We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and dolphins, too?!”
Review of Village Pub

Village Pub
Ranked #154 of 988 Restaurants in Naples
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Park Shore
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and dolphins, too?!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Located in the Venetian Village, an upscale collection of shops and restaurants surrounded by canal waterways off the Naples Gulf Coast, this rustic American Pub is a great gathering place for food, spirits, and more. Moderately priced - my Blackened Ungrouper Sandwich (po boy style) & skin-on fries for $9.99 - they offer burgers and fresh fish & seafood, entrees as well as sandwiches, apps and salads, even a Sheboygan Brat. We played some Trivial Pursuit as we waited for our order and enjoyed a couple of local microbrews that were on tap.
Here's the more: The sun had set, and after our meal, we took a few steps behind the restaurant to the canal area, which also has some restaurant seating nearby. The canal had been lit from under water... people were standing with their camera phones - taking pics and videos - of at least two wild dolphins, gently playing and spouting, with dozens and dozens of other small fish... ...and demonstrating the circle of life. Yes, they were in essence, "schooling" these small fish, on how to be their dinner. Nothing gory, but might be a caution for kids. Quite a show. Can't say it happens every night, but I was told by my hotel concierge that this schooling practice is common. An unforgettable night. We'll be back, perhaps to try one of the other restaurants there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    147
    55
    26
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dunbar east lothian scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great dishes and value”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First time ever eaten grouper recommended by the server! wow would have it again. Came well presented. Sat outside to eat staff very attentive and friendly would highly recommend this place to eat

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pncwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland indiana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, great views”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed lunch at the Village Pub today. We sat outside along the river and enjoyed the view. The lunch was great as was the service. Would recommend this place for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindyhighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dine on the water for lunch today!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to go eat on the water that won't hurt your wallet! I haven't gone for dinner, just lunch. I really like the fish & chips and the cheese/grapes appetizer they have is one of my favorites - simple, but so good. Service is a bit slow :/ but sitting outside watching the wildlife and boats go by will keep you busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We've been visiting the Village Pub as long as we've been visiting Naples (about 15 years) and it's always good and appeals to all ages. They quite often have live entertainment which is always entertaining(!) and in all our visits we've never had a problem. The kids love feeding the fish and this time round we were very lucky to have a visit from a dolphin while we were eating - a real treat. My mum always used to love the grouper but likes the 'ungrouper' just as much these days. Try the nachos with chilli - wherever in the world we are we compare the nachos to The Village!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Pub also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Village Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing