We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trianon Old Naples(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
132
204
91
39
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
204
91
39
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarco islandmain buildingten thousand islandsanglers covescreened porchairboat tourhard boiled eggssmall kitchenbagelstamiami trailheated poolincluded breakfastlarge roombeautiful pooltennis courtsfull kitchenmanatees
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The resort is reasonably priced for the area and has a nice pool. The resort's wi-fi only works in the main building and generally is rather slow. There is a public computer available for guests' use. The restaurant's menu is rather limited and it does not serve breakfast or lunch during the week. The food was otherwise good. The resort's location is somewhat isolated but our rooms had small kitchens, and there are several good restaurants in an easy drive to Everglades City. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hous600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Hous600,
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. All guest comments are appreciated and used to improve our services. The on-site restaurant is not owned or managed by us however. We have no control over menu or hours, though we still know that it reflects upon our hotel. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Deana Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

If you book a hotel between the Everglades and Naples, this can be very tricky. Fortunately I made the right choice, but only by luck. There are two hotels called Port of the Islands in the same area, basically on opposite sides of Highway 41. One place calls itself Port of the Islands Hotel (on Union Road) and the other calls itself Port of the Islands Adventure Resort (on Tamiami Trail). Book at the Adventure Resort, but avoid the hotel like the plague. Upon arriving in the area, we first stopped at the hotel on Union Road and I thought I had made a horrible online booking mistake. The place is in shambles. Unmowed grass, crumbling facade, rusty looking shingles, abandoned looking buildings. We walked into the lobby. Design-wise, it looked the same as what I had seen on the internet, but it looked horrifically run down and smelled like mold. (I guess both properties were built as companion resorts, but ownership was separated at some point.) The lobby looked empty and lonely. We called out for help and a women came down a stairway. The place really has a spooking, creepy feeling. She looked at our reservation paperwork and said we were in the wrong place. Thank goodness! I had to drive by again at night just to see it out of curiosity. At night, a flickering neon green vacancy sign gave it a Bates Motel sort of feel. There were maybe five cars in the parking lot for 100 room hotel. Now shifting topics to where we actually stayed. Our experience in the Port of the Islands Adventure Resort was much different. It is well kept with small rooms that have screened in porches. The pool is fabulous; It's big, clean and surrounded by a pleasant patio. The resort is fifteen to twenty minutes away from Everglades City. So it's kind of by itself but not too far away. I think it is a good choice in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room as opposed to a parking lot side room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear MNTravel,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the beautiful pool. Hopefully you were able to explore the Everglades a little. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Deana Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

They are called cottages, but are not standalone. Each section has about 8-10 cottages and each cottage has a little screened in entrance for sitting outside. Very clean & nicely appointed with cooking facilities & free Wi-Fi. Grounds were well-kept also. There is a workout room available in the main lobby. There is a beautiful outdoor pool area with bbq grill & picnic tables, which is located in the center of the cottage layout, so very convenient. Nice marina area for boat docking & they offer fishing trips.

There didn't seem to be a way to prop open the cottage room door, probably because they don't want people to run the AC with the door open. But when we were there, neither AC nor heat were needed and it would have been nice to open it up for fresh air.

The only down-side was that there weren't many restaurants/shops nearby. Had to drive to Naples (approx 20 mi) for food & shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Buckeye17,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Port of the Islands Resort. Thanks you for taking the time to give us your feedback, guest comments are very important to us. We hope you were able to get out and explore the Everglades a little. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Deana Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We drove out from Naples on the 22nd of March to have dinner at the Catch. The menu claimed to have local sea food.

I believe there was a grouper sansdwhich, shrimp and crab salad, and fish and chips, I think Atlantic Cod?

I ordered the fish and chips, and my wife ordered a chicken pot pie, The choice of wine on the menu is Red or White. A Cab or a Chardonnay. The service was lacking due to the inexperience of the waiter, not his fault, just not experienced or trained. The crust on the chicken pot pie was not cooked all the way, there were little bitty pices of carrot and what tasted like canned peas in the pie. There were 2 dinner rolls served with the pie that were sitting in gravy and became mushy. My wife asked if she could get rolls not sitting in gravy and was told that she could not as there were not many left. I had very oily fish and chips, asked for ketchup and was given an empty bottle, asked for another bottle of ketchup and was told they were out of ketchup.

If you drive out there for dinner do not expect to much.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tonywojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Tonywojo,
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. All feedback is extremely important to us as we use it to improve our services. I'd like to apologize for the poor experience at The Catch. While The Catch has nothing to do with the resort and is owned and operated by a third party company that leases the space, we do realize any experience had at The Catch Restaurant reflects upon us. We will relay your comments to the restaurant owner. Thank you again for the feedback. We wish you a splendid day.

Sincerely,
Deana Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed here with a group from Road Scholar (formerly Elderhostel) in late Feb., 2013. It is not a "fulll amenity" hotel, so know that going in. If you are here for a study group or business meeting, it's great. The pool looked really nice, you can see dolphins in the marina and take a boat ride in the 10,000 Islands. You do need a car if you want to go anywhere else. A few miles away are great nature trails and the Everglades National Park, Big Cypress National Reserve and more. Be aware, that if you run out of wine, Q-tips, etc., the nearest Walgreens is 15 miles east.

Room Tip: They have cabin-type rooms and rooms in the main building. If you have a disability, the main building is a good bet, but some cabin-type rooms overlook the marina. That would be nice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Barbara W,

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on your stay with Port of The Islands Adventure Resort. I'm pleased to hear we met your needs and that you had the opportunity to see the dolphins in the marina. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Deana Paul
General Manager, Port of The Islands Everglades Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews