric hob had a broken ring which could have been dangerous.
A particular annoyance was the room servicing person arriving just after 8am in the mornings. Again maybe OK for business users, but not for those on holiday.
On weekday evenings (not Friday) there are free drinks plus food from 5-7pm. The food tends to be of the mass produced burger type but appeared popular. One evening there was an outside bar-b-que which was good. Breakfast included some hot food, was OK but not great. The usual disposable everything.
Really good features included a little used gym and free internet access including a printer.
Definitely not a hotel we would return to, but as already mentioned good for business overnight stops.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kctnaples, Kevin Short Hotel Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Alan B. Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were disappointed with our establishment. We strive to provide a great experience to everyone of our guests whether on business or pleasure. I am sorry you did not let us know you had a problem with the sink, we would have been happy to move you and repair the broken item. As for the "laid back staff" I have spoken with every one of them and I promise you you will never get a laid back non helpful response ever again. Once again thank you for letting us know about the things we need to do better, without your feedback we cannot improve. Feel free to contact me directly if you ever need information or help. I hope we can host you again sometime in the future. Kevin J Short Hotel Manager kevin@hawthornnaples.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    250
    76
    22
    24
See reviews for
338
262
47
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2009

WOW!!!! We had a two bedroom suite for the four of us and it felt like we had our own apartment in Naples! One bedroom had a king size bed with its own bathroom and the other bedroom had two queen beds and its own bathroom as well. In the middle of the two bedrooms we had a living room, a full kitchen!, and a desk area.

But, the best part was the staff!! Very friendly and knowledgeable! My 8 year old daughter even wrote them a thank you note so you know she was impressed too!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This hotel was ideal for us - good location in North Naples (close to good shopping malls, restaurants and a lovely beach at Clam Pass), a decent amount of space and good facilities in the room (fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave, crockery/cutlery etc) The hot cooked breakfast each morning was OK, especially when I spotted the waffle maker, and the pool area looked good too - although we preferred to go to the beach and swim in the sea. It was very useful to have a laundry room as well and the little shop in the hotel sold individual boxes of washing powder for $1. Great to have free wi-fi too. All in all, it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyfamily011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

A well situated hotel very close to the i75 and easy to reach from the SW florida airport at Fort Myers. Excellent rooms with very comfortable beds and good facilities. Welcoming and efficient staff with nothing too much trouble. A good hot breakfast and a great happy hour.
Monday thru Thursday. Close to some of the best beaches. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I was booked into the Hawthorn for a week doing business in Naples. The facility was clean, the pool was pleasant, and the staff was always eager to help. The rooms are large with a kitchenette. It was nice to have a frig for the week. Although, with the breakfast it wasn't as necessary. I did like being able to bring leftovers back and reheat them the next night while I worked.

Over all, I look forward to returning to the hotel. Having stayed in other of these types of hotels, it was the best to date. I agree the bed is fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phbranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night as part of a quick visit to Naples for which we paid $135.

On arrival we thought the hotel as great. Very clean and modern. The master had a double bed and there was 2 double beds in the second room so we didn't need the bed settee in the living room.

The Exercise room went down well with my eldest teenager who was getting withdrawal symptoms from exercise so he spent an hour in there.

Location was OK - couldn't walk anywhere (except Hooters which we decided to miss) but an easy drive into Naples. Very easy to find hotel from I75.

Breakfast was reasonable but not the healthiest I've seen.

Major drawback was the noise from the Aircon. In July the evenings are still hot and there is just no way we could sleep with the aircon on - it is locked in a cupboard in the master bedroom but even in the second bedroom the kids found it too noisy to sleep so it had to go off.

Nothing else against the hotel but wouldn't go back in summer. Should be fine in cooler months though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kctnaples, Hotel Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Thank you very much for alerting us to the problem with the noise of the air conditioning in your suite. I would appreciate it if you would email me directly at kevin@hawthornnaples.com so I could get the room number you stayed in and investigate the problem. I hope you will again return to see us and thank you very much for your time to write and let us know of your thoughts about the Hawthorn Suites Naples. Kevin J Short Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I am only confirming what others have said about this fine hotel but as I set great store by booking almost every holiday checking through TAs site I will add a few lines. The hotel is in a nice spot just off the main road , that said it is quiet enough with a fountain outside the main enterance which on a hot day is a pleasing site. Check-in and desk staff were always helpfull as were all hotel staff. Our room 207 was on the side, no noise, good size, seperate bedroom a little extra but worth it ,lounge and kitchen with good size fridge/freezer,etc, everything was spotless,( thank you housekeeping ). One of the many things I Iiked about this hotel was the opening windows (only a small way so kids are safe) in bedroom and lounge, on a hot day it was great to come back to fresh air. Bar area good as was Wed night free bar and BBQ around the pool, this area had a relaxing effect after a long day, palm trees, heated pool etc. Included breakfast was fine. Two restaurants just outside the hotel, walking 100yds. My wife and I stayed 3 nts I wish it had been longer. Thank you Management and all Staff for making this a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peeteBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Inn of Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples
Address: 3557 Pine Ridge Rd, Naples, FL 34109-3884
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Naples
#13 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#23 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and Welcoming the Hawthorn Suites Naples is sure to delight guests near and far. Newly Refreshed and resigned in 2017, our all-suite hotel is perfectly located in Naples with easy access to pristine beaches, upscale shopping, and fantastic dining. Feel valued and cared for the moment you arrive and most of all depart a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Of Naples Hotel Naples
Hawthorn Suites Naples
Naples Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Naples Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing