We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I scream for Gelato!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freddo Gelateria

Freddo Gelateria
Ranked #25 of 50 Dessert in Naples
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
naples,fl
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“I scream for Gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Freddo's is one darn hard to find place, but if you go to downtown Naples you will drive right by it without even knowing! Once you find it, make sure you wear your expandable pants, because you will want to try all 28 flavors in one shot. This is absolutely the best, highest quality, and most authentic gelato to be had outside of Italy. It's even better than a lot of gelato I've had in Italy.
They are owned and operated by a young couple and one of them is there to serve you at all times. You can tell the attention to quality and detail with every bite. My recommendations are in this order: Espresso, Chocolate, Chocolate Hazelnut, Strawberry, Pistachio and Coconut.
If they are serving their seasonal Double Espresso, order a few gallons, because when they run out, it's done and you will regret not stocking up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onedumgoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome delicious ice cream, when we visit Naples we always come to eat ice cream here. Be aware that they only accept cash, and check their schedules because they are not always open.

Helpful?
Thank kinanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is the best place in town for gelato, ideal place for dessert after dinner. The only problem is that they don't accept credit cards, cash only.

I love how they allow you to mix flavors. Try the chocolate hazel nut - yum!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigEaterNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stopped here for a mid-afternoon snack. The hardest part was deciding which gelato flavor to order. The gelato was amazing -- we loved it and wished we had made it back for another treat before we left.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachesForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Style Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We are Collier County residents. We visit Freddo's each week to get our gelato fix. It's habit forming.

Delicious traditional Italian-style gelato (4% butterfat content and 15% sugar). Everything is made at the premises. Ice cream is usually 15-20% butterfat and 20% or more sugar. Gelato is denser than ice cream and is served at a lower temperature = more flavor.

21 everyday flavors: Amaretto, banana, black cherry, caramel, chocolate, chocolate chip, chocolate hazelnut, cinnamon, coconut, expresso, hazelnut, melon, mint chocolate chip, peach, peanut, pineapple, pistachio, rum raisin, strawberry, tiramisu, and vanilla.

2 or 3 special flavors each day; about 150 special flavors per year.

Open Wed-Sunday from 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm.

Owned-operated by Tecla and Marco. Telca grew up in Peruga, Italy.

TEL.: 239-234-6770

EMAIL: www.freddogelateria.com

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N1TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freddo Gelateria also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Freddo Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing