We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great For A Beachfront Get A Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great For A Beachfront Get A Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Booked a package at the LaPlaya Resort over the Memorial Day period for a premium beachfront room from info gleaned on their website. Was very glad I did my due diligence as the package included complementary resort and valet fees, along with a $75 nightly credit to be used for amenities. That sure came in handy as my wife used $$$ for the spa, the gift shop, along with meals we had at Baleen and the pool grille.

Our room was in the tower on the 9th floor overlooking the beach. What a fantastic view of the many lovely sunsets we had a chance to see. We also observed three sunset beach weddings Fri/Sat/Sun nights. Services provided from all staff was easy and interaction enjoyable. Each day the resort beach attendents set out lounge chairs with towels and umbrellas for use by guests on the white sandy beach. Water temps made swimming in the Gulf very nice.

We had many great meals at Baleen (onsite), and at local places USS Nemo, Fernandez The Bull, and Randy's Fish Market. One night we visted the Philharmonic Arts Center to hear the orchestra do a production of "How The West Was Won". We spent a whole day wandering around the Naples Zoo and listeneing to the many Zookeeper animal talks. Got to see their five giraffes that are the base for their new exhibit they are creating.

We had a great time and would highly recommend the LaPlayaResort for your stay, Everybody was nice, friendly, and made you feel welcome. Oh and the weather was very agreeable also, 92-95 degrees during the day with a nice ocean breeze so it didn't even feel too hot for these piedmont area North Carolinians.

Room Tip: Check resort site for package special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_thru_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at LaPlaya! Happy to hear that you enjoyed LaPlaya during the Memorial Day holiday weekend!

We find many of our guests, like yourself, truly enjoy the relaxation side of LaPlaya such as relaxing by the beach on a beach chair set up for you on our white sandy beach!

Most importantly, we strive to deliver world class service, and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Reviews such as yours are crucial to potential guests' decision making, and we appreciate your complimentary review.

We hope that you will have another chance to visit us again soon!

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,422
    452
    136
    58
    36
See reviews for
596
977
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and I spent Memorial Day weekend at the La Playa, a hotel where we have stayed several times. This visit convinced us never to stay there again.

The following are the reasons for our decision to stay elsewhere, particularly given the cost, which totaled about $350 per day:

• Inexperienced hotel staff: We checked in and were told that in addition to the $350 / night room charge (plus the usual taxes) we were required to pay $23 per day for parking and a $17 resort fee. There is a parking garage across the street, but guests are not allowed to self-park. The next parking lot if approximately a mile away.
• The premium room was in the tower facing the ocean with a balcony. It was an okay room, but the décor was very old, such as yellow / green walls with a green carpet. In addition, construction was underway on the floors above us and the power-tools that were used were extremely noisy. We requested a different room and were told that the noise would subside at 6pm (we checked in at 1pm). The front desk manager then told us to wait until a manager would call us. A half- hour later (and two follow-up calls) we were in another room. No apologies from the hotel and it was clear that we were considered a 'nuisance'.
• The hotel has four pools, but not a single one is adult only; children are everywhere and swimming a short lap means dodging kids and other guests. Guests are ushered to a chair and towels will be provided – and it will be made very clear that for the service a tip is requested.
• There is a general message that the guests are an inconvenience. A funny story: my wife ordered a Cesar salad and was wondering why the dressing was different from the one served the day before. When my wife told the waitress the previous day’s salad was better, the waitresses' responded: "Don't tell the chef or anyone". No kidding…
• The breakfast buffet is served on the weekend. The cost is around $20, which is normal. But we had to call the restaurant three times until the phone was answered. We were advised that Baleen (restaurant) does not take requests for outside seating. The buffet is ok (though it is exactly the same quality provided a year ago). There is a grump chef preparing waffles and eggs/omlettes, bacon, sausage links, some turnovers. The only fruits provided are pineapples. No cold-cuts or cheese, which is common for the hotel’s many European guests. Cereal comes in pre-packaged little boxes, but no one supplies bowels. The whole buffet area is extremely tightly packed with guests waiting in line and/or bumping into each other.
• More significant, are the little things: the doors of guest rooms all slam loudly. Taking a nap in the afternoon is constantly interrupted by noise and shaking. Two of the four nights we were there, a wedding was held and the regular guests were basically pushed out from the restaurant. The lobby is extremely small and there is basically no place to sit. The bar is small and uncomfortable; only two elevators serve 17 floors and has to be shared with the staff and their tools; the hallways have not been renovated in a very long time; the low guest/staff level means that calls to reserve tables or getting the car are frequently unanswered. There is no library or entertainment or any games – not even a ping pong table.
• The rooms: The bathrooms provide no privacy. The doors separating the bathroom from the rest of the room have open ridges, virtual holes.

In general, the hotel makes it clear that every dollar matters. If a guest does not use up the hair shampoo, it will not be replaced. When the guest calls room service, someone will appear with exactly one bottle of shampoo. A mohitjo will have almost no alcohol (though it was replaced).

I believe that the hotel was designed with two floors of public space. However, the second floor has been designated as a club for the locals. Hotel guests are not permitted. As a result LaPlaya has basically no public space to relax outside the small restaurant and a few sofas placed between the main entrance and the front desk.

To sum up: LaPlaya is nicely located on the beach. But it is far from being a luxury hotel , aside from its prices. Service is spotty. One guest summed the prevailing attitude of the staff : it would be a nice place to work if there were no guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Citysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at LaPlaya, as you mentioned it wasn’t your first visit, so we truly appreciate your repeat business. I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your visit this time around. We take great interest with what our guests’ have to say, and while your review is certainly not our best, we understand there are areas we can do better and will.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with our valet parking fee and no self park option. Consistent with your previous visits, we cannot offer self parking at our location as parking is limited. Our parking garage across the street has tandem parking, so it is not an efficient option for a guest vehicle to block in another guest. With the space limitations, we are only able to offer valet parking. I’m sorry the parking option left you to feel our staff is inexperienced. I have discussed with them the importance of properly communicating this information to our guests, if it indeed was not during your arrival.

Thank you for your comments on our guestrooms. I’m sorry that our color options left you with a feeling that the rooms are old. We just recently painted the feature wall green to tie in with our white top sheet with green striping. Color preferences can vary from individuals; we appreciate and respect your opinion!

I’m sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. We do offer bowls for both our hot and cold cereals, and our buffet does offer 4 types of fruit. We do take requests for outdoor seating, and our team does its absolute best to fulfill those requests, but we cannot guarantee outdoor seating.

I have shared your comments regarding your feelings that the staff thinks the guests’ are an inconvenience with our team. Our team typically performs very well in this area, and they are held accountable if not. Many of our guests communicate to us that our team went above and beyond, and I am truly sorry that was not the case during your visit.

Our team takes great pride in what our guests have to say, and many of our guests do proclaim to enjoy LaPlaya, and we are humble and gracious to receive such reviews. We do understand that sometimes we will miss the mark with a guest, and I’m confident our team shows a great dedication in those instances to win those guests back as well.

If you have further details of your stay you would like to share, please do not hesitate to contact me. Your review will help make a better LaPlaya for our future guests.

Thank you,

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
239-598-5114
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have just returned from a 4 day holiday trip to the resort. It was one of our best family trips ever! We loved everything about the resort.
The stunning gulf front location and the well appointed rooms contributed much to the weekend's success. However, the real strength of this property is the customer service and genuine warmth of the staff.
It began when I made phone reservations with Susan, who was so verbally engaging and committed to finding us the rooms and services that we wanted at the best price. I called back 2 months later to make cabana reservations and felt like I was talking to an old friend when she helped me again.
Upon arrival, the valet team and reception staff took care to get us settled smoothly, despite the crush of holiday arrivals and lots of sunset wedding arrivals. Sherry in the gift shop was a delight.
I realize that I'm gushing, but that was only the beginning!
We received exemplary service daily from Kyle at the beach, Alys at the tiki bar and especially Mike at the cabanas ( he treated us like royalty!). We also commend Dee, our yoga teacher and Linda, the masseuse. These are just a few of the people that made a special impression, but I've got to say that everywhere we turned, doors were held open, greetings were offered and staff members went out of their way to make us happy. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reallyhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Glad to see you had a great time during your recent visit to LaPlaya! Thanks for pointing out your service interaction with Susan in reservations, she is a outstanding employee, and we have shared this review with her!

Taking care of our guests today, in all departments, ensures not only a great visit for our current guests, but the potential of a great review like yours helps our business!

Thank you for recognizing our team, we appreciate it!

Looking forward to your next visit,

Jason Moll & the LaPlaya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights, 5/16 thru 5/20, and had a fantastic time. We were in the Beach House building , preimium beachfront room, directly on the beach, great view form our balcony. The staff was exceptionally professional and friendly. Ate breakfast at Baleen , onsite restaurant, every morning great food and service. Also ate and had drinks at the Tiki Bar, maybe the friendliest wait staff we have ever we met. Beach and pool staff were always ready to help with our comfort, form having chairs umbrellas and towels at the beach or towels and chairs around the pools. The valet, concierge, and front desk people couldn't have been more helpful and considerate, also the housecleaning was exceptional. Our Room was very clean and spacious great balcony view.
We had intended on driving over to Sanibel and Marco Island , but once we got to the resort and saw the grounds we both agreed we were not leaving. It is on a residential type street and grounds are like being on a tropical island.
If anyones had a bad experience here it must have been a bad day. We enjoyed our stay and we will return .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to LaPlaya! We appreciate you taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor as well. Great review such as your only helps us as a hotel in potential guests, and we appreciate it!

Thank you for recognizing our service professionals in all areas of the hotel. Whether it's housekeeping, front desk, Tiki-bar or the Beach, we all strive to exceed expectations and are comitted to providing great service to go along with our pristine location!

We hope you will visit us again soon,

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I wish i could go once a month! My family and i had an event in Naples and decided to make a weekend of it and return to La Playa. It is by far our favorite hotel - anywhere around! The service is amazing - half of the staff even remembered us even though we hadn't been there in over 6 months. Everyone is friendly, helpful and kind. The beach and pools are amazing as are the rooms! Thanks again La Playa for another great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationlover717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience while visiting LaPlaya! We appreciate your repeat business!

I shared your review with my team, it's very rewarding for me and all of us when we read a review such as yours - especially about our team remembering you from your last visit 6 months ago! We have some very astute and friendly service professionals, and they are passionate about the service they deliver!

From the team here at LaPlaya, thank you for your review, and if you want to stay every month - we won't say no!

Thanks again,

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here in the last weekend of April 2011 with out 10 year old son, his 10 year old friend, and our <1 year old baby. The stay was amazing!
The rooms are gorgeous, and we were overlooking the pool. This was great because if we needed to tend to the baby back at the room, we could see the kids pool outside our sliders. The rooms have internet, a flat screen tv, a mini-bar fridge, and a very large balcony.
The pool area is tended to very well and the pools were always clean and refreshing. There are several pools on the property and two are even connected by a waterfall that you can swim up to, which I thought was very cool. The pool servers come around to bring you whatever tropical concoction you desire, along with setting up your chairs with towels and umbrellas if you wish.
We went down to the beach one day and it was so neat to see that through the hotel they offered surfing lessons for the children! That was alot of fun to watch.
The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was very good, especially the made-to-order omelets. The boys ordered the kids menu silver dollar pancakes which were delicious but a very small portion. The buffett would have been of much better value for the kids.
The gift shop was full of neat treasures and memorabilia and we frequented it quite a bit for everything from a pool float for the baby, to eye drops after swimming, to a glow-in-the-dark jellyfish encased in glass that my son just HAD to have to remember our trip. I must say, the jellyfish is pretty cool and my son makes sure to hold it to light every night before bed.
I would definitely recommend this resort if you're looking for a relaxing, tropical stay. The staff was all very accomodating and welcoming. We had several pleasant encounters with front desk staff, helpful housemen and housekeepers, and even management walking the resort and asking how our stay was. If you're going to Naples and you want to enjoy the sun and be pampered, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenoaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for your review of LaPlaya, we appreciate it!

Your review encompasses our daily focus of taking care of our guests, each department, every time! LaPlaya is a unique resort in that our mission is to do everything we can to allow our guests to unwind and relax! Whether our cascading pools and poolside service, or relaxing beach with beach butler's, we want our guests to feel pampered and at ease, and it looks like we hit the mark during your stay.

Thank you for noticing our Gift Shop as well, our Manager also does all of the merchandising and purchasing of the items in the Gift Shop, and our little boutique is a hit with many of our guests!

Thanks again for your stay,

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

The resort was beautiful, gorgeous pool areas and the rooms were nice. The only thing is I think this resort should be an all inclusive for the price. It was a great relaxing vacation which we both truly deserved.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pie_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for your review of LaPlaya! We appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your view, room, and pools! Some of our greatest strengths, I agree! Thank you for your feedback on our pricing structure. While at times there can be value to an all-inclusive resort, the negative aspect of that pricing structure is that you do end up paying for the inclusive amenities that are offered, whether you use them or not. While agreeably from a simplicity standpoint one cost can be easier, we feel it's best to be more direct in our pricing and have our guests pay for their food and beverage charges as they are consumed.

We do appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider LaPlaya again in the future.

Jason Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort

Property: LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort
Address: 9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108-2019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Spa Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only luxury Naples Beach resort on the Florida Gulf Coast rivals the elan of South Beach and promises an experience of rejuvenation, whether under a white cabana, by a cascading-falls pool, through the fine cuisine at Baleen Naples, in exotic SpaTerre, out on our Bob Cupp golf course, or simply in your guestroom. Sip a margarita on the sand in front of this beautiful beach resort and discover the breathtaking beauty of the gulf beaches in southwest Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Naples Florida
Naples La Playa Beach
Naples La Playa Resort
Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Beach Resort Naples
La Playa Resort Naples
Laplaya Beach And Golf Resort
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing