We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel--if you don't need to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel--if you don't need to sleep!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a fairly good experience with this hotel last year and chose to use them again this time. What a mistake! Although I was aware of the traffic noise due to its' busy corner location, the hotel made no mention of the fact that it was under heavy construction. What ensued was a nightmare of workers making all kinds of noise, in one case starting before 7AM!!. A cherry picker being used for tree trimming beeped every time the arm was raised or lowered, and they moved it a LOT. It was like sonic torture. To make matters worse, it went on all day, so even if you tried to take a nap, that was impossible too.

The second morning, after I complained about the noise, they assured me that it wouldn't happen again. That day it started about 8:30 and went on all day as usual. We tried the hotel coffee shop for a bleary-eyed brunch, and were treated to lack-luster service, mediocre food, and what was undoubtedly the worst cup of coffee either of us had ever encountered.

This is an old hotel, a former Comfort Inn or something like that, and its' age is showing. The sinks drain poorly, the doors are ill-fitting, the windows don't seal well and let in outside noise as if they are open. So between old-style heavy wooden doors banging until after 1:30 AM and contractors starting up by 7:45 AM (and in one case even earlier!), we were so sleep deprived when we left there that we vowed to never return. Be warned, even if they finish this hotel it'll still be wanting in many areas, and there are much better choices close nearby like the much newer Holiday Inn Express.

For the record, there was no fridge or microwave in our room facing the city, so this must be a new downward change.

Room Tip: Water side rooms might have less noise from the road, but there are out door bars and parties right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I am not quite sure how to respond to your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from our construction. We did publish on all of our third party sites as well as our own website that we are currently renovating so that our potential guests would be aware of our current conditions. The times you have reported for construction noise beginning are not accurate, and the rest of your review sounds as though you were just saying everything you could to try to hurt our reputation. I am sorry you were so unhappy but its sad how you chose to express it. I wish you had spoken to me or another manager while you were here we would have done just about anything to make you happy. In this case I can only say I am sorry to you, and encourage you that when you write a Trip Advisor review to take it very seriously because it is a permanent record that will be read by many. Be fair, be accurate, be honest. Our hope is that the Trip Advisor readers will compare your review with our many other reviews and allow us the grace to prove to them what a great property we truly are. We have never claimed to be perfect but we try very hard, and are so dedicated to making our guests happy. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Just for the record. We have never included refrigerators or microwaves in our rooms, but they are available free of charge, just for the asking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    259
    132
    57
    42
See reviews for
142
388
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Md.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I just got back up north from eight lovely days at the hotel. The rooms are clean and neat. The ones facing the city have fridges and microwaves. The Hotel is located on 5th ave. a five minute walk to all of the 5th ave restaurants and shops. The bar and food area is right on the bay and overlooks an Italian style condo village with shops and restaurants.
The pool and hot tub are delightful. The room prices are very reasonable for all of the amenities. The staff are very accommodating and very helpful. There is a concierge desk and that person is a delight. This will be our new Fla winter hang out.

Arthur B. Potomac ,MD

Room Tip: The ones on the bay have a great view, the ones facing the city have mini kitchens. The beds are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBPotomacMd_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Im glad you found your room clean and neat, well appointed, and our location so convenient. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, and what a good value you found us to be. We hope that you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We reserved a block of rooms and the Penthouse for our daughter's January 2014 wedding. The Sales Director kept me up to date on our guest list and all the welcome bags were distributed when the guests arrived. This doesn't sound difficult but the "other hotel" we reserved a block of rooms at was a disaster which made me appreciate Bayfront all the more. The Bride and Bridesmaids got ready in the Penthouse the day of the wedding. The room is beautiful and the photographer came and got some great photo's with the beautiful bay view. With all the wedding excitement, makeup, hair...etc, we left the room quite messy. My daughter said it was beautiful when she and the groom returned after the wedding reception. The hotel has a very unique quaint Naples feel. All of guests commented on how happy they were with the accommodations. I highly recommend it for group business and will recommend it to all our future out of town guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for trusting us with such a special occasion. We are so happy your guests enjoyed their accommodations and your event went off so smoothly! We are so glad that everyone enjoyed the Penthouse, it is a beautiful room with great views of Naples Bay. Thank you for your recommendation to your friends, this is a great complement! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at the Bayfront Inn in December, 2013. I had a lovely stay, except for a problem with noise. The hotel was undergoing a refurbishment at the time, and some afternoons there was an issue with noise from the work going on. During my stay the gym and spa were also not available (they were what was being refurbished) - so if a gym is important to you, you might like to find out the present status. I was quite disappointed.
That said, other points are very much in this hotel's favor: the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious - loads of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, assorted breads, bagels, biscuits, yogurt, granola. Overall the hotel was clean and pleasant, the terrace overlooking the bay was delightful. My room was of good size, with a view of the bay. I used the hot-tub, which was great.
Another point I liked was the proximity to the shopping/restaurants on 5th Ave - very convenient walk. The beach is about 20 minutes' walk away (straight down 5th).

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay side view to watch small planes landing at Naples Airport and endless waterfowl over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. Just to be clear to The Trip Advisor readers we are in the process of adding a fitness center and spa to the hotel however these are entirely new features for our hotel and consequently are not and have never been listed among our amenities. We are so sorry for the noise, and that you were disappointed that we did not have a spa or gym. We are very excited about the new features being added to our property during our current renovation which should be completed sometime in early March. I am very happy that you enjoyed your guest room, breakfast, and the beautiful views from our waterside terrace. Im also glad that you got to enjoy Fifth Avenue and our beaches during your stay. I hope you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Good position close to Fifth Avenue (main restaurants area)Five minutes walk.
Beaches about 20 minutes along Fifth aveue

Busy road if room onto front of building. Ask for upgraded room (not that expensive). You get lovely views over Bay and upgraded bed (sleep numbers ). Partial Spa shower.

Hotel looks a bit dated but very Floridian. All pastels and woods etc. bar quite expensive apart from beers but they do have happy hours 4-6.

Big room. Massive bed. Good TV. No major problems. The staff were all very helpful. Very clean.

Free car parking. Free wifi in public places and in some bedrooms (pot luck. We did get in our room on Bay side.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daff201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Because we are located in downtown Naples we do have a busy road in front of the hotel. As you mentioned the back of our building faces Naples Bay and is very picturesque and relaxing. Our style is Caribbean Chic which is a very popular but may not be for every taste. We are sorry you felt that this was a "dated look". We do have complementary WIFI through out the entire hotel common areas, as well as in all our guest rooms. Im not sure what "pot luck" means. Did you have another guest room that did not have WIFI? Please let me know at general manager@bayfrontinnnaples.com. Thank you so much for staying with us, your comments are very important. We hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is very convenient to downtown area. It is well maintained with comfortable clean rooms. The staff is accommodating. My suggestion would be to stay toward the back of the hotel due to traffic noise. Good value for the money. I have stayed here before and would do so in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for being a repeat guest. We appreciate your nice comments about our guest rooms and staff. Being so close to the downtown area does come with downtown traffic but as you mentioned we do have a backside of our hotel which faces our marina and beautiful Naples Bay. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here over New Years Eve and we were very pleased with the entire experience. Nice location and access to Tin City, good food and nice view of the backwaters and Marina.
Friendly staff and desk with easy check in. After staying at the Cove and having a horrible experience, must say for the same price range this is a much nicer stay. Water taxi's just outside the door and good price on boat rentals for a trip down to Keewaydin Island. Maybe not a great location for families with children but thats what we like as our children are grown. Would recomend highly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettandLisaNashvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Happy New Year! We are honored that you chose to ring in the new year at The Bayfront Inn. Thank you for all of your nice comments about our location, property, and staff. Our guests love the Water Taxi, $5.00 ride it all day, whats not to like. Im glad you had an opportunity to rent one of our boats from Bayfront Rentals and go out to Keewaydin Island, a favorite spot for both travelers and locals. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,447 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,582 reviews
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
720 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn 5th Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn 5th Ave

Property: Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
Address: 1221 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6417
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Inn 5th Ave 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfront Inn on Fifth has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation to become Naples only waterfront downtown luxury boutique hotel. Discover our Caribbean chic decor, while your senses are relaxed into a state of bliss. We are conveniently located on 5th Ave., within walking distance to gourmet restaurants, shopping, art galleries and night life. Discover the Naples waterways with a charter boat or one of our experienced fishing captains, located at our 12 slip marina. We invite you to explore the tastes of the tropics with a romantic getaway filled with tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Inn 5th Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave Hotel Naples
Bayfront Hotel Naples
Bayfront Hotel 5th Ave
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing