We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of White Sands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Sands Resort
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Great little place with a fantastic location. Ed the caretaker was helpful and friendly. Although not 5 stars, it was clean and just perfect for an active family on Florida vacation. Not to mention very affordable.
Kids loved the very clean pools-and strolling to see the sunset by the beach is a once in a lifetime experience. But the location takes the cake, they must pay a fortune in property taxes, so you don`t find places like this much anymore because of the damned highrises they keep building all over. Didn`t see a roach!
Going back for sure!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank FleetwoodNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2007

This is an older property situated in a gorgeous neighborhood. A block and a half from the beach, as well as walking distance to Fifth
Avenue and Third Street shopping/dining districts. The resort is surrounded by multimillion $ homes and well kept streets, a pleasure to walk there, safe too.

My unit consisted of LR, BR bathroom with dressing room between BR and bath, full kitchen including all appliances and dishes and utensils.

Washer/dryer are available free of charge to the guests.

A/C consists of 2 wall units, one in the LR, one in the BR.

There is plenty of outside guest seating: around the pool, on the sundecks, in the garden and one the breezeways in front of the units.
Offstreet parking is available.

Thgere is shuffleboard court as well as a hot tub. The latter did not
work when I was there. Beach chairs are available for guests to take with them to the beach.

I traveled in September, very last minute, got a good deal from the owner of the timeshare I rented. He also has a good hurricane policy,
in case a strom would arrive during my stay.

The resort itself is not five star, but I felt I received good value for the money and was located in a fabulous area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MiamiMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This was a timeshare swap through RCI so it was a "free" place to stay. When we first arrived, five adults, we thought what did we get into!

We had visited Marco and Sanibel on a previous visit and stayed in suites at the Hilton and Holiday Inn; both very nice places that kind of set the standard, this was not comparable to those, but somewhat unique.

The White Sands, as noted in other reviews, was originally a motel built back in the 40's or 50's. We had a one bedroom unit (#5) on the first floor (mistake - always pick the second floor) with two additional sleepers in the living room - a Murphy pull-down bed and a pull-out couch. Everything appeared rather clean and newly painted. No bugs at all - first I mean in the rooms and second in the area (other than little gnats sometimes); there were two bathrooms which was a plus, but the tubs drained slowly, great for foot massages :-). We could walk right out to the common pation area that had several covered tables and chairs, which we needed since the others were usually sleeping when several of us awoke. There were free newspapers, which seems like a little deal, but was very nice. There were also gas grills and a charcoal grill (buy your own charcoal) available for BBQing, this was actually nice too. The pool, which was nice, was a few short steps away; three feet to eight feet deep; definitely not for little kids. The "hot tub" was out of service and was scheduled to be replaced, but due to some health department issues, it was on hold. The excitement of the week was when a small snake crawled into the (somewhat) empty hot tub. It was removed by Ed, the manager.

There were two new bikes available which were held under lock and key; if you go and plan on using the bikes, make sure you take a bike lock along so you can park the bikes. The bikes were fun since everything is flat and easy to get to.

Location location location! The place is two blocks from the beach (Gulf). There was absolutely no traffic so the short walk was easy; there were free beach chairs available if you wanted to haul them the beach (behind the Tiki Hut). We ended up buying a $6 beach umbrella. There is also an ice machine; excellent! We used it for making Pina Coladas with the blender in the kitchen.

The only real negatives were the A/C units were in the wall and we kept them on, per the instructions, and they were very noisy. We actually used earplugs; and the noise from second floor transmitted quite a bit. I had to ask the folks upstairs to try to keep from dragging the furniture around so much; heaven knows what they kept doing! If I were to go again, I'd try to get unit 9, it's on second floor and separated from the other units. The other second floor units are 10-14.

Across the street, however, were million dollar homes; so the neighborhood felt safe; it's only two blocks from 5th Avenue shopping, ritzy little places.

Overall, I might stay here again if it were just two of us; I'd shut the A/C off in the bedroom and leave the one on in the living room; this would work fine. We were there in the "low" season; so it was deserted. There were several other rooms being used, but everyone was very nice.

You can buy a place cheap if interested; some were going for around $600; but you would have to pay yearly fees plus I believe they're not lifetime ownership, but maybe were 40 years at some point.

If you have an RCI and can't find anything better, the trip from Ft. Myers airport is easy and getting around is fine plus the locale is knockout gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank galbak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This condo what built the late 40's or early 50's. It was a hotel converted to a Timeshare. I was not ready for how old it was. The A/C was old window style units (very loud). Only one old TV in the living room none in the bedroom. The bedroom and bath was in real need of paint. Paint was pealing off the walls. The bed was very old. The internet was a joke, you needed to go outside to connect with your laptop and then only get low coverage. A few small ants were noticed in the room but bugs are everywhere in FL so I will not count this against the condo. The manager was nice and it looked as if he was trying to upgrade the place, (a huge task). The pool was OK and the location was OK. Since you were not on the beach you needed to walk or drive everywhere (good luck finding parking). I noticed two new bikes for use which was nice for anyone who would like to ride. I would not go back. If it were a cruise ship I would rate it a 2 star out of five; clean, but old and in need of major upgrades.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 007Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

This isn't a deluxe property, but it's in a beautiful neighborhood, very close to beach and shopping. It has EVERYTHING you need-is nicely decorated, very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. They provide bikes, beach chairs, pool floats, grills, free laundry facilities.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank mejiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I was not sure of what to expect after reading the posts. It is a very small resort. It seems like it was a 1950's hotel that had 2 hotel units joined together to serve as a 1-bedroom unit with LR/kitchen and 3 hotel units joined together to serve as a 2-bedroom unit, (i.e. all the rooms had their own door and the kitchen had a back door). The kitchen was very tiny and the living room was also. Each room had its own air conditioner which were quite loud. We had to turn them off to sleep.

Positives: The units themselves were very very clean. The area is quiet and peaceful. Short walk to the beach. A relaxing area to stay. Close to old downtown of Naples.

Negatives: The air conditioners! The staff was non-existent and the grounds around the pool area were filthy. No security. Also the pool was dirty.

I would not take kids that are expecting activities as there are none - only the pool and a shuffleboard area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shelby101999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

Clean, quiet & freindly. Excellent value for money. Walk to the beach and to the shops/restaurants/bars. Would return again.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank Floridanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Old Naples
The Escalante
The Escalante
#30 of 59 in Naples
224 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
764 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#2 of 59 in Naples
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#13 of 59 in Naples
729 reviews
Old Naples
Charter Club Resort of Naples Bay
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
#31 of 59 in Naples
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: 260 3rd St S, Naples, FL 34102-6363
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#23 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Hotel Class:4 star — White Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Naples
White Sands Resort Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing