We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place! Amazing food. Friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Nemo

USS Nemo
Ranked #15 of 979 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Park Shore
Description: A stylized sort of nautical setting, USS Nemo's cool, comfortable blue interior gives one just a hint of the old "Voyage to the Bottom of Sea" motif with round brass portholes and a mock periscope, or "eye peeper thing," as Kylie called it. The menu definitely appeals to those with a taste for the exotic as it successfully marries a seafood cornucopia with Asian cuisine. The service is impeccable and the entrees are styled in drop-dead gorgeous fashion. The Bento Boxes are marvelous conversation starters. Even the pickled ginger is made to look like a piece of art. Salmon Pie is an elegant affair that elicits "Oohs" and "Ahs" as it arrives so picturesquely presented. The salmon is wrapped in phillo dough and stuffed with mushrooms, spinach and dill sauce - a true taste sensation next to a side salad topped with a tropical fruit medley. It's easy to see why USS Nemo is popular with the going places crowd. And don't forget to try the Sake Bar. We also have an extensive wine list.
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
260 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Loved this place! Amazing food. Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wow. We went for Chinese New year this year and it was amazing. It's in a little strip mall, but the inside is nicely done. The menu offered a wide selection. We were with a party of 6 and ordered lots of appetizers and 6 7 entrees to share. Everything was really nice. Prices were fair for the quality, taste and presentation. I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    314
    101
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pricey, average-to-good tasting food, HORRIBLE service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had Bento Box #4 - the shrimp was good if eaten immediately (deep fat fried then smothered in sauce, so you gotta be quick), and the chicken was VERY good. The salad, rice, and condiments were mediocre.

BF had the grouper sandwich. The grouper was blah, but it seemed to work OK as a sandwich. The cole slaw was incredible. He also ordered their home-made lemonade, and it was extremely bland and watered down.

Our server mostly ignored us, as did the other servers when I raised my iced tea glass multiple times for a refill. We never got water refills.

The decor was nice.

The overall price tag was over $40. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Identity Crisis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This place really appears to be confused about what it is or wants to be. We couldn’t decide whether the atmosphere was snooty (at lunch time) or just ‘local’ as it is in amongst regional bank HQs and the like with business types going for lunch. Certainly if it was aiming at snooty, paper tablecloths, butter out of little plastic single servings and a waiter that when confronted with the Queens’ English said “eh?” three times and the third repetition of “eh?”, screwed his face in to most unusual pose. Is ‘Diet Coke’ really that tricky translating from English to ‘American’?



The food is really good, the tandoori mahi mahi is pretty special, bursting with flavour and the grouper is equally as good – certainly well worth the visit if you don’t bother talking to any of the staff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Milliecat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting food, odd atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went to USS Nemo based on a friend'a recommendation and after one look at the strip mall location, the loud, strangely decorated interior and the very small bar, my husband and I were a bit concerned. A very pleasant hostess escorted us to a small table and we were pleasantly surprised at the interesting menu she presented! Not inexpensive but totally worth the money, our good was inventive, perfectly prepared and served at a reasonably relaxed pace considering we visited without a reservation on a crowded Friday night. Staff was pleasant and knowledgeable! Excellent overall experience despite the off-beat decor!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 77DeniseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Miso seabass and stone crab are outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The seabass and stone crab (when in season) are the best here! Hands down! Always great service, atmosphere and outstanding food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildcatway e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed USS Nemo also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to USS Nemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing